We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And people think car salesmen are terrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Jaker's

Jaker's
Ranked #2 of 155 Restaurants in Twin Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“And people think car salesmen are terrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have eaten here twice in the last couple months and both times the service was very annoying. They obviously force their servers to try to upsell everything. So you are constantly being asked about buying all this extra stuff. its very annoying. almost insulting. I felt like I was buying a car.

Whats awesome is when you go somewhere and your server really thinks something will enhance your experience so they make slight suggestions. that is personal and professional. At this place its very Salesy....

The food: subpar every time. your average kind of chain food at slightly higher prices. i was unimpressed, although, I am a foodie, and hard to please, I would say go somewhere else where you get more value. Overpriced and undertasty.

Nice atmosphere, but TVs can be annoying everywhere.

So.... overall, the service is very sales based, the food is supbar and expensive for what you get. its a hell of a lot better than sizzler or applebees, but that doesnt say much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank universalmindspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, Manager at Jaker's, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for coming into Jaker’s multiple times and thank you for leaving this review. The information you have contributed will help in pinpoint areas of improvement within our service levels and food presentation.

We sincerely apologize that you felt that you were being upsold by your server. Our main goal is to provide our guests with a positive and memorable experience by the time they leave the restaurant, not sell more food. As you mentioned, the scenario where a glass of wine may best compliment a certain food item is a professional suggestion that we attempt to make.

We also apologize that you felt the food was subpar both times. Our kitchen staff and managers work very hard to serve only the finest quality food and dishes to our patrons. We encourage you to speak with a manager at any point during your visit if the service, food, or any other aspect is not up to your standards.

We hope you will give Jaker’s another chance in the near future and we look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,

Jaker’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    162
    49
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I'm not sure how to rate Jakers. It's above average in many ways and below in others. So I'll just call it average. It was a busy, happenin place when I arrived Monday evening. As a solo diner, I like that. I sat at the bar and the bartender was eager, pleasant, and attentive, although subsequently would show her inexperience. I ordered white turkey chili, a caesar salad, and a sirloin steak, accompanied by the Jakers cabernet. Wine is an important part of a good meal, and this wine was excellent for a very reasonable price. It was served in decent stemware. The turkey chile was a very tasty bean soup. No evidence of chili. The caesar was fresh, crisp romaine with crispy, savory croutons dressed with a moist mixture with no flavor -- none! On its second try, the kitchen served up a good sirloin steak cooked medium rare. So how do I rate this experience? It's close to a disaster, yet the soup was good (but no chili), the lettuce was fresh, the steak was tasty when finally cooked correctly, and the wine was a hit . Perhaps I was just unlucky.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, Manager at Jaker's, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for having come into Jaker’s and for leaving this review. We also would like to thank you for appreciating certain aspects of the restaurant that we strive to maintain. This includes the quality of food, service, wine, and overall dining experience.

We sincerely apologize for any part of your meal that was not up to your standards. We work very hard to serve tasty, quality food that our guests enjoy. We encourage you to make any inconsistencies in service or quality of food known to your server or the manager and we will do what we can to remedy the situation.

We hope you will come see us again when you’re in town next.

Sincerely,

Jaker’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crappy city , great prime rib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I'm in the unfortunate city of Twin Falls about once a month on business , and for years ate at the Outback Steak House on the north end of town . Last summer , however , I discovered Jakers
and will never return to Outback . Jakers has the best prime rib and ribeye steaks I have ever eaten outside the state of Texas . The service is good to very good which , with the superior beef , obviates the fact that the salad (which , like Outback , tastes like it has freezer burn) and sides are pedestrian at best . I would definitely recommend Jakers .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pricey for pub food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

After being asked to wait we sat on a bench with two empty booths near by. After ten minutes we were seated in one of these booths. The reason for the wait was given as to not overload the server in that area.
When our server arrived she was great and the food was fine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2olddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, Manager at Jaker's, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for coming into Jaker’s while you were in town and for leaving this helpful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and service when you were seated.

We would like to apologize for the manner in which you were seated. We always attempt to maintain the correct amount of servers in a given area that yields the optimum quality of service to our guests. That being said, having a guest wait to be seated for this reason is not an acceptable practice.

We always strive to ensure that guests are seated and promptly as possible and that sections receive the desired amount of attention in a given night. We hope you will visit us if you’re ever in town again.

Sincerely,

Jaker’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Anniversary to remember.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a nice night. The people and the food where great, thanks guys. They prepaired a table for us and what a good time. When we arrived the table was set with flower that I had deliveried to the restaunt and a bottle of wine. Thanks again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sugar1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaker's also viewed

 

Been to Jaker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing