We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful tour and delicious wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MontGras

MontGras
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Palmilla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: MontGras is one of Chile's most important wine producers. Located in the heart of the Colchagua Valley, our Visitor's Centre is open year round to receive tourists from all over the world who are interested in learning more about wine, our traditions and our history. Enjoy hands on activities that include harvesting and making your own wine, as well as horse back rides and treks in our Ninquen Mountain Vineyard. Tours available in English, Spanish and Portuguese. We look forward to receiving you!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful tour and delicious wines!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My friends and I visited MontGras for the first time and were simply blown away. Cristian was an excellent tour guide and explained not only how the wine was made, but also what flavors made the wine uniquely Chilean. We ended the tour with generous pours of fantastic wines poured by Cristian and Marcello - wonderful hosts! The next time I am in Chile, I will be sure to visit MontGras again!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank juliedey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    54
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite part of the vacation!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Awesome staff, amazing wine, beautiful views. Was definitely my favorite winery and our guide Cristian was amazing. He knew a ton about wine and was so friendly!! If you are visiting Colchagua, you have to go!!! Best day ever.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank danacdobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour and great wines”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This isn't an ordinary tour !! Starts with a very informative walk through the vineyards with good explanations on many grapes, second a good tour through the wine-making and aging proces. Finally an extensive tasting with 7-8 different wines from Montgras.
Our host Gonzalo did a perfect job !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Branko_Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pinch me!!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Truly a memorable and amazing experience! Nothing like we have even done before. Christian, Gonzalo, Marcelo, and everyone else treated us like a VIP. Never have we felt so at ease and welcome. I think what made this even more memorable was that we visited during harvest season.
During the walk through the vineyard we were able to taste the grapes/raisins straight from the vine. The light and colors were beautiful, the weather was comfortable.
The staff was very knowledgeable when it came to food/wine pairing ....5 star! I really felt like I learned something and now we seek out Chilean wine. Wish the MontGras Wines were more readily available in our area! So much to see and do! If I am ever lucky enough to go back to Chile, a return visit to MontGras will be at the TOP of the list!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Joanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and fantastic wine”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived unscheduled at around 9.45am, we were met by Gonzalo who literally hosted us as guests during our stay. We started with a tasting of their premium range and even though he had to prepare for a tour, he sat down with us and explained the different wines to us and guided us through the tasting. After sampling some absolutely outstanding wines, he invited us onto the tour which we happily accepted.

We felt very welcome and enjoyed our visit at the winery. This level of hospitality is unheard of in most wineries we have visited in other countries.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MontGras also viewed

Santa Cruz, O'Higgins Region
Santa Cruz, O'Higgins Region
 
Santa Cruz, O'Higgins Region
Santa Cruz, O'Higgins Region
 

Been to MontGras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing