We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a Board Meeting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swan Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great venue for a Board Meeting”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We held a Board meeting at SFL this week
The setting was spectacular and the view from the conference room unbeatable
Efficient unobtrusive service, charming, helpful staff and a great chef complement the special setting
Our team building day drift boating the Snake River was really epic
All the boats caught over 25 trout to 18 inches in breathtaking scenery
The guides were brilliant, hard working coaches focused on you enjoying CATCHING all three trout species. There is nothing more beautiful than a 16 inch Cutthroat trout
We will return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanRatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The South Fork Lodge is "fintastic" in that it offers superb fishing coupled with superb accommodations.

The fishing is done mostly on drift boats through scenic canyons. The river has plenty of side branches which gives the angler privacy and a ton of banks to work to lob large dry flies to hungry and willing trout. The guides know the river exceptionally well and create a positive fishing enviroment.

The lodge is first rate with spacious rooms all facing the river. The dining area is tops among lodges as the menu is diverse and flavorful.

If you want great fishing coupled with fine accommodations, the South Fork Lodge will offer you a "fintastic" experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I just returned from my second visit at the South Fork Lodge in Swan Valley, ID and it was terrific. The lodge is very beautiful and is situated right on the Snake River with spectacular views. The rooms are large and comfortable with vaulted ceilings, exposed wood beams all with a rustic feel. The service and food are first rate. The fishing is excellent with multiple points to fish and fishing is mostly floating with stopping points to wade at the guide's preferred gravel bars. The fish are strong and healthy with opportunities to catch cut throat, rainbow and brown trout during the day. The guides are friendly, patient and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Always bring a rain coat and warm clothes in case the weather turns cool and wet. I brought low wad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After 30 years of marriage and you think you know... This vacation get away for my mothers day gift was absolutely the BEST ever. 5 star experience and tranquil outdoor scenery. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom! The sound and smell of nature... I slept with the sliding door open so I could hear the sound of the river. We made a simple breakfast in our room since we had a mini kitchen. We fished the river with a guide, shopped in Jackson Hole, spent the day at the Grand Tetons, went Beer tasting at Teton Valley Brewery and Dined at the resort. One of the best vacations with nature and my loving husband. I could not ask for much more.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms with the kitchen. I liked the option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Wonderful from beginning to end. Will come back to vacation with the family. Have been telling friends and business associates about the trout benedict for breakfast with the snow falling,river view, fire in the fireplace and the greatest wait staff.

Room Tip: Try a deluxe suite with jetted tub, heated tile in the bath and great views on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I work in the fly fishing travel business and have stayed at many 3-5 star fishing lodges and fished with many outfitters in my days.
I also was a guide in that area for 5 summers. With no hesitation, the South Fork Lodge is one of the best places to fish and stay I have ever experienced. The lodge is right on the river and offers beautiful views from every room. Each room is very well appointed and tastefully decorated. The food was varied, delicious and reasonably priced. The bar was such a welcoming and comfortable spot to park in the evenings. Every member of the staff was always smiling, helpful and making you feel like a new friend and their only priority…. and you are. They can easily accommodate non-angling guests with visits to Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, Jackson Hole, or arrange a variety of activities closer to the lodge.

The South Fork of the Snake River has always been a phenomenal trout fishery. I found the guides to parallel the quality of the accommodations, customer service and fishery. This August I am returning with several of my best clients.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jfcampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Natural Retreats lodge on the Snake River is a well run organization . We could not have been more pleased or better cared for .
I have fished the Snake many times on my own. Camping and drifting for days on a spectacular river . Many times passing the lodge, and thinking " one day " I will get a chance to experience what Natural Retreats has to offer . That day came, last Aug I had the chance to treat my 84 yr old dad to a fantastic stay at the lodge on the Snake River . Three days that will never be forgotten , a rare chance for one more father son fishing experience .
The management team, and all the employees at the lodge are the most hard working , pleasant folks we have ever stayed with . The lodge is outstanding , clean , spacious , and very welcoming .
The guides and fly shop crew are top notch professionals . Very professional , proud and knowledgeable . Gear and boats were fantastic .
Dad and I also took advantage of the river camp, for an over night . To finish a long day on the river with a first class meal , great company , and a comfortable camp , well , it really doesn't get any better than this .
Ed Voskowsky Granby Ct

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Driftboat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swan Valley
24.4 mi away
Best Western Teton West
24.7 mi away
Teton Valley Cabins
Teton Valley Cabins
#3 of 7 in Driggs
117 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleepy J Cabins
Sleepy J Cabins
#1 of 2 in Swan Valley
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hansen-Silver Guest Ranch
Hansen-Silver Guest Ranch
#1 of 2 in Swan Valley
30 reviews
17.7 mi away
Teton Springs Lodge and Spa
19.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge

Property: Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge
Address: 40 Conant Valley Loop, Swan Valley, ID 83449 (Formerly South Fork Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Swan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Swan Valley
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning wilderness location, and the finest dry fly fishing waters in the USANatural Retreats South Fork Lodge rests on a dramatic bend of eastern Idaho's world-famous South Fork of the Snake River in scenic Swan Valley. This stunning wilderness location offers a perfect blend of rustic elegance, outstanding activities and exceptional hospitality. The unique setting, first–class amenities, and Natural Retreats' dedication to customer service all combine to provide a truly memorable experience for guests. Whether relaxing at the lodge, taking advantage of a guided activity through The Outfitters, enjoying a Starbucks coffee at the Storehouse, or sitting down to dinner at The Riverside Bar And Grill, The South Fork Lodge will exceed your expectations. The 65 miles of the South Fork of the Snake River is known by many as one of the best tailwater and dry fly fisheries in the US, and The Outfitters offers unparalleled unique guided fishing on these waters. Natural Retreats Concierge service is happy to arrange horseback riding, rafting, hiking, and kayaking for all guests who want to explore these adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Natural Retreats South Fork Lodge Swan Valley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing