We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An icon for a reason”
Review of Sun Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place has the glamour of old Hollywood with so many famous stars having visited here. It feels like they could walk in at any minute and they would recognise it.

They run the movie 1940s movie made here, Sun Valley Serenade, on channel 66 continuously, which is really fun, you have to watch it.

The room was lovely and old fashioned in a good way.

The bed and pillows were super comfortable.

The shower could do with replacing, however, the towels and toiletries were fine.

There was a fridge, coffee maker and desk in the room, but no microwave or iPod dock.

Surprisingly with a luxury resort, the parking and WIFI were free. Breakfast was extra.

There are lots of things to do here: I went ice skating and skeet shooting.

There are also free shuttles to Ketchum if the shopping in the village isn't enough for you.

The lobby and public areas are great for sitting, reading or people watching.

It's a place you have to stay at least once and more if you can!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 359 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

For the second time, we brought a group to Sun Valley, and again, they exceeded our expectations. This is a wonderful location and a beautiful facility with a gracious, professional staff. From the sales department through the housing and banquets - and even billing, they did an outstanding job. Thank you, Sun Valley!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuylaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Sun Valley Lodge, the first was 2009. Not much had changed during that time and that is a good thing. It is quaint, the staff is friendly and the hotel grounds and amenities are well kept.

It is a gorgeous location a little outside of Ketchum, but one wouldn't really need to leave the complex. There are shops, swans and plenty to do onsite.

I would say however that it is an older hotel and the soundproofing of the rooms is not so great. If you have trouble sleeping with other room noise ask at the front desk for a fan.

Room Tip: I was on the 1st floor in a corner room (165). It looked out over the skating rink on one side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Lodge is always terrific This time of year it is pretty slow so it is very relaxing. Staff was terrific and the woman that was the locker room/pool attendant was terrific. Although the bar staff was too busy to come out to the pool for our group, she took our order and one of the bar staff did bring us drinks. It was very much appreciated. Some of the other restaurants in the lodge area were closed due to it being between seasons, but there is a pizza place and another one. The servers in the bar were very friendly and did a great job. We enjoyed our staff and played golf at the Sun Valley course. Loved the course.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Talk about a disappointment. We have stayed at the Sun Valley Lodge many times and always had a good time in Sun Valley and Ketchum. The outdoor heated pool which is the essence of the Sun Valley experience is not even lukewarm. Management has decided to crank down the temperature substantially. We froze to death getting out. No longer is there steam rising from the water. The pool attendants said there is nothing they can do about it and to talk to management, which isn't available. Add to the tattered robes, no drinking water at the pool, and filthy elevator.... what happened to my Sun Valley? Hate to be a complainer head, but this trip was centered around skating at the outdoor rink. The rink's phone recording stated what hours the rink was open. We decided to skate in the evening only to find out that the rink closed an hour earlier than posted on the phone message. I doubt we will ever be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunvalleyresort, General Manager at Sun Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Frank,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at Sun Valley – any input we receive from our guests is greatly appreciated, as it gives us an opportunity to improve our offerings and services. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at the pool and the ice rink.

The pool temperature is something that we do pay close attention to, but it is sometimes challenging to get the temperature just right for all of our guests (some of our guests find it too warm!). In the summer the pool is kept at a temperature of between 86-88 degrees, and in September we raise it to 94. We understand that you requested the temperature be raised to 100, which is usually our winter temperature, but which we are looking into doing in the fall already.

Thanks also for your feedback about the robes and the water. Robes in worn condition at the pool have been replaced and we are now resupplying bottled water to the pool area on a more frequent and regular basis.

We do apologize for the phone recording you reached which had not been updated with the correct ice rink hours. We were relieved to hear, however (when we spoke with our rink manager about your feedback), that he offered your family vouchers to skate free anytime during the remainder of your stay, as a result of this mix up, and hope that you were able to take advantage of that opportunity.

Once again, we appreciate your candid comments, and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Sun Valley again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great resort for the family, tons of grounds for the kids to explore and activities, ice skating, horseback riding, bowling, bikes/paths. Fun stuff for adults... golf, tennis, gun club, and spa!!! Location is beautiful and accessible to town. Will go back again!!!!

Room Tip: The Lodge Apartments are PERFECT for families!!! PS- No A/C because is hot only a few weeks a year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge at the end of August. It was right around the time the forest fires were under control. There wasn't a thing out of place here. We had a room with a balcony facing the ice skating rink. Spacious room with a king size bed. What a treat to watch the skaters. Everything was above and beyond what I expected staying here. Someone always at your beck and call.

The pool is heated and circular. The Spa was beautiful as well as work out area.

We enjoyed the nightly piano player or trio in the bar area.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Valley
1.2 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#4 of 10 in Ketchum
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
0.9 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
185 reviews
11.9 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Lodge

Address: 1 Sun Valley Rd, Sun Valley, ID 83353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Price Range: $205 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Lodge Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing