We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience at the Sun Valley Lodge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience at the Sun Valley Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the historic Sun Valley Lodge. From the moment we got to the hotel to leaving, we had a great time! The Bell Staff at the Front Door assisted us with our luggage and showed us where we could store our skis for the first night. (The other nights we stored our skis at the River Run Lodge Ski Storage which was complimentary with our SV Resort Fee which also included transportation every 15 minutes from the SVL to the Sun Valley Ski Area.). The lobby is beautiful with an enormous arrangement of flowers near the fire place.

Our room was on the 2nd floor. There is a large lounge right off the elevator on the 2nd Floor with views over the ice rink. The fireplaces at each end of the room were great. The room had a great view of the Ice Rink as well as Dollar Mountain. We did have maintenance take a look at the door latch which was loose. Also, as this is a historic building the shower head was at a lower level. Water pressure was also somewhat low. The room has it's own thermostat, but for some reason the heat seems to turn off during the night so I woke up very cool. It was never bothersome enough to complain. The Closet had plenty of space to hang our things as well as two large dressers in the room. One of the cabinets also housed a small fridge as well as Coffee Maker and a small safe to lock up our iPad and phones. There is a flat screen TV on the wall but I think we barely turned it on because there is so much to do. We are allergic to feather bedding so the housekeeping staff cheerfully switched out to Non Feather Pillows and Comforter.

The Duchin Room was fun for a glass of champagne but does get very busy in the afternoon and evenings. The Live Entertainment in the Duchin Room was really good. The Gretchen Dining is very nice on the inside with lots of pictures of Gretchen Fraser (who was the first American woman to win a Gold Medal at the 1948 Olympics). The prices for breakfast seemed a little high but the service was good. We loved the Hot Pool which is 10 feet deep in the middle. The Hot Pool is great after a long day of skiing. There are also changing rooms available near the Hot Pool and Spa, but people walk through the hotel in the White Robes provided in the room. We even saw White Robes in the Duchin Room where guests were enjoying a cocktail! There is a bowling alley near the Hot Pool, but we never had time to get to it. From the laughter coming from the stairs, it seems to be a popular spot for a little fun. I loved walking up and down the hallways looking at all the pictures of the stars who have stayed at the hotel over the years.

All in all, I really had a great time at the hotel and would definitely return. If you are looking for ultra-modern and high tech, this is not the place for you. This is a hotel built in a by-gone era but has been lovingly restored and maintained to appeal to the more modern traveler.

Room Tip: Room 206 is the Suite where Ernest Hemmingway wrote "For Whom the Bell Tolls". It has a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    74
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
81
106
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from the beautiful Sun Valley Resort after another flawless ski trip in Sun Valley, Idaho. The resort has a beautiful lodge, but we opted for one of their luxury condos which have with a few bedrooms, full kitchen and living room. Sun Valley has less flights than most other ski destinations which makes it a hidden gem in many ways. (Not overcrowded) The mountain offers some incredible runs for skiers and snowboarders at all levels. You just can't beat the Sun Valley Snow. The Grill at Knob Hill is one of the best restaurants in town for a nice meal. Grumpy's is a casual local hangout and a great for a burger, wings and a beer after hitting the mountain. Sun Valley has most of what you would find at a posh ski resort like Vail or Aspen without the crowd. Sun Valley Resort never fails as an awesome vacation.

Room Tip: They have so many choices when it comes to rooms/ condos you are sure to find one you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spencer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

, a foregone conclusion,similar to DANIEL DAY LEWIS`S performance in LINCOLN. what more can be said about it`s endless fabled virtues and it`s literally mythic historic past ??? but I`LL try .... the rooms are a dream - mine looked right out to BALD MOUNTAIN , the walk in closet was old world huge .. the wondrous bell boy staff will chauffeur u around when needed and even the bartenders in KETCHUM have the lodge on speed dial when u need a ride home in a warm LEXUS when it`s late at nite and u r too beat to wait for the bus. the newly designed FESTIVE dining room is sensational and offers up genuine epicurean orgasms ... no need to run to the PIONEER restaurant & bar in KETCHUM when u r feeling lazy . the DUCHIN piano room is a timeless entertainment caress . the huge hot outdoor pool morning & nite is unsurpassed . frolic under the stars or wipe the sleep out of your eyes before u even brush your teeth in the morning and then float into GRETCHEN`S for a warming breakfast ... the famous film SUN VALLEY SERANADE , with the LODGE as star, still spills its wondrous reverberations....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchaeLEVINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I LOVE this place! But, then again, what’s not to love?

Of course, there is the comfy room (in this case with a view of the famous skating rink on which someone always seemed to be spinning), the great bed with a lightweight down comforter, the generous towels (large and more than we needed), the robes (handy for visiting the outdoor heated pool), the flat screen tv, the free (and dependable) wifi, the in-room safe (operated by any card you can “swipe”) and the in-room fridge. These things are expected and provided (as is turn-down service with chocolates on the pillow).

But the Sun Valley Lodge goes beyond expectations. Starting with the arrival. Their mini bus/limo picks you up promptly at the airport with the driver helping everyone with their luggage (he is so fast and accommodating, that you begin to think he must have cloned himself)… then, there is the brief drive to the Lodge. As soon as you reach Ketchum, you begin to notice the lights… on all the trees and many of the buildings… this continues all the way to the Lodge, where all the trees and the buildings of the adjacent Village are lit with white lights. The effect is magical, cheerful and you know you are in a very special place.

As the driver pulls up, bellmen rush out to take over your luggage, promising to get it up to your room, even as you head, instead, to a restaurant. Doormen hold the doors open for you. The entry lobby is large and welcoming, with its fireplace. It should be noted that complimentary coffee is available here in the mornings before Gretchens Restaurant opens for breakfast.

Our room was on the second floor and when we left the elevator, we immediately noticed a second, very large lounge with twin fireplaces, comfy couches, chairs, desks and even a baby grand piano. Large windows overlook the skating rink. This was a perfect place to enjoy the early morning coffee while reading by the fire.

After a great night’s sleep, it was time to hit the slopes and this, too, was “beyond expectation. A few steps out the door, a complimentary bus will take you to one of three ski areas. Ours to River Run came every 15 minutes all day long. A brief ride later, and we arrived at the base of Bald Mountain. There were wagons available to transport your ski equipment, if need be. Even if you do need to transport your equipment, you will do so only this once, because the lodge provides complimentary ski storage. Here, again, the service personnel run out to meet you and take your skis from you… and/or fetch your skis and take them outside to place them in a rack for you. Above the ski shop, there are public lockers where for $1, you can store your regular boots, while skiing… and then store your ski boots, hats, gloves, etc. overnight. VERY convenient, especially if you choose to get off the bus to walk around town.

The mountain is also very accommodating… many runs of any ease or difficulty you might wish to ski. Lift personnel are friendly and helpful (if you take the gondola, they actually load your skis onto it for you.) There is a gourmet restaurant with great views at the top of the gondola (be forewarned, you will need to climb a fair number of stairs to get to it); however, the base lodge has a wide assortment of lunch options (everything from Mediterranean plates, to Asian Cuisine, to great hamburgers and pizza, and of course, since this IS Idaho… potatoes.) Also, hot chocolate, cappuccinos, and lattes. Again, with the small touches… Silver urns of great tasting Sun Valley water, and boxes of tissues EVERYWHERE. Also, many seating options… the main lodge room, with live music in the afternoon… to a side room, that is quiet with bay windows and a fireplace.

Back at the lodge, we passed ducks and pair of swans, swimming in a heated pond, as we made our way to our room to change into our swimsuits to head to the heated pool. Past the reception desk and down a short hallway, we were “checked in”, meaning, given a towel, and a token for a locker near which is a gadget that would spin-dry my swimsuit later. Out the door, we dropped our robes on a chair, stepped out of our slippers and entered the large heated pool with a sitting ledge around the entire circumference. At 4pm, a bar was set up and the barman offered to bring us a drink.

Dinner time and a variety of options on property. We particularly enjoyed the Bald Mountain Pizza, with complimentary movie passes. However, if you choose to go off property, the Lodge provides complimentary transportation in their Lexus SUV both to and from from any restaurant (and/or movie theater) in town.

In summary, the thing that makes Sun Valley Lodge extra special is the service. An extreme case in point would be what happened on our voyage to the lodge:

My husband and I, as well as approximately 20 others were diverted by Alaska Airlines to Boise and had to endure a horrendous 3 hour bus trip to Hailey. So, instead of arriving at 5pm, in time to unpack, settle in and enjoy dinner in one of the Lodge’s fine restaurants, were found ourselves arriving at 9:30, when most dining options were closed.

However, Steven, the Sun Valley Lodge bus driver was kind enough to call the lodge to see if some accommodation might be made. Thanks to the efforts of Jill at the front desk and other staff members, Gretchen’s was opened for us and we were allowed to order off the room service menu, with wait staff being very friendly and accommodating. We were all very grateful.

This was our first visit to Sun Valley for my husband and me and, while I had read the reviews about their superior service, I must say that this went above and beyond what would normally have been expected. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here in Feb. 2013 for 4 nights. The entire experience from beginning to end was just fantastic. Upon arrival at the airport, the service was wonderful and went all the way through to our departure. The staff is so helpful and friendly and the amenities were great. Everything is so convenient and they staff is happy to accommodate any of your needs. Don't forget your swimsuit, because the heated outdoor pool was one of the best parts of the trip. It really doesn't better than soaking sore muscles in the perfectly heated pool, in the afternoon winter sunshine, looking up at the mountain after a day of fun in the snow. We will be back again for sure to enjoy the summer activities.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountain on the skate rink side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The real deal and the first American Ski destination resort is top notch with fantastic atmosphere, great rooms and unique memorabilia. Top class furnishings and the clientele seem to appreciate the lore of Sun Valley. The Sleigh ride to Trial Creek Cabin for dinner was great fun and the skiing is world class. Only drawbacks: housekeeping staff (manager?) thinks a down featherbed is a comforter so had to remake bed each night and friendliness among staff is sometimes great and sometimes inattentive. Would highly recommend to family and friends but not business clientele because of housekeeping issues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dick a, Manager at Sun Valley Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Being a mountain resort, we use down bedding and have had a very favorable response. Unforturnately, it dioes not work for everyone, and we will prepare any bed to our guests liking. Our goal is always 100% guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a year round resort with a luxurious old lodge, the most accommodating staff, and every amenity one may desire (including a great lounge with live music and a spa with an incredible outdoor hot pool). Not only is the history of Sun Valley's development interesting but it's also fun to see all the photos which line the hallways of all the famous people who have stayed at the Lodge through the years. The village includes restaurants, a small movie theater, shops, an inn, outdoor ice rink, ice hockey rink and a stadium for summertime concerts. The skiing is always fabulous--no lines and plenty of snow making machines should they be needed. The lodges on the slopes are beautiful as well with excellent food. This is definitely one of my favorite ski areas and you can't beat the summers with all there is to do. It's a wonderland.

Room Tip: If staying in the lodge apartments, which are directly behind the lodge, try to get an upstairs unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Valley
0.9 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
12.0 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
11.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Hailey - Sun Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Lodge

Property: Sun Valley Lodge
Address: 1 Sun Valley Rd, Sun Valley, ID 83353
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sun Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Hotel Sun Valley
Sun Valley Lodge Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing