We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great times in a great place!”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stites, Idaho

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dave d
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great times in a great place!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Customer service is priority number one for the owner/operator of this awesome lodge. Troy, the owner, met us at the property after hours as we got into town late. He made sure we had everything we needed, even going so far as to get us some bottled water. He left us his personal phone number in case we needed anything else. That was pretty impressive in my book! Then I actually looked around this "lodge." It is more along the lines of a condo wrapped in logs. All the amenities you could wish for, including a nice TV and DVR so you don't need to miss the game. Plenty of room and all done very nice. Couldn't be happier with my stay at this location.

On a side note, if you're going to stay here, you better go have a bite to eat at the South Fork Cafe. Its a couple of blocks away and you won't be disappointed with the food there. Try some pie!

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of our lodge. We hope you will choose to return in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy D
Marriottsville, Maryland
1 review
“Reminded us of home”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a treat it was to spend three nights at the Sportsman Lodge. It is log cabin style, much like our own home in Maryland. We spent our vacation touring 1800 miles of the west (Utah, Yellowstone in Wyoming, Montana and of course Idaho). It was so nice to be able to take a break from hotels and motels to stay in such a comfortable place. We spent the days with family in the hills of Kamiah and the evenings relaxing in our own space. Only complaint is the beds were a little loud and creaky. We could hear the kids tossing/turning throughout the night, even though they were upstairs. Same was true with my husband's tossing/turning. The loud beds made sleeping a bit tough. With that said, the owners are super nice and accommodating. They had all the amenities you'd expect in hotels and even a few I didn't expect (gallon jug of water in the refrigerator for drinking). They even let the kids climb the tree in the back yard. Double thumbs up and thanks for a helping to make it a great first visit to Idaho for us. If we do come back, we'll definitely look to stay again.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancyandB...
Prineville, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“PERFECT”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A great accommodation in this tiny town -- and at a great value. We were delighted with everything and will definitely keep this place on our list if we go back into Stites. Troy could not have been more helpful in getting us settled.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianSan...
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice surprise in Stites”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great value with nice amenities like wifi and direct tv. Place is very clean, beds comfortable and great ambiance with local art and woodwork. Troy greeted us and welcomed us; answered our questions and easy check out policy. 7 mins from Kooskia and about 30 mins from Grangeville.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Motorcycle Travelers Winging it”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

5 Guys on Motorcycles happened upon this place as we'd been tenting it and rain was in the forecast. We pulled into this little town and found the phone number on the lodge. Troy answered right away and there was one room available. I told him there's five guy's and one room won't likely cut it. Troy assured me that there was plenty of room for 5 and so we stayed. It was clean, neat and very well appointed. Coffee (actually good coffee) fridge and microwave and dishes which we didn't need but they're there. The beds were excellent and shower size was great. Air/Heat worked well too. Fan's blew all night and made it easy to sleep. The town is a sleeper but that's the charm. The towels were plush and I they had a TV. wireless hi-speed was find and a computer if you don't have a smart phone or ipad. Troy was the person we talked with and was so nice to deal with. And finally, we left the next morning and I got to the next town and figured out I'd left my glasses on-site. Troy went and checked and found them and sent them the same day. What a nice touch.
We'd stay there again in a heart-beat.
Jon Barnett/Edina MN

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhonda d
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cabin among the still town of Stites”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

love this place! i am from a small town and felt right at home on an evening walk to the river (well, except my hometown didn't have deer walking around in town or many pine trees and mountains.). we were very pleasantly surprised to find this top notch home away from home during our rafting trip. our friend liked it so much, she stayed the second night there as well. (we camped). it was gorgeous inside with many cabiny details, well stocked kitchen, coffee, hairdryer, super clean, comfy beds and pillows, direct tv if we wanted it, wifi and a computer. wish we could have spent more time in the cabin, but the whitewater was calling our name too. thanks Troy for your hospitality and providing such a great getaway for travelers. we will be back!....friends, Dave, Rhon and Tam

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omabluebi...
Grinnell, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It isn't like the little town of Stites, Idaho is an attractive place, it isn't. But there it is surrounded by the Bitteroot range and great hunting and fishing opportunities. Having come from Yellowstone NP, it was perfect, away from crowds, traffic, and high prices. I booked through Airbnb and we had a great experience. Idaho sportsman lodge is wonderful. It is comfy,quiet and well equipped. Troy Is a great host. I highly recommend.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of our lodge. We hope you will choose to return in the future. If you would like to see occasional updates on our Facebook page you can find it here: https://www.facebook.com/idahosportsmanlodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing