We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, meets expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Village Resort
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good place, meets expectations”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Clean, reasonable, a good place to clean up after a hike and sleep in a bed, or to get staged for an outdoor raft or hiking trip beforehand. Helpful people in office, centrally located in Stanley at the junction of highways.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    49
    15
    19
See reviews for
40
46
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was a larger place, a little more expensive because of location. Still, a pretty decent value and a very large room. A little surprised no mini-fridge, so we had to get ice. The associated restaurant had a limited menu, so we drove a short distance to another place for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

this is a quaint and beautiful area!! the mountain village resort was probably as nice as any other hotels in the area. nothing 5 star. most things seemed at most 3.5 star. you are not really there to stay in your room in this type of natural beauty. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First: STAY ON THE TOP FLOOR! Okay, now that I have that out of the way. Stanley was full and I got a room here before it filled up...and it did. The price is okay (AAA discount didn't hurt either) for the room size and they are very clean. To cover a prior reviewer, no I didn't expect the Ritz but I will point out the flaws. Thin walls and the most noise I have EVER heard in my life from an upstairs room. I seriously kept waiting for something to fall off or even through the ceiling. I got about 3 hours of good sleep when I could have had 8 hours. The TV looked like it was picked up at a garage sale. The good, the staff in the evening and in the morning were very nice and helpful. If I stayed on the top floor and the end of a wing I would have had a better stay.

Room Tip: Top floor room only!! If you can get one at the end of a wing, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJohn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent the night before our white water raft trip at the Mountain Village Resort because our "safety meeting" was held on their grounds and our bus departed from their parking lot. The motel itself provided the "basics" in accommodations, but not much more. It was dated, but clean. The furniture was quite modest and the beds were uncomfortable (hard). There was in-room coffee and a microwave, but no refrigerator. The WiFi did not work for us or anyone in our party. The girls in the office were friendly and helpful, but just said, “Sometimes it doesn’t work.”. The coffee in the office was pretty awful.

Our group ate at the Mountain Village Restaurant next-door. It was much like “hamburger stand food.” Patrons order at the counter and wait for their number to be called. I had a hamburger and it was fine. Across the street is the Mountain Village Store with groceries, sundries, etc. They also sell fishing licenses there.

The bottom line on the Mountain Village Lodge is that it filled our needs for one night, but I would not recommend it for a longer stay. (We stayed at Stanley High Country Inn on the return and it was terrific!)

Room Tip: Although there are no elevators, you might want to stay on the second floor because it was pretty no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been going to Stanley for over 40 years. This year we decided to stay in the new RV park at Mountain Village, instead of a Forest Service Campground. The 6-site park is located by the Mountain Village Motel. The full hook-up spots were quite spacious and with big grassy areas between them. The views of the mountains were spectacular. Even though the park is in Stanley, it was remarkably quiet! This was a pleasant surprise. The motel staff was very accommodating and patient as we kept changing our departure date to extend our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good hotel with great people. The hot springs were amazing. The staff were amazing. The bar tender at the bar (I don't know her name) was very friendly and accommodating. This is a great place to stay if you are passing through on a river trip or whatever it may be. The rooms are nothing fancy but I got a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn Motel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Hailey - Sun Valley
0.0 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Village Resort

Property: Mountain Village Resort
Address: 3 Eva Falls Ave, Stanley, ID 83278
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Village Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Village Hotel Stanley
Mountain Village Resort Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing