We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of High Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Fantastic place to stay, I would highly recommend. I never write reviews but felt the need to write this one. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was AMAZING!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nunlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

We enjoyed every minute of our stay in Stanley and were so happy with the accomodations at The High Country Inn! I made the reservation over the phone and got great service from Tommy as well as a great recommendation on which room to choose. We were driving cross country and would be arriving late at night after the office closed but they happily accomodated us by leaving a friendly welcome letter and instructions at the front door. The room was large,comfortable and clean with access to the large porch which provided amazing views! We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and a nice chat with Melinda, the manager while we ate. It was such a nice homey environment. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadtripperColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Made one last trip to Stanley to bring vehicles back to Meridian. The room was clean and comfortable and the views awesome, of course. Had dinner at Back County Bistro Friday night and honestly could not think of a better meal we've ever had. Know Shane and Melinda somewhat from working in Stanley the past several years. They were very friendly and hospitable. We loved our stay and found it difficult to leave. We know we will stay there again soon. Thanks Melinda and Shane!

Brian and RuthAnn
Sawtooth Transportation

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SawtoothTrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I love the High Country Inn. It has the feel of being with family. The staff are excellent and friendly, the rooms are great and the view is wonderful. I don't know of any other hotels in Stanely that provides a breakfast in the morning, popcorn all day, and fountain pop for a small fee each day. There is a great porch to lounge on and look at the Sawtooth mountains or a comfortable general area in doors to sit and read a book by the fireplace. You should also check out the High Country Inn when it is open in the winter. This is an great all around place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellysmi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

What a wonderful time we had while visiting Stanley this summer. High Country Inn was the PERFECT place for our family to stay. The rooms were spotless and the beds were so comfortable. We were mostly impressed by the super friendly staff, though. Melinda, the manager, went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We had one of the most incredible meals one evening at the fine dining restaurant at the Inn (only on the weekends I think). Everyone was so impressed with the quality and the presentation of the food - DELICIOUS!! And, if you are lucky to stay on a Monday night, you have to check out the live music and Texas BBQ...no kidding, I'm from Texas, and this is the real deal. It was a wonderful week-long vacation and we were sad to come home. We are already planning our return to Stanley and the good folks at High Country Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherrisims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Great staff, and comfy surrounds. We love coming here, and hope to make it an annual thing. Melinda (the mgr.) made me and my family feel right at home. The location is excellent, and the staff always had great suggestions when we didn't know what to do with ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed for one night and the view is fantastic! nice staff and clean rooms, but were discouraged and had a bad night's sleep due to no individual thermostats in rooms...so it was very hot even with all windows open...breakfast also dissapointing, advertised it comes with room a full hot breakfast, but considering they offer fine dining in the evening, the breakfast was nearly raw sausage with storebought heated french toast...bummer...went across street to the wonderful Stanley baking company.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
3  Thank Tanata_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.2 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stanley Town Square
Stanley Town Square
#1 of 2 in Stanley
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Village Resort
Mountain Village Resort
#8 of 10 in Stanley
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 21 Ace of Diamonds Blvd, P.O. Box 290, Stanley, ID 83278-5002
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel
Country Inn Stanley
Stanley Country Inn
High Country Inn Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing