We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to live here.”
Review of High Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to live here.”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Great staff, and comfy surrounds. We love coming here, and hope to make it an annual thing. Melinda (the mgr.) made me and my family feel right at home. The location is excellent, and the staff always had great suggestions when we didn't know what to do with ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tumacacori, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed for one night and the view is fantastic! nice staff and clean rooms, but were discouraged and had a bad night's sleep due to no individual thermostats in rooms...so it was very hot even with all windows open...breakfast also dissapointing, advertised it comes with room a full hot breakfast, but considering they offer fine dining in the evening, the breakfast was nearly raw sausage with storebought heated french toast...bummer...went across street to the wonderful Stanley baking company.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanata_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We just traveled from Texas to Stanley, Idaho with our 2 small boys and met 2 other families with small children and stayed at High Country Inn for a week. This hotel was perfect for all of our needs. It was even a bonus that the Sawtooth Music Festival was the same weekend we were there. Our room was spacious, clean and full of all the extras with a full kitchen. This was perfect especially with 2 children under 3 year old. Shane and Mel provided excellent service. The Bistro on Friday night was amazing too. The final bonus was on Monday night they have a Texas BBQ with live music. It was a big hit with everyone one! We'll definitely be back. If you like small towns, no crowds and breath taking views as well as service with a smile this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanEman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

The inn is very nice and we found the staff very accomodative and the food the best in town. However, the problem with the place is that is is located about a block from the local saloon. Live music starts at 10:00pm and ends at 2:00pm. With no air conditioning, that meant no sleep until the band stops. When spoke to the manager about it, she offered us a fan to drown out the noise which helped little. Our complaint clearly was no surprise. We used earplugs and my wife found an old one under the bed. Stay away from downtown Stanley!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Very gracious and helpful staff. Rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. Rooms were quiet, and well insulated from outside sounds.Nice amenities, such as cold beer, wine and soda fountain available at all times during the day, for a reasonable price. Beautiful back porch with great view of the Sawtooths! By far the best inn in Stanley.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flymanpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

The High Country Inn is a GREAT place. The staff bent over backwards for us, letting us take over their dining room to allow us to prepare for a wedding in Stanley. Melinda, the manager, will do whatever she can to make your stay memorable. When we brought in champagne, they happily found us ice buckets. Their outstanding chef prepared a special 6 course meal for 12 of us, and it was out of sight!! I NEVER would have expected a gourmet meal in the mountains! He also catered the wedding reception!! The rooms were very clean and comfy, and the hospitality was beyond belief. The Inn is located adjacent to the small downtown area, and is very convenient for walking tours. It is close to fishing in Valley Creek, the Salmon River, and other waters. Lastly, the view of the Milky Way at night is indescribable! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sawtoothlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Our room was extremely clean & comfy. Breakfast was set out in the AM. Staff was very nice...even mailing something back to us that was left in the room! Highly recommmend.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bgodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stanley Town Square
Stanley Town Square
#1 of 2 in Stanley
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Village Resort
Mountain Village Resort
#8 of 10 in Stanley
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Property: High Country Inn
Address: 21 Ace of Diamonds Blvd, P.O. Box 290, Stanley, ID 83278-5002
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel
Country Inn Stanley
Stanley Country Inn
High Country Inn Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing