We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Very gracious and helpful staff. Rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. Rooms were quiet, and well insulated from outside sounds.Nice amenities, such as cold beer, wine and soda fountain available at all times during the day, for a reasonable price. Beautiful back porch with great view of the Sawtooths! By far the best inn in Stanley.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flymanpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

The High Country Inn is a GREAT place. The staff bent over backwards for us, letting us take over their dining room to allow us to prepare for a wedding in Stanley. Melinda, the manager, will do whatever she can to make your stay memorable. When we brought in champagne, they happily found us ice buckets. Their outstanding chef prepared a special 6 course meal for 12 of us, and it was out of sight!! I NEVER would have expected a gourmet meal in the mountains! He also catered the wedding reception!! The rooms were very clean and comfy, and the hospitality was beyond belief. The Inn is located adjacent to the small downtown area, and is very convenient for walking tours. It is close to fishing in Valley Creek, the Salmon River, and other waters. Lastly, the view of the Milky Way at night is indescribable! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sawtoothlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

Our room was extremely clean & comfy. Breakfast was set out in the AM. Staff was very nice...even mailing something back to us that was left in the room! Highly recommmend.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bgodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We spent the weekend exploring Stanley and the beautiful Sawtooth Mountains...the High Country Inn is a wonderful place to stay. We had a king room...which was very CLEAN......comfortable bed...plenty of pillows and good quality towels....Excellent water pressure in the shower....drives me crazy when the water just trickles out! Great made to order breakfast, included in the room fee. Competely Non Smoking...HOORAY!!! Melinda, the general manager, is very friendly, helpful and hospitable. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERRNCARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

The perfect place to get away and think. Loved the library and the sitting area downstairs with the gas stove and cushy chairs, I'm looking forward to coming back for the fine dining on the outdoor deck! Breakfast was wonderful...made to order with Melinda's hospitality. I did some reading and then a bike ride in the Sawtooth mountains. Next day a drvie to Redfish lake...beautiful.

I loved being 1 block from the little main street and walking distance from everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank out4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

Melinda was a great hostess. Her goal was to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves - no matters how obnoxious we got. The hotel and rooms were clean and roomy. The food was out of this world. The location was close to everything, but off the main roads and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hesperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

We recently traveled with a group of eleven friends to Stanley for a weekend of incredible snowmobiling. Our group had 6 rooms at the High Country Inn and every one of them was extremely comfortable, quiet, and clean. The staff was efficient, friendly, and went out of their way to make us feel "at home". Breakfast is provided each morning from 8:00 to 10:00 a.m. with dinner available by reservation. The Backcountry Bistro's chef served an affordable, gourmet meal that was above and beyond our expectations; a truly memorable dining experience. The rooms and suites are reasonably priced, the dining area is beautiful with breathtaking views of the Sawtooth Mountains. We could not have asked for better accommodations and have already made reservations for next year!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, great food, world class snowmobiling, gorgeous setting.
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FOLLPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Village Resort
Mountain Village Resort
#7 of 10 in Stanley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Property: High Country Inn
Address: 21 Ace of Diamonds Blvd, P.O. Box 290, Stanley, ID 83278-5002
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel
Country Inn Stanley
Stanley Country Inn
High Country Inn Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing