We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it”
Review of High Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and nicely appointed in the guest rooms. I would have liked more choices for the breakfast because it was fairly limited in scope. The area is absolutely gorgeous! Be sure to go see Redfish lake which is not too far from the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneopinion948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for High Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were supposed to stay in Sun Valley at the Inn at Ellsworth but because of the forest fires we had to reroute our trip at the last minute and find new accommodations for thirteen. The High Country Inn provided six clean, comfortable and quiet rooms... at a great price! It had the feel of a high country cabin with the amenities of a hotel. The staff was very helpful in suggesting rooms, restaurants and local sites. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weberdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dang! We were there for two nights but not two nights when they serve dinner. We would have loved to try the Bistro. Next time I'll plan better. The room was very nice. Our upstairs room shared a balcony with other rooms which meant there was an entrance on both sides - one interior and one on the balcony. Most of the time we were the only ones out there. It would have been nice if they could have provided more comfortable chairs out there. The stacking plastic chairs were good for stacking not sitting. The view of the Sawtooths was partially blocked by cabins and utility poles but still nice. The reception was warm, the room comfortable and very clean - nice "mountain cabin" styled furniture and a roomy bath. Breakfast was similar to a motel breakfast with hard boiled eggs, waffles, scrambled eggs etc., in a buffet down stairs. It was ok but I expected better because of the reputation of the dinners.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is like staying in a cabin but with all the services and location of a hotel. The staff is very accommodating and they even turn into a 5 star restaurant at night. I will be back to Stanley as soon as I can and will stay here for sure. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brncoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A wonderful inn and 5 star restaurant! Only stayed one night, but it couldn't have been better. All the way from Melinda meeting us to a 5star meal in the Bistro. The room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. Very homey and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank podof2ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to check in at Rocky Mountain ranch but a forest fire had the road blocked. Since all hotels were booked, we had visions of sleeping in our car.
Luckily the ranch manager worked out a solution with Melinda at HCI. She cleaned a room for us.

It was great! Immaculate. King bed with kitchenette. Small outside area to sit. Very clean nice bathroom. And a little closet like sleeping alcove with a bunk bed and sleeping bags that kids would love.

Please support this wonderful inn right in the middle of town. Hear they have a great breakfast but we were up an out.

Thank you Melinda!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stanley, ID is a town with a posted population of 69. Yet, they have about a dozen lodging places! This hotel is a block off Hwy 21 and on the town's "main drag" (which is dirt!). The young lady checking is in was super friendly, and personally showed us around the hotel and to our room. Nice touch!

The hotel feels very new, although it is several years old. It is spotlessly clean and the room was decorated in a "mountain cabin" theme, which was perfect for the location. It was very quiet and the bed was quite comfortable.

They have complimentary coffee available 24/7 as well as a self-serve soda machine ($2 day, endless refills!) which was very nice. The breakfast was average in variety but tasty.

If we venture back to Stanley, we'll stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stanley Town Square
Stanley Town Square
#1 of 2 in Stanley
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Village Resort
Mountain Village Resort
#8 of 10 in Stanley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 21 Ace of Diamonds Blvd, P.O. Box 290, Stanley, ID 83278-5002
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stanley
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel
Country Inn Stanley
Stanley Country Inn
High Country Inn Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing