We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly and feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Save
You added Riverside Motel to your Saves list
Highway 75, PO BOX 192, Stanley, ID   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Friendly and feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I stay with the Riverside Motel each time we go to Stanley and we cannot express enough the graciousness and courtesy we get every year. The owners have become friends and staying in the rooms at the motel are like staying in a home away from home. If you travel through Stanley, Idaho and want to stop for a couple days check this place out and hang out on the deck each night watching and listening to the Salmon river.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    24
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
70
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

In mid-June, we stayed for 5 nights on the second floor, directly above the Salmon River. The back door opens to a deck, with spectacular views of the Sawtooth Mountains and cattle ranches. Extremely clean and welcoming décor with rustic pine walls and furnishings that gave the room a cabin-like, Western feel. Despite night-time temps in the low 30's, we cracked our bedroom window to hear the soothing, rushing sounds of the Salmon River directly below. The owners, Frank and Patti, were extremely helpful with advice about places to see, restaurants to try, etc. The Stanley area far surpassed our expectations of a mountain vacation, and when we return, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M&D52883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay with our family of 4. We stayed in the cabin across the street and loved it. Very cute and comfortable. Had an issue with blowing a fuse in the bathroom and he came over immediately to fix it. Kitchenette had everything you would need. They request we wash dishes so we didn't use much as I don't want to wash dishes on vacation. Fridge had a weird smell but not a big deal. Easy walk to town. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel0576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

After 2 nights of camping at Iron Creek campground, we decided to stay in Stanley so that we could leave early the next morning and not deal with packing up camp first. We booked this hotel about two weeks prior to our stay after having read the reviews on TA.
This motel has units on either side of a fairly busy highway- the office and main motel is right on the river, and across the street is a cabin and an additional 2 story building (this is where we stayed, on the second floor). I noticed that the stairs up to the second level (the stairs are on the outside of the building) seemed a bit creaky, and so did the front veranda. There was a front door to our room, as well as a back door that opened up to a shared deck with a spectacular view of the Sawtooth peaks. Both the doors had one of those orange-wedge looking windows at the top of it, which a tall person could look through if they really wanted to (the window on the front door was covered up with plastic packing material of some sort). The motel is just outside of the small town of Stanley, one could walk to the downtown in 8 to 10 minutes.
I'm not sure whether it was because we were there so close to a holiday weekend, but the traffic on the highway in front of the motel was fairly loud until about 8:00pm.
The room was comfortable and smelled clean (by that I mean I didn't smell anything when I entered). It included a kitchenette stocked with dishes, pot and pans, and the bedding looked new and inviting.
We noticed that the water smelled strongly of sulfur, but there was a "Pure" filter on the kitchenette faucet. We took showers one right after the other, and by the end of the second shower the hot water was nearly gone (but the water pressure was great). When we arrived it was around 3:30 and it was hot outside. The room appeared to have no air conditioning, but there was a fan available for our use. My husband was burning up, and I was pretty warm as well.
I am rating this motel with 4 marks, but my husband says he would rate it with 3. He does a lot of traveling for his job, though, and is used to staying in chain hotels.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lbindc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Rooms were sparkling clean; beds were heavenly, and amenities were perfect.

We've been the road for a week and these were best beds we had.

Manager was very gracious to stay after hours as we checked in late on a Sunday night.

Stanley is picturesque, as you know, and the motel only added to the evening.

We'll come back for sure. (Oh, and they are biker friendly as well; nice peeps)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UltraTrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This motel is right by a river. We went at the beginning of June and it was still cool, snowed a little. It was so relaxing. The room was immaculate. Just plain comfortable with beautiful views from the back porch and front porch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousemacphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
127 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you think a 5 star designation only applies to a place with golf course and pool, don’t even think of coming to Stanley! Here the draw is the beauty of the area, and this is the perfect place to take it all in! We stayed on the second floor in room 6 with 2 queen beds, table and chairs, chest of drawers, large bathroom with lots of towels, and fully-equipped kitchenette. I loved the heavy wood furniture. The back door leads to a deck overlooking the beautiful Salmon river and is equipped with tables and chairs if you want to enjoy your dinner out there. Chairs on the front deck let you sit and enjoy gorgeous mountain views. Frank checked us in and definitely made us welcome. The little extras provided in the room really provide a nice touch such as a cute stuffed bunny on the bed, coffee and microwave popcorn. I highly recommend the Riverside Motel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#4 of 6 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Village Resort
0.0 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
0.0 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchum
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: Highway 75, PO BOX 192, Stanley, ID
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stanley
Number of rooms: 285
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Stanley
Riverside Motel Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing