We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but comfortable lodge”
Review of Sawtooth Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sawtooth Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Stanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2011

If you like "Out West" rustic style, then this is the place for you! Location in the middle of Stanley is good. Our room was a little rickety but charming and had a very modern bathroom. The restaurant downstairs was not open on the day we were there but we heard it was good. Ate at Redfish Lake Lodge which was very pretty and food was good too.

Room Tip: Having the ensuite bathroom was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and we loved it. The rooms were great, food excellent, views from the porches outstanding and the owners and staff were great. We had booked another place farther out for 3 more nights, but came back to the hotel to eat. They do not have a vast menu, but what the offer is top notch. Becky, Kelly and Tim, thanks for everything. By the way best breakfast and lunch place in town is run by Kelly. We ate there every day.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

There are hotelrooms above the restaurants. We stayed in a cabin. Not bad, but quite small. We had one with a little kitchen. The best part of our stay was the restaurant and the friendly staff. All and all good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Sawtooth Hotel deck has the best view of the Sawtooths of any restaurant in Stanley. And it has the best food. No other restaurant in Stanley comes close for dinner. The Stanley Baking Company, owned by the same family, is the best for breakfast and lunch, but no view.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyEline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We spent several nights at the Sawtooth Hotel in July. We did stay in one of the king rooms with a private bath. The room was spacious and the bathroom very nice. All had windows looking out at the majestic Sawtooth Mountains. There is one other room with bath and the remaining rooms are very small and share a bath down the hotel. There was a nice deck off the upper floor overlooking the mountains. Great place to watch the sunset and surise. We were not able to have dinner there as they were closed the nights we were there. The menu looked quite good. We did have two delicious breakfasts at their bakery. Also two dinners at the Kasino Club, which as a very good and fresh salad bar. As many have stated the owners of this hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful. We will definitely return to Stanley and when we do, we will stay at the Sawtooth.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
913
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Watching the sun go down over the Sawtooth range and enjoying a beer was a highlight of my Idaho wanderings. The Hotel is quaint and the people who run it are hospitable. The price for the clean rooms cannot be beat and it is no big deal to walk down the hall way to use the shower or bathroom.

Room Tip: There is no breakfast at the hotel but the bakery around the corner is run by the same people and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were staying at the Mountain Village resort across the street but chose the Sawtooth Hotel because it looked more vegetarian-friendly. We were right, though the vegetable curry was a little costly for the amount of food given. We were there on a dead Monday night in early June and had the place to ourselves; it was a very nice atmosphere, the server was friendly and helpful and the fireplace is a nice touch. Major major plus marks: The view of the mountains from our table, Moose Drool brown alea on tap and the dessert menu. My wife and I couldn't decide so we ended up each getting a dessert of our own (vacation is wonderful). My lemon icebox cake was good, but her fudge brownie with homemade peanut butter ice cream must have been conceived by the gods of the Sawtooths. Incredible.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ashandjer208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sawtooth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawtooth Hotel

Address: 755 Ace of Diamonds St., Stanley, ID 83278
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Sawtooth Hotel Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing