We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to Go, if you're in Stanley!!”
Review of Back Country Bistro - CLOSED

Back Country Bistro
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Where you'll find slow, casual, affordable fine dining in a rustic, yet elegant setting. Established in 2008, the "Backcountry Bistro" has become an innovative dining destination in Historic Downtown Stanley. We specialize in "Southern Fusion" Cuisine with International and Regional influences. We offer a diverse "Prix Fixe" Seasonal Menu," which includes and appetizer, choice of soup or salad, a variety of entrees and dessert. Our restaurant features "free range" game, beef, pork, fowl, and seafood from all three coasts. In addition, we offer personalized Vegan and Vegetarian meals and a fantastic regional wine and beer list.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You have to Go, if you're in Stanley!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Melinda and Shane (the chef), owners, have perfected a high-class, small venue, restaurant, that you can experience in a wilderness location - Stanley, Idaho. We loved it enough to go both nights we were there. The Antelope is amazing, as is the Chilean Bass or Steak (all that we tried). Literally everyone in the restaurant with us was raving about their food (or selection of wine), and saying they would highly recommend the place to others! Healthy, Perfect portions, Happy customers. I commend both owners for creating a dream and treating it as such. And for treating us as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eugene
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply 5 star!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Only stayed one night, but was so surprised to have such a fabulous meal! Freshest ingredients, lst class service, and divine tastes. Would stop again just to eat there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank podof2ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our first try here Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have tried almost all the places to eat in this area. We had a the most amazing dinner. The food was amazing something you would expect in the big city. Passionate chef you can tell and the service was exceptional!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class Experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This restaurant is located in the hotel where we stayed (Stanley High Country Inn) although not the same company. The food was one of the best meals we have ever had anywhere. My husband had the antelope which I was still thinking about the next day and I only got one bite! I had the Chilean sea bass which was also very good. Wish this restaurant was located in out town. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“The Perfect Meal”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

For a group of Sawtooth Wilderness day-hikers usually content with modest dinner victuals during our week’s adventures, we up-scaled to the Back Country Bistro one evening and WOW! The 10 of us tried everything on the menu, and all reported amazement at the unique and wonderful tastes of the superb food, exquisitely presented, and gracefully delivered. The four-course pre-fixe menu was priced nicely for the abundance, quality, service, and experience conveyed. Truly, a night to remember!
--Ken C (Saint Louis MO)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Country Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing