We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the cabin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jerry's Country Store & Motel/Salmon River Cabins
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My first night I stayed in a river front cabin and it was great! As it was large and I needed wifi in order to catch up on work, I moved to the motel. Next time, I'll stay in the cabin! Liked the management and staff, very friendly and helpful, and the peacefulness can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here as a family of four with our dog as part of a cross country drive from Oregon to New Hampshire. The location is terrific - right on the river with an amazing view of the Sawtooths and about a mile from Stanley. You can also walk next door to a decent restaurant and eat on their deck looking at the Sawtooths. The cabins are clean and a bit small for the five of us but since we were outside the entire time it didn't really matter. The only negative was the staff. When we checked in, the woman at the desk prioritized three incoming calls over our registration procedure. It took forever. She never looked us in the eye, was very short tempered, was unhelpful with restaurant recommendations and was generally surly. The same was true for the service in the attached general store. Too bad - the location is just so great! We'd still recommend it, but the staff could use some customer service pointers.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank jabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Breathtaking views from the rustic cabins make this place a A+++ for those looking for a bit of a backcountry experience but with power, water, bathrooms in a real log cabin. We had a group stay here, the owner was amazing, accommodating, our experience here was nothing but wonderful. It's our second time staying here. Love fishing off the front porch then sitting around the fire in the evening with family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christi444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was my 2nd time staying here. The cabins need work. But for the price an the view it is worth it. I am telling you there is not a better place to sit on a deck and watch the mountains stand still. It is just the greatest view ever. If ever in Stanley stay here for a couple nights.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corieharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

A quiet and comfortable, but basic accommodation can be had at this picturesque location along the Salmon river. Beds are comfortable. See the website, as it has an accurate overview of this property.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank JohnOmaha_Nebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My wife and I traveled from Florida to visit this little mountain town, and now we're hooked! We chose to stay at Jerry's cabin because of the reviews online because we've never been to this area before. We were not disappointed!

We stayed in cabin 25, right on the river for $85/night. Our first day consisted of catching 5 rainbow trout in the Salmon River which is directly behind the cabin. We kept 2 and cooked them for dinner using the supplied community grill. We matched it up with some wild rice bought in the general store located on the property for $1.50. The first day was magical, and the feeling continued throughout our stay.

Speaking of the general store.. it has everything! And, you can buy single items that are normally in packs. That was great for us, since we could buy individual garbage bags, and single sticks of butter, instead of the whole pack. The service is really non-existent, but that's the point. They leave you alone.

The cabins are small, cozy, and have everything you need. More than most hotels. Some people on here rated this place bad because of the cabins. I can't understand how these people don't see the charm in this place. You're surrounded by NOTHING but pristine, vast mountain terrain, with the gnarly spires of the Sawtooth's dominating the background. You have a microwave, stove, sink, TV, shower, bathroom, heater, plates, bowls, cups, cooking pots and pans, cell, sporadic internet, and large bed. What more do you need?

We typically went hiking in the Sawtooth's during the day, then fished and sat by our firepit during the cool evenings. This place is perfect for outdoorsy people such as ourselves. We travel all over the country looking for small towns with great outdoor amenities, this is by the far the best we've been to that's so small but has it all. I'd take this cabin again over any 5 star hotel in a city, so if that's your kind of style, definitely choose this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mislead_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Loved our stay in these simple and rustic cabins. Right on the Salmon River (river is 4 feet from porch) with fantastic views of the sawtooths. These cabins are not fancy (they should be seen as a step up from camping, not a romantic honeymoon retreat.) The staff was friendly, the country store next to the cabins had everything we needed. Great vacation, great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 012512Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stanley Town Square
Stanley Town Square
#1 of 2 in Stanley
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Northgate Inn
Northgate Inn
#2 of 3 in Challis
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Village Resort
Mountain Village Resort
#8 of 10 in Stanley
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerry's Country Store & Motel/Salmon River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerry's Country Store & Motel/Salmon River Cabins

Address: Hwy 75, Stanley, ID 83278
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Stanley
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Jerry`s Country Store And Motel/Salmon River Cabins
Jerry`s Country Store & Motel/Salmon River Cabins Hotel Stanley
Jerry's Country Store & Motel/Salmon River Cabins Stanley, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing