We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mountain ranch wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idaho Rocky Mountain Ranch
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed here in August 2007, for a couple of days...it was our anniverysay, but we were also being evacuated from our home in Ketchum because of the massive Castle Rock forest fire. We were happy to find an accommodation available, and even due to the stress we were under due to the fact our home might burn down, we had a wonderful time. Our cabin was cozy and comfortable, the food great, views wonderful, and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We especially enjoyed the front porch guitar entertainment during the cocktail hour. I definately find the review from jet(whatever) from los angeles amusing with so many complaints.....OMG chocolate mints from Costco! bad lightening (plastic surgery too evident perhaps?) and I don't believe for a minute they wouldn't let her friend use a phone because someone was in the hospital. Duh... you are in the wilderness...no cell phone. If you are looking for a wonderful relaxing mountain retreat, with unparalled views, then by all means go. If you are most comfortable with a fake experience, than perhaps Vegas is the place for you.

Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sunvalleySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2009

This was an amazing place - do not miss it! We stayed in one of the new renovated cabins (#1) with fireplace, gorgeous bathroom, king bed, and artistic wrought iron hardware. The main cabin had a wonderful sitting area with huge fireplace and dining room. Breakfasts (try the plantain french toast with coconut almond topping) and dinners (sturgeon, salmon, pheasant, veal, flank steak, watercress salad) in the dining room were perfection, as were the packed lunches (with home made cookies) to sustain us while hiking. After dinner we relaxed in the hot springs down by the river. Hiking to Fourth of July Lake and up to the top of ridge for incredible view of Sawtooth Range to west and White Cloud Peaks to the east. Went rafting with White Otter (Sunbeam Village) -- a fun adventure with highly experienced guides, who were fun and very pleasant company as we coursed through class 2 and 3 rapids. We stopped along the way for a hot soak and snack along the river's edge. Went fly fishing nearby in the Salmon River. Enjoyed the Fish Hatchery nearby, as well. Didn't get around to mountain biking or horseback riding, though others did, and loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Great location, lots of lakes and hiking. The food at the ranch was out of this world. The view from the deck looking out at the Sawtooth Mountains was breath taking. I enjoyed the people and sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and relaxing. The hot springs spa in the evening was relaxing

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fireinthehole07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

IRMR is an upscale but wonderfully rustic vacation ranch about 10 miles south of Stanley. Prices include breakfast, a packed lunch and dinner. Accommodations are either cabins (mostly duplex) or lodge rooms. The rooms are simple, and there are no phones, clocks or TVs. The wide porch of the lodge, where you can sit in rocking chairs sipping complimentary iced tea, coffee or lemonade, offers an incredible view of the Sawtooth Mountains. The main lodge has a fireplace which is used on chilly evenings and mornings, a giant chess table, a large supply of board games and a bucket of balls and Frisbees. They even have guitars that the guests can use! You can borrow a mountain bike to ride around the ranch – or to go to the lower ranch where the hot springs swimming pool is located. You are also free to use the laundry at the lower ranch, which was a big plus. There are a number of lovely hikes right on the property, and the ranch offers numerous guidebooks and maps for planning hikes in the area.

For breakfast you can have eggs, pancakes, French toast, has browns etc. plus there is a continental spread with breads and fruit, yogurt and cereal. Breakfast is served from 7:00 – 10:00 (with hot breakfast available from 7:30 on). One disappointment was that the lodge would not accommodate us with any breakfast food on our last day when we had to leave at 6:15 AM to catch a plane. Sandwiches, fruit and cookies are available at breakfast to pack for lunch. The dinner that was served in the Dining Room was delicious. On Saturday there is an outdoor BBQ. The meat was overdone (we arrived toward the end of the BBQ hour) but the sides were good. On Mondays they take you in a horse-drawn wagon to a Dutch Oven cookout. This was delicious!

We enjoyed staying in the lodge for the convenience. The downside is that the walls are not well insulated for sound between the hallway and adjacent rooms. This didn’t bother us, but if you are a light sleeper I’d recommend a cabin. The other very minor annoyance was the shower head in the bathroom. I am 5’-7” and had to duck to get my head under it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connecticuttraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Idaho Rocky Mountain Ranch for a wedding. The poor customer service was so bad that we had to write this review.

We had a room in the lodge, which was very loud. We requested the room be cleaned 3 times (change of towels, etc) but no one ever came. Then they decided to come when we were getting ready for the wedding. They had the wedding schedule... crazy.

The bathroom was so tiny that two people could not fit in there at the same time. You had to stand in the doorway to use the sink.

No slippers, no bathrobes, no blow dryer and you had to hope the other guests were in no need of an ironing board. There's an absurdly limited supply.

They offer you complementary trail mix in the afternoon. But wouldn't it make sense to offer it to guests in the morning... that way you have it for your hike, fishing trip or any other type of outing?

The lighting in the room was florescent and annoying.

When our friend was in dire need to use the phone (she got an email that her sister was in the hospital and no cell reception at the ranch) the front desk would not let her use the phone to call the hospital! They said she had to drive way into town, buy a phone card and come back to the pay phone!! She even offered to pay them but they still said no!!!

Yes, there is more! They put Andes Mints in the room. The most cheap awful chocolate from Costco. Why not chocolate from a local vendor?

Why so many complaints? Perhaps because the room was almost $400 a night!

We've traveled the world. I've never written a complaint. But this place was disaster. Okay, one complement... the food was good.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jettingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The positive: Rustic cabins with fireplace. Very comfortable king bed with high thread-count linens. Excellent food (3 meals/day) included in room price. The swimming pool fed by natural hot springs was welcome after a day of hiking. The staff was very attentive and friendly. There is wireless internet in the lobby.

The location also has to be considered a positive though it's hard to give the lodge all the credit for that. It has to be one of the most beautiful settings in the U.S.

The negative: We were in one of the 4 rooms that hadn't been upgraded (supposedly work will start on these this fall). This mainly involved the bathroom which was out of the '40s. It was adequate but not at this price. Speaking of price, the base rate was $396. This didn't include alcohol (fine) but also didn't include the mandatory 15% gratuity. With taxes the total was $488. There are no phones in the rooms. There is no cell phone access. The lobby internet is fine though it wouldn't be too hard to extend it to the rooms with a few outdoor antennas.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yoyodyne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Wonderful ranch/resort with a beautiful view of the Sawtooth Mountains. The food was outstanding and the "rustic" lodges were very comfortable and clean. The Staff was fantastic. My daughter (who is in college) got sick while we were there and we had to leave early. Because this location is designed with no telephones in the room, this became a problem but the staff made themselves available and the manager even gave my daughter her number to call in case she had to contact us over night. This was ABOVE and beyond the call! But, even before we learned she had gotten sick, everyone was terrific. This is a beautiful location, with GREAT food, great customer service, and is a wonderful getaway. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanley hotels
8.9 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
48 reviews
8.8 mi away
Stanley Town Square
Stanley Town Square
#1 of 2 in Stanley
73 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mountain Village Resort
Mountain Village Resort
#8 of 10 in Stanley
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idaho Rocky Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idaho Rocky Mountain Ranch

Address: Hc 64, Box 9934, Stanley, ID 83278
Location: United States > Idaho > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Stanley
Price Range: $340 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The living history of the Old West mingles with the solitude and peace of this 1000-acre ranch, offering freedom, breathtaking natural beauty, and a relaxed atmosphere. Surrounded by the largest protected wilderness area in the "lower 48", guests will enjoy full days of outdoor adventures, our authentic lodge and cabins, delicious meals, rejuvenating natural hot springs pool, and plenty of relaxation time. The atmosphere is friendly and casual, and the view from the front porch –well, you just have to experience that for yourself.This 50-person guest ranch is an ideal homebase to enjoy one of America’s most majestic natural treasures, --- The Sawtooth National Recreation Area. The Sawtooth Mountains are an outdoor enthusiast’s wonderland, with miles of hiking and biking trails, scenic western horseback riding, and countless opportunities for fishing, rafting and exploring the pristine Salmon River.The Ranch property originally was part of Stanley Basin pioneer Dave Williams’ homestead. It was acquired in 1929 by New York Frigidaire executive Winston Paul, who began building the Idaho Rocky Mountain Club. A crew of 60 men, among them a blacksmith and stonemason, camped on the Ranch property in the fall of 1929 until they were forced to leave by severe winter weather. Construction began with the snaking of logs up Williams and Gold Creek to the Big Meadow chosen as the Lodge site. The crews returned the following spring to complete construction, and the Idaho Rocky Mountain Club opened that summer as an invitation-only guest facility.A hydroelectric plant, whose log structure housing still stands at the willowed bend in the pond, generated power for the IRMC providing the first electricity in the Sawtooth Valley. Several of the original power gauges can also still be found around the Ranch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idaho Rocky Mountain Ranch Hotel Stanley
Idaho Rocky Mountain Ranch Stanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing