We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool!”

Soda Springs Geyser
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really cool!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Visited here just before sunset on a cold January day. Apparently the geyser is operated on the hour, every hour, every day of the year (though don't quote me on this).

Nobody else was around. There was ice all over the surrounding walkways, but the water was very warm. When the geyser was activated, it went incredibly high, and created steam all around it -- fun to experience.

The weirdest thing: when I put my hands back in the water right after the geyser stopped, it was much, much colder than it had been beforehand.

Anybody who can explain this gets a gold star.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silverton OR
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Geyser at Soda Springs”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stopped by to see the Soda Springs Geyser and it was an unexpected highlight of the day. The geyser is a "controlled" eruption. There's a valve on it so you know it will erupt every hour on the hour. We were there on a bright summer day and the geyser was just beautiful. You can walk from there to a small local museum, the cemetery with an Oregon Trail grave in it and a former plane spotting tower used during World War II. A very pleasant way to spend an hour on your way through the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennice, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Highlight of a highly industrial town.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was pouring rain when we arrived so we viewed from the car. Easier to see than Old Faithful because of the cooler water temperature.
The town is surrounded by plants processing the local phosphate and gypsum. Didn't check on availability but would have loved to tour the Monsanto plant!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GingerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stop if traveling by”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stop here is traveling through. It goes off every hour on the hour and the kids can play in it. It lasts about 5 minutes but we loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My son had read about pioneers on the Oregon trail stopping by at Soda Springs so when we drove by on our way to the Grand Tetons we decided to drop by. The geyser turns out to be in the middle of town, with a large limestone terrace from mineral deposits and a nice boardwalk circling the spring. The geyser is no longer completely natural as it has been capped and is allowed to go off every hour on the hour. When it did water shot high in the air for about five minutes, allowing ample time for taking photographs. The water is about 72F and visitors are welcome to step on the limestone terrace and to frolic under the spray. If you drive by on US 30 stop by by all means, it is free. There are bathrooms available on site as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rttroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Springs Geyser also viewed

 

Been to Soda Springs Geyser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing