We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to Hotel......Idaho!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Idaho Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idaho Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver City
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Welcome to Hotel......Idaho!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a long rough drive we finally made it to Hotel Idaho in Silver City. It is right out out of the old West. We half expected Rooster Cogburn to come into the Bar and order up a bottle of Whiskey.
Richard the manager would have done his best to make him happy with his old west charm and rough and ready appeal.
Plenty of rooms at the Hotel Idaho......
Our bed was great and all the meals from the Beef Ribs to the homemade breakfast were out of this world.
Livin' it up at the Hotel Idaho.....
Bed was good and comfy. The down side was the old fashioned communal toilets, showers, wash rooms. Yes, its still 1860 here with regards the plumbing. (PS walls are paper thin so don't do anything in your room you don't desire to share with the whole floor) We also have to mention Silver City is an old ghost town....this might imply quiet and solitude...but be forewarned this place is not peaceful. At about 10:00am motorcycles ATV's and every form of motorized jeep, jitney, and buggy take over the town. This constant parade does not end until dark. If this kind of thing doesn't bother you, great, but if you are looking for nature or a relaxing weekend maybe you should keep looking.

Bottom line this place was fun and a real....once in a life time experience!

Room Tip: Hotel is Solar powered so, no electrical devices(air conditioning) and try to get a room with a wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rmberg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited Silver City in late June and spent one night at the wonderful Idaho Hotel. The hotel is fascinating! It's just fixed up enough to keep you comfortable yet locked in time for a fabulous feel of being in the 1890's. Rehabbed historic hotels are nice but the Idaho Hotel was a lifetime favorite for me. I like the uneven floors, peeling wallpaper, original furniture, and fixtures. The saloon and dining area was filled with historical memorabilia and the folks who own and run this hotel were extremely friendly. There is no electricity but lights run on solar power. There are no locks on the doors. The town is swarming with beautiful hummingbirds, great hikes, old mines, and many original buildings/homes since it's never had a fire. I sincerely hope to be back! I hope if you read this you decide to make a stay at The Idaho Hotel. I admire the folks who spent their money and time to keep this place open and would hate to ever see it lost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FaithL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here July 2, 2013 and of all the memories of our 6-week road trip, this place stands out the most. We do 3-6 week road trips every summer, so we have seen a lot of the U.S. The Idaho Hotel and Silver City have been the most unique and one of the most memorable stops. First of all, you have to drive about 23 miles up a mountain off a back road. Most of those miles is a dirt road and it is rough at points. Our SUV was ok but it would be a rough ride in a car.
I saw this place on one of my "ghost shows", Haunted Highway. We did not have any ghostly experiences during our stay but there was a man with his young daughter and her friend staying there. They were hunting ghosts--they didn't catch anything on film, either. Read the history of this place on-line before you go, so you will appreciate this hotel and the "town/village".
Richard greeted us when we arrived and he was awesome and helpful the whole visit. The hotel has 13 rooms to rent--most of them are $80. This place (and the other homes and businesses in town) run off solar power and batteries (my husband was intrigued by this and asked Richard a bunch of questions about it--Richard answered them all). There was a couple of shared bathrooms and 3 shared showers (which had hot water and good pressure). Our room had a queen bed and it was clean. There was a light in the ceiling that Richard asked we turn off when we left the room in order to save electricity. It felt like we were camping inside. We had no cell phone service but we were told there are 2 land lines in town. That seemed to be the only connection to the outside world.
Richard gave us a tour of the rest of the hotel--what a cool place. We were back in the old west with the old flooring and wallpaper. It was still peeling in some rooms and the halls--it added that feel of history and the possibility of a haunting. We loved the feel of the whole place.
There is food available downstairs in the saloon/restaurant area, which was very cool. We got the onion soup and steak sandwich--both really good. Breakfast the next morning was awesome, too. They have beer and wine available, too. There is so much to see in the saloon--we looked at all of the old stuff and asked questions about it.
That night Roger, one of the owners, showed a 1970's Disney movie in the saloon to guests and to others staying in the small campground down the road. Part of the movie was filmed at the hotel--after seeing that, we could appreciate the work that had been done over the years to get it into the shape it is in now. We ordered beer and wine from Richard and had a great time watching the movie with everyone. After that, we sat on the front porch and chatted with another "resident" of the town--apparently, it's a seasonal town where everyone leaves in the winter. They have a person to watch over everything to keep out vandals but everyone goes to their permanent homes.
It was such a neat experience for us. We would definitely stay here again. I wish we had an ATV, which was very popular there to get around the trails on the mountains. It was such a cool, authentic and historical place.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have full-size beds but we had a queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Kim34178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great historic experience here at the Idaho Hotel. Relaxed authentic place and people. I would stay here again and hope to bring my parents here next summer while we travel the same route as we did in 2013. No complaints. Good scenery, good location, good facility, good staff -- and good cooking!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carinac820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho City, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are an outdoorsie person, you'll love this place. You'll walk into an old silver exchange / hotel lobby / museum, and beyond a second door you will find the restaurant. Call ahead to book a Saturday room, they will probably be sold out if you 'just show up'. Also, you MUST call at least one week ahead if you plan to eat dinner at the hotel. As you see in other reviews, dinner is family style, and mom (Jerri) doesn't like to waste food, so she cooks for the planned family with just a bit for those who like seconds.
Now, for the hotel. WOW... this place really isn't much different than it was in 1863. Ok, solar power allows for LED lighting in the halls in place of soot producing kerosine, and running water allows for a flushable toilet; however, the rooms are almost the same as they were 100 years ago. Most rooms have gas heaters in the event it's cold out. One has the stovepipe from the dining room running up one corner. The floors are uneven, and a walk to the toilet in the middle of the night can be a challenge after a few adult beverages. But, the beds are comfortable and clean, I think the fleece bedding is new this year, and it was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms 25-30 are above the dining room, and after dinner the room becomes the town social hall. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BoiseMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I loved this place ...what an awesome experience,we're planning to back again,a step back in time ! what an eerie experience to get up in the middle of the night and have to go out in the hall to a shared bathroom..the halls are dimly lit because of the solar power. I was wondering if I'd see something floating down the hall !The room was beautiful and very antique looking ! very quiet at night because there was no TV ! can't wait to go back again !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank patty p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

You will never have another experience like this. You will feel like you have been transported back in time. You will not have a private bathroom or a plug in your room for those electronics that we are now 100% addicted to. The hotel is authentic with 1980's antiques. It is run with solar energy so there is one plug in the restaurant that you can recharge your gadgits with. MAKE reservations for dinner. You will not regret it. The food is homecooked and served family style. No menu. You get what mom cooks. It is delicious. The dessert, just save room. You will regret missing anything this woman cooks. If you are open to the whole experience you will be welcomed like family and treated the like. The whole community gathers at night to play poker, games or horseshoes. AMAZING PEOPLE. AMAZING EXPERIENCE! You will NEVER experience anything like this again. Unique and Wonderful! Do not miss the pie.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the only room with a true queen bed. It is very nice. Not haunted, but very nice. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver City
17.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 11 in Nampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise/Nampa at the Idaho Center
18.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise-Meridian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boise Nampa
17.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Nampa Suites
22.3 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 57 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idaho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idaho Hotel

Property: Idaho Hotel
Address: Silver City, ID
Location: United States > Idaho > Silver City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver City
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Idaho Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing