We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five STAR location, Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Lovely, lovely location; incredible lake views! Property fronts City Beach, perfect for an early morning dip.
Hotel room was very basic, clean but certainly unexceptional.
I booked directly with the property and was told to ALWAYS do that. Best Western and other travel websites show no vacancy though vacancies can often be found through the hotel directly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Edgewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 466 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Troys Place
18
Reviewed April 11, 2006

This Hotel was a family disappointment, over priced basic standard rooms with a view!The Beds were awful, the noise from the trains was every hour,the front desk staff was very unprofessional and not very welcoming!Super 8 Motel was more of a pleasent experience then this over rated dump!Dont waste your money or end up running into the same disappointment our family did.Check out La Quenta,before this Best Western.

Stayed: April 2006
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2005

I concur with my fellow reviewer - location, location, location. I would give this place a plus for that but unfortunately that is the only plus this motel will get from me. My son, husband and I traveled to Sandpoint for a two night stay. Suffice it to say - we only stayed the one night. At $161 US, I've never felt so ripped off in my life. The hide-a-bed was so uncomfortable, my 12 year old son pulled the mattress off and slept on the floor - all that the the smell of a very aged motel. There isn't enough "frebreze" in this world to make this room inhabitable.
We realized that this was in the smoking section and I was okay with that but they didn't tell me that the cleaning staff would make my outside deck area their very own smoking room.
I loved Sandpoint but they are in definite need of newer accommodations for their tourism industry.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2005

Took the family on a trip to Sandpoint, Idaho and stayed at the Edgewater Resort on the shores of Lake Pend Oreille. There were good points - and not so good points - to our stay:

GOOD POINTS:
Location - Location - Location!!
Tucked between the lake, the city park and downtown, you really didn't need a car to explore the best of Sandpoint from this hotel. If you (or your kids) like trains, you'll love this. Trains pass by the hotel throughout the day and night. Fortunately, the way the rooms are situated keeps the noise down so you can sleep.

The Staff was great!
Very helpful, friendly, responsive and courteous.

NOT SO GOOD:

The Rooms: These were very basic rooms (more Motel 6 or Super 8 quality than anything else with the exception of the lakefront balconies). The molding was peeling from the interior and exterior doors. The beds were comfortable though.

The Halls: The hallway was lined by a bank of glass windows that really heated up the halls to the point of being uncomfortably hot. Staff members or guests opened up these windows to let fresh air in. Not such a good idea when you have a two year old who tries to step through an open two story window. There were no elevators and being at the end of the hotel - it was a long walk to the lobby or an ice machine.

The Restaurant and Lounge: Only got into the Restaurant and Lounge for a few minutes to get an order to go (to our room). The location was nice (lakefront) and the price for the food was what you would expect from a hotel restaurant. The food we ordered was okay. We found better places to eat in town. Some brochures we viewed stated a complimentary continental breakfast was available. We found out at check in this service has been discontinued.

We would possibly stay here again - due to the staff and location. On the other hand, we may try somewhere else. Our experience has left us undecided on this one.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ncwmallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2004

I stayed at the Edgewater for 3 nights in October 2004. It has a great location on the lake and is walking distance to downtown. The staff are friendly and helpful. My room was in the annex, the construction shabby and the decor dated. (The door didn't match up to the frame so it rattled every time a neighbor's door shut.) Request a room in the main building. (I spied newer bathroom fixtures in a room on my way to the ice machine.) At times the train noise was startling, but I got used to it quickly. I had dinner in the restaurant one night: a great buffalo burger and dessert. Great location and staff, but nothing special about the hotel itself.

6  Thank inthe831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2004

Although this hotel has a great location, right near the city beach park, it was a little run down and not very well appointed. Some of paint was flecked off of the strip of wood on the sink in the bathroom. The office where the breakfast is served is little without much room to sit. This motel does have a nice (but small) pool and jacuzzi tub. The front desk clerks were friendly and quickly responsive. So, it is a bit of a mixed bag.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boulder, CO
19
Reviewed January 19, 2004

The Edgewater is our family's top choice for our summer getaway. It is located adjacent to the City Beach Park and a small marina. Although it is a Best Western - not the Ritz, its location can't be beat. We prefer the ground floor rooms because our kids can walk in and out from the patio door to the beach and lawn. Also, the indoor pool and hot tub are on the ground floor, so our kids can migrate from the pool, to the room, to the beach.

The hotel offers a simple breakfast buffet each morning in the lobby, and there is a patio grill/bar overlooking the water. It is very close to town and everything is within walking distance. The train depot is a few hundred feet away, and trains run through Sandpoint every 20-30 minutes, so be prepared for train noise from anywhere in town. The rooms at the hotel all face toward the beach - away from the depot, so the train noise is less in the room.

Overall, it is a very relaxing, low-key vacation in the great little town of Sandpoint.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 6 in Sandpoint
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
165 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
#2 of 6 in Sandpoint
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edgewater Resort

Address: 56 Bridge St, PO Box 128, Sandpoint, ID 83864-1443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range: $114 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakefront Sandpoint, ID hotel is conveniently located near Schweitzer Ski Resort, Silverwood Theme Park and Coldwater Creek Street Bridge.The spacious and neat accommodations at this charming and elegant BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort offers cable satellite television, high-speed Internet access, room service, in-room movies and more. All guests of this Sandpoint, ID hotel can take in stunning views of the lake from their room, providing relaxing scenery and an invigorating way to greet the day.While staying at this Idaho Best Western, guests can also take advantage of the fitness center, on-site Trinity at City Beach Lounge, indoor pool and hot tub, free parking, conference services and meeting facilities with catering that accommodate up to 100 attendees. The guests of this BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort can fuel up for whatever their day holds at the on-site Trinity at City Beach restaurant, serving up delicious fare and breathtaking views of Lake Pend Oreille. Whatever you or your fellow travelers are in the mood for, there's a restaurant nearby to suit everyone's tastes, such as Ivano's Italian Restaurant, Jalapenos, 5th Avenue Restaurant and The Hydra.Located within walking distance of downtown Sandpoint, guests of the BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort can also enjoy easy access to many of area's popular attractions. Delight in a day of adventure and fun by visiting Silverwood Theme Park, Schweitzer Mountain Resort, Coldwater Creek, Cedar Street Bridge, the Festival at Sandpoint Symphony and Lake Pend Oreille. Or, enjoy unwinding at the nearby Idaho Club Golf Course, Panida Theater or Sandpoint City Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater Hotel Sandpoint
Sandpoint Best Western
Best Western Sandpoint
Best Western Edgewater Resort Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing