We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room looked clean but smelled musty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over memorial day weekend on the upper floor down towards the left end of resort. Our room was nice ,,, looked nice... the largest deck I have ever seen... we could easily fit 6 chairs across the deck,, great view.... loved the fridge which they do not have listed on the hotel website but we called ahead to check. No microwave it would have been nice. We had two queen beds... My only complaints are the small bathroom that one person can fit in and not even sure if you can close the door if you are on the toilet its that tight in there and the thing that is most irriating to me is the musty smell in the room... the room looked clean as I said but it must be in the walls... We should have asked for a different room but I have a feeling its pretty much the same in another room and I didnt think it would be that bad.... when you are in the room you kinda get use to it....but can still smell it but wow when you open the door its very strong.....

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank lisamariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 482 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the view. Even in late winter early spring when the water level was low - the view was spectacular. The little balcony would be fabulous in warmer weather.

I struggle to find a next best thing as I was expecting a bit more from a Best Western Plus. I think calling themselves "Plus' is gilding the lily. This is not to say that the room wasn't comfortable, clean or substandard but I just expected a little more. Maybe its just me.

The train is close but strangely its not the toot-toot noise or the diesel hum from the train that is disturbing, its the shaking of the bed as the 6.30 am freight train rattles past. The sound proofing must be very good, shame about the tremor!

To our way of thinking the restaurant offered fine fare if you were dining for a special occassion. For us travellers we found something simpler and more relaxed from the bar menu for dinner, which was fine.

This is nice enough hotel and probably in the summer it earns its stripes but in the pooring rain it felt tired and a bit underwelming.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle_6532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel has a great location on the shore of Lake Pend Oreille, Every room has a spectacular view of the lake with the mountains as a backdrop. The resort grounds are lushly landscaped. But beware the grass... ducks and geese dropping bombs are everywhere underfoot in the grass.

The rooms are very clean, roomy, very tastefully decorated but just slightly worn. All upper rooms have large balconies. A disappointment is the size of the toilet and bath cubicle, very tiny. VERY. Which is odd since the bedroom is roomy. The vanity area size is OK though. HD TV but no HD service, like so many hotels now. Why don't they just buy the extra service? Very nice, comfortable beds.

There is an attached very nice restaurant with an excellent menu. Bar too. And an indoor, heated, glass-walled pool that fronts right on the lake shore. Front desk staff are very well-trained, friendly and professional.

The major negative is the train tracks. Running parallel with the front of the resort, and only 75 yards away from it, are a set of 3 train tracks. Trains, without exaggeration, run on those tracks approximately every half hour, sometimes as close together as 15 minutes. Sandpoint seems to be a major area transport hub. The resort has greatly mitigated the train noise problem by building a second glass wall onto the front of the building. It works pretty good, unless you're a light sleeper.

The room rate was fantastically low for what the place is and provides. We were there in the early Spring shoulder-season so maybe that was the reason for the low rate. But Schweitzer ski area is close by and was still open (barely). I dunno. The trains?

Room Tip: Ask foir an upper floor room for a balcony and best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xplorers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Gorgeous views, comfortable rooms, great location in Sandpoint, Idaho. Also an excellent value in the off-season! When we arrived, noticing the (rather busy that day) train track was SO close, I was concerned about noise ... really never heard it inside the hotel.
Not exactly 'easy' to find, really need to be 'watching' for BW sign, indicating right-hand turn off one-way street through downtown Sandpoint ... leading across Sand Creek (I believe that is the name) to the "beach" ... nice area to relax and stroll around ... and the VIEW of the lake at sunrise ... stunning!
The service at the front desk could have been better. . . it ran hot and cold. When there, the attendants were attentive. However, when our husbands arrived (later than us) there were a few people that had apparently been waiting for someone to return to the front desk for some 20 mins. My husband waited over 10 minutes and then they left and went to the lounge to wait for us to find them ... they didn't have a key and we were out shopping. So the service at the front desk was not always "there" ... at least that was our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Clean and spacious room with an amazing view of the lake with the mountains as a backdrop. The bed is very comfortable, and the interior is up-to-date. The price is great for what you get, and the location is great as it is within walking distance to town. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel in the past, and it continues to please us. Even though we were staying on points redemption, everyone treated us like they were pleased to have us there. The room was clean and well presented and the view in the evening over the lake was fine, and the sunrise was fantastic. If you go the first time, you may wonder about the closeness of the railway, but the design of the hotel eliminates any noise. The restaurant in the hotel is also very fine, with great service, good food, and a great location right on the best view along the lake. Great value for the money, and we look forward to going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godavidgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Our stay here was great! Nothing like some of the negative reviews we read prior to booking. It started off with outstanding customer service from Becky at the front desk (very rare in this day and age!) both over the phone prior to our arrival, as well as during our stay. She was so helpful and friendly!!! The room (One King bed with lake view) was in great condition, up to date, clean and comfortable with an amazing lake view, recommend asking for that. Nice, big indoor hot tub and pool for some post skiing relaxing. We really like that this hotel was in walking distance to the train station as well as down town Sandpoint, (only about a 4 min walk) which is such a cute, welcoming town. We will definitely be returning! Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, the view is breath taking, even in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 6 in Sandpoint
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
La Quinta Inn Sandpoint
#2 of 6 in Sandpoint
331 reviews
7.4 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edgewater Resort

Address: 56 Bridge St, PO Box 128, Sandpoint, ID 83864-1443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sandpoint
Price Range: $112 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakefront Sandpoint, ID hotel is conveniently located near Schweitzer Ski Resort, Silverwood Theme Park and Coldwater Creek Street Bridge.The spacious and neat accommodations at this charming and elegant BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort offers cable satellite television, high-speed Internet access, room service, in-room movies and more. All guests of this Sandpoint, ID hotel can take in stunning views of the lake from their room, providing relaxing scenery and an invigorating way to greet the day.While staying at this Idaho Best Western, guests can also take advantage of the fitness center, on-site Trinity at City Beach Lounge, indoor pool and hot tub, free parking, conference services and meeting facilities with catering that accommodate up to 100 attendees. The guests of this BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort can fuel up for whatever their day holds at the on-site Trinity at City Beach restaurant, serving up delicious fare and breathtaking views of Lake Pend Oreille. Whatever you or your fellow travelers are in the mood for, there's a restaurant nearby to suit everyone's tastes, such as Ivano's Italian Restaurant, Jalapenos, 5th Avenue Restaurant and The Hydra.Located within walking distance of downtown Sandpoint, guests of the BEST WESTERN Edgewater Resort can also enjoy easy access to many of area's popular attractions. Delight in a day of adventure and fun by visiting Silverwood Theme Park, Schweitzer Mountain Resort, Coldwater Creek, Cedar Street Bridge, the Festival at Sandpoint Symphony and Lake Pend Oreille. Or, enjoy unwinding at the nearby Idaho Club Golf Course, Panida Theater or Sandpoint City Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edgewater Hotel Sandpoint
Sandpoint Best Western
Best Western Sandpoint
Best Western Edgewater Resort Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing