We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chocolate Bear in Sandpoint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpoint Chocolate Bear

Sandpoint Chocolate Bear
Ranked #3 of 5 Dessert in Sandpoint
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating
Description: chocolate / ice cream / cafe
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chocolate Bear in Sandpoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I love dark chocolate. But like many things, the quality of chocolate candy can vary widely. Their dark chocolate covered carmels with sea salt is the most fantastic I have ever tasted. There carmel with sea salt is fantastic and the dark chocolate (Grizzly) p-nut butter cup has homemade p-nut butter inside and is heavenly. My girl friend does not eat many sweets; she ate several of the salted carmels and had several bites of MY Grizzly p-nut butter cup. If you want better than outstanding chocolates, this is the place. AND, they were very friendly and fun to talk with.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billbear56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MMMMmmmmmmm... chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Family made chocolate made with love and care. The dark chocolate is NOT chalky and bitter, the cayenne pepper chocolate was AWESOME! Love this place, I go there every week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chocolates & Caramels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My daughters bought my wife and I some of their chocolates and the salted caramels and they were fantastic. Definitely a premium handcrafted chocolate. They said the prices were reasonable, and the business is locally owned, which means a lot to me.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was the evening of my birthday and we were in town to ski Schweitzer. We were headed back to the Best Western Motel after enjoying a wine tasting at the local winery, downtown Sandpoint. We noticed that the chocolate store was still open and had entertainment and so headed on in. We were amazed by the variety of truffles that the owners made. All were beautifully designed and I treated myself to a box of truffles for my birthday. They were decadent, and not stale. The owners were very proud of their chocolates. We talked about a friend in Portland, OR who owns Sweets, etc. chocolate shop and is a credentialed chocolatier. While the owners aren't certified for chocolate, their truffles were still heavenly! This is a gem for Sandpoint!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pancakeprincess1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ice Cream; Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Visited the Chocolate Bear twice on a recent trip to Sandpoint - loved it both times! The chocolate ice cream may be the best I've ever had, and the root beer float was made with premium root beer. Prices are very reasonable, too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpoint Chocolate Bear also viewed

 

Been to Sandpoint Chocolate Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing