We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good lunch”
Review of The Pie Hut

The Pie Hut
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Sandpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really good lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very friendly, fast service. Delicious chicken pot pie, delicious soups and sandwiches. Crem Brulee pie pretty good. The rhubarb pie was a disappointment. Much too much jelly, not enough rhubarb.

We'd go back, though, maybe not for the pie.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AboveEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    37
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonners Ferry, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pie Hut in Sandpoint”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Pie Hut is one of those 'hole in the wall' places whose facade looks unremarkable- in fact I have driven past this little jewel a hundred times without really noticing it.

I took my husband and son after my first visit. My husband is a pastrami sandwich expert and was happy to find out that he could order his hot pastrami, with sauerkraut on a hoagie roll instead of the traditional rye. He was a little disappointed that his clam chowder was warm instead of hot. Perhaps the soup should be served first, while the sandwich is being prepared.

My son had a slice of sour cream lime pie and my husband ordered a slice of dutch apple pie (warmed up) with a huge dollop of ice cream on the side (it had to be about one and half to two regular scoops). I knew better than to order pie for myself. I watched my two men devour their meals, knowing what would happen as they dug into their delicious pies- the look of delight in their eyes as they savored the wonderful flavors, and then the look of fullness, before they could finish. Don't worry! I was able to take care of their problem. Sour cream lime and dutch apple pie with ice cream- really do go well together, if I do say so myself. :)

One important tidbit, though. The Pie Hut doesn't take debit cards or credit cards, so take cash with you and enjoy
.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“You must eat pies from here”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We sampled three types of pies from here over the duration of our stay! The pastry is light, fluffy and elegantly made! A true homemade taste by a pie master! YUM!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 624BrendaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

One of Sandpoint's gems, very small dining area, but the friendliest staff and excellent food! The pie selection is the best in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coleman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

GREAT PIE! The sandwiches, soup and pie are ALL excellent! 502 Church Street, Sandpoint Idaho 83864, Chicken pot pies, quiches! Super fresh ingredients!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pkendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Hut also viewed

 

Been to The Pie Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing