We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful lake views and awesome skiing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schweitzer Mountain

Schweitzer Mountain
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Sandpoint
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain and ski area located in northern Idaho.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake views and awesome skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Schweitzer is an undiscovered outdoor sports paradise. In the winter the skiing is fantastic with runs that will challenge all skier levels and no lift lines. In the summer there is hiking, climbing, paragliding,mountain biking, a great fishing. Schweitzer is very family friendly. The town looks like a small Swiss village with the most amazing lake views.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tank6841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    66
    12
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Schweitzer Mt. The Best Ski Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Never heard of Schewitzer, when a friend told me about it I thought, on paper it does not look to big. It is deceiving. I could not believe all the terrain, and it was not a very easy mountain. It had plenty of difficult trails, lots of powder and groomers. All employees seem to like working there. Don't know how they do it. The condo we stayed at was so updated, we thought it might be new. Not a lot of night life, We are there to ski. In the village shopping, hotels, and restaurants. Restaurants are from casual to fancy. We felt everything was at a reasonable rate. I needed to get ski goggles, we got them on the mountain for the same price as around here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresachampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
194 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great ski area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We liked the variety of runs and great grooming. It is a huge place but still managed to be friendly and give the mom and pop feel. Unlike some large ski areas. We would definitely ski there again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty all year long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I love Schweitzer Mountain! There is something to do in every season. I rated the value so low because the lift tickets and innertube run are very spendy. Night skiing is the best deal, but you don't get all the lifts. The resort just celebrated 50 years and had a huge firework show. There are plenty of lodging choices and numerous restaurants, I can not review the restaurants because every time we try and eat there, they are very over crowded. This is a very popular resort and gets very busy. All in all I say it's worth your time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
650 reviews
324 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
“Beautiful - as are many other mountains.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

In context of mountain views, this could be considered typical. Beautiful, but some folks get blurry-eyed when presented with lots of mountain scenery. (For such folks - taking doses in moderation can help..)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EarthlingOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schweitzer Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Schweitzer Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing