We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior mother/daughter get-a-way”
Review of Talus Rock Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talus Rock Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Wa
1 review
“Superior mother/daughter get-a-way”
Reviewed February 4, 2010

After our short drive from Spokane, my daughter and I arrived at the beautiful Talus Rock Retreat. Our hosts greeted us as if we were family and gave us a tour before settling us in the Giant Suite! This spectacular 3200 sq. ft. suite enduces immediate relaxation. Stunning views out every window. Just loved the trees, pond and serenity for the soul. My daughter enjoyed the movie theatre and the quiet time away from the hub-bub of school and regular family interactions. Sandpoint eateries and wonderful shopping is just minuetes away. If you love beautiful environments both interior and outdoors, then you may enjoy this choice very much. Be advised, one visit will lead for the wish to return with the change of every season!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laren77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    13
    0
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
207
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed three nights at Heather and Bruce's wonderful home. The decor and furnishings were impeccable, but the real treat was their kindness and hospitality. What a great experience we have promised to reapeat. Perfect for our little skiing vacation at Schweitzer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2thdr_inwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Our week at Talus Rock was perfect. A most beautiful property, home and hosts. So comfortable, our every need taken care of, some of the best rest and sunrises ever experienced!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My wife and I plus our 3 young boys stayed in the lower retreat of this amazing vintage log mansion with all the high tech amenities. Every room was not only clean but the attention to detail was amazing. This retreat is nestled in the woods of Sandpoint, ID but not far from all the attractions (SKI, HUNTING, RESATURATES AND SHOPPING). You can't go wrong staying here either with the Family or just you and your wife. The best kept secret in Idaho.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majiman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

As the former Assistant Editor of Unique Homes magazine, I've toured many different types of unique luxury accommodations in various locales including Mexico, NYC, Oregon and Idaho. Talus Rock is the epitome of unique. It offers an experience that cannot be replicated anywhere else in the world, from the welcoming, put-you-at-your-ease-at-once embrace of owner Heather Pedersen, to the Tuscan villa's architectural details you will remember for a lifetime (such as the owl painted on the master suite's tree shower). As a lifelong East Coaster with very few experiences with "true nature," the property's wooded hilltop location, overlooking northwest Idaho's truly majestic mountains, provided a perfect escape from my daily hustle and bustle. I visited Sandpoint to tour a few second-home developments in the area, yet Talus Rock was the true highlight of my trip. Perfect for leisure or business, families or couples, or even singles looking for a refreshed outlook on life.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCginger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Talus Rock Retreat was the perfect choice for our honeymoon! The rooms are huge and spacious but warm and cozy at the same time. You could bring the whole family to have a great time together and you would all fit in one room or enjoy it all to yourself. The view out the huge windows is exquisite and there are great places to go on a beautiful, tranquil walk right outside the door. The owners and staff are so kind, friendly and hospitable. They leave you to enjoy it all on your own while always making available any help, supplies or suggestions you would need. We would love to go back in the summer so that we can enjoy their pond and the new swimming pool they're building! And I can't forget to thank the grounds mascot, Tinkerbell the goat , for making us feel welcome! Thank you so much it was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missoulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjctn@verizon.net
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2009

I was searching for a special place to completely relax and renew that sense of joy
that can only be appreciated and internalized when you feel as if you've become one
with nature. Talus Rock adds a circular dimension to that formula. I felt as if I left
all the troubles of the world outside the doorway and was immediately surrounded
with positive energy, gentle kindness and a true sense of belonging - " A spiritual
welcoming "...The Pedersen's diversified energy levels kept the visit captivating and
uplifting - Heather's bubbly, radiant personality matched with her Husband's soft spoken
inquisitive nature - you could feel his mental clock ticking with new ideas and ventures..
.....and the children's warm and welcoming nature - a definate compliment to their
parents......all contributed to a colorful, Peaceful experience that I would definately
repeat many time over...A renewal of Faith experience !

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
2.1 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
3.0 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
3.6 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 6 in Sandpoint
81 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
7.0 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talus Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Rock Retreat

Property: Talus Rock Retreat
Address: 291 Syringa Hts, Sandpoint, ID 83864-7318
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talus Rock Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the privacy and peacefulness of Talus Rock Retreat for your special getaway. A private, chic, and eclectically elegant timber frame and Tuscan-style retreat, this exceptional property caters to those who appreciate nature combined with old world charm. With 6 individual suites available, the cozy provisions can be enjoyed by a couple for a weekend getaway, a romantic honeymoon, a pristine mountain vacation, or a simple get-away to enjoy rejuvenation and inspiration. Or, take the tranquil villa in its entirety to accommodate an intimate extended family reunion of up to 24 people, a spectacular rehearsal dinner, an indoor catered holiday gathering, or a corporate or other non-traditional, informal group affair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Talus Rock Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talus Rock Retreat Hotel Sandpoint
Talus Rock Retreat Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing