We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Magnificent”
Review of Talus Rock Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talus Rock Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2009

When we arrived at the Talus Rock we were absoloutely thrilled - we were expecting something really good, but this was so much better than we could have hoped for. The place was spotless, spacious and really had the WOW factor. Everything you needed was to hand. I enjoyed just wandering around, looking at everything - very different to accommodation in the UK - much more imagination and style.

In all my travels I have never stayed in such a super place - we live in England, and when we return to the USA Talus Rock is somehere I will most definately return to.

If you book this accommodation you will not be disappointed! The host family were very welcoming and if you needed anything all you had to do was ask.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggyporkpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 334 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2009

Talus Rock Retreat is just that, a retreat. It is a beartiful, peaceful place to get away. The owners are accomodating, and a delight to be around, they honor your space and go out of their way to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mifflin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

My wife and I were recently blessed with the opportunity to stay at Talus Rock for 2 days and are already planning our next vacation there. Our hosts were wonderful and their attention to detail was outstanding. Their family was a joy to meet and they went out of their way to allow us to have the seclusion that we desired to make our trip a memorable one. I would highly recommend Talus Rock to anyone who is looking for a unique retreat center that they will never forget! Major Brad Gallup USMC, USAF (Ret.)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marine7579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I can't say enough about how unique and wonderful this place is. Not only is the home beautiful - architecture, decorating, quality, unique - but the grounds are equally beautiful and serene as well. My husband, 2-year old daughter and dog spent a week here and we had a wonderful time. We had a busy week planned playing in the surrounding areas, but we ended up spending quite a bit of time and the home itself because it was so relaxing and fun. We fished in the pond, had wonderful meals out on the porch, watched movies in the theater room, and just enjoyed walking around the property. The hosts are wonderful people that greatly added to our enjoyment - putting us at ease and making recommendations for food and activities. We felt that the hosts were available when we needed them, but unobtrusive so that we felt we had a private retreat to ourselves. The location is fantastic - it REALLY is a mile from downtown, so you have very easy access to the town and restaurants. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0untainmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The Matsiko Children's Choir has stayed at many beautiful places throughout the USA. We have had the great blessing to stay at the homes of Governors, Celebrities and top business owners. That said, our stay for 9 nights at Talus Rock Retreat, in August, was our most memorable and enjoyable stay ever!!!
The views above the city of Sandpoint provide the best in the area to observe the breath taking mountains, wild life of the inviting town below. As for the retreat itself, you will never want to leave. There is everything you will ever need and more.
There is no body better than the owners, Bruce and Heather Pedersen, to talk with and there is no place better to stay, relax and recharge than the gorgeous Talus Rock Retreat where no expense was spared in its structure and landscape. If you should ever have the chance to possibly stay at the Talus Rock Retreat or even look at its beauty, that has been featured in magazines and on TV, then do so. You will be thankful for the experience.
Don Windham
President
International Children's Network / Matsiko Children's Choir

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matsiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

The talus rock is a wonderful experience with a truely unique artistic created home, it really helped us relax. My husband was sick during our stay and the hostess was so gracious with us. we would go there over and over finances willing. a wonderful place would love to see it in the summer . If you can go -GO!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank godizluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

For our honeymoon, my husband and I stayed at Talus Rock for almost two weeks. From the moment we got there, the staff were more than accommodating! Our room had everything we could have ever needed and the decor was elegant and unique. Each morning we had breakfast on the patio overlooking a landscape of untouched wildlife! There was so much to do both at Talus Rock and nearby in Sandpoint, Idaho. Often, my husband and I played around at Talus Rock, fishing in their pond, having a bonfire outside, riding bikes, and watching movies on their big screen. We will definitely be back! Heather and the family and staff maintained a perfect balance of giving us our space, yet checking in on us for any needs we may have. You won't regret staying here. I can say that without hesitation!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
2.1 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
2.9 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 6 in Sandpoint
89 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
7.1 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talus Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Rock Retreat

Address: 291 Syringa Hts, Sandpoint, ID 83864-7318
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range: $123 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talus Rock Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the privacy and peacefulness of Talus Rock Retreat for your special getaway. A private, chic, and eclectically elegant timber frame and Tuscan-style retreat, this exceptional property caters to those who appreciate nature combined with old world charm. With 6 individual suites available, the cozy provisions can be enjoyed by a couple for a weekend getaway, a romantic honeymoon, a pristine mountain vacation, or a simple get-away to enjoy rejuvenation and inspiration. Or, take the tranquil villa in its entirety to accommodate an intimate extended family reunion of up to 24 people, a spectacular rehearsal dinner, an indoor catered holiday gathering, or a corporate or other non-traditional, informal group affair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Talus Rock Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talus Rock Retreat Hotel Sandpoint
Talus Rock Retreat Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing