We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat in Sandpoint!”
Review of Talus Rock Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talus Rock Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in Sandpoint!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This summer, my mom & I decided to take a girls road trip. Fortunately for us, we found Talus Rock to stay in while in Sandpoint and absolutely loved it! Heather (the owner) is such a kind & generous host who really has service and the comfort of her guests in mind. We fell in love with the home, the landscaping, the serenity and the ambiance.
While Talus Rock is a definite must for couples, let me be a voice for it being the perfect place for a Mother/Daughter retreat, too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gage b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    13
    0
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
207
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had booked the Talus Retreat for 3 nights originally, but we only stayed for 1. There are no locks on the doors. You are paying top dollar for a place that is someone's home. We were just not comfortable and did not feel like we had privacy. The towels and sheets are random colors and not the quality you would expect for the price. The breakfast was yogurt, dipped out of a quart container (is this allowed?) and coffee. The home is very beautiful and Heather seemed very sweet, but I question the fact that checks are made to International Children's Network.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpedersen, Owner at Talus Rock Retreat, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Jean:

We’re so sorry we did not meet your expectations of your stay and that you felt you had no privacy in your room or in the Retreat. Shortly after check-in, when you mentioned that you were “surprised” that this was our home, I immediately realized that you were disappointed and that, in booking, perhaps you did not realize that Talus Rock Retreat is a bed and breakfast (which, by norm, is lodging in someone’s home). B&Bs are not for everyone, but those who seek out a bed and breakfast understand that the dynamics are more casual than that of a hotel. As executive travelers ourselves who appreciate clean and professional lodging, but also thoroughly enjoy the casualness of youth hostels, we, as proprietors, continue to do our absolute best to morph the professionalism of a hotel with the casual luxury of a bed and breakfast. All rooms are private with adequate window coverings, door draft guards, and locked doors from the inside, and the common areas (such as the decks, main kitchen, and the Great Room) are places where guests converse, visit with each other, or simply read a book. Guests who seek privacy, retreat to their room. You are correct about the towels and sheets being different colors; while white seems to be a standard mark of a high end hotel, we chose a more unique and eclectic approach with varied colored linens and bedding which is a matter of taste and our particular style.

Please let me address our breakfast: While we are a retreat, I confess, I am not such a good cook and often refer to Talus Rock Retreat as a “Big B, little b” to help better set expectations about breakfasts here. We have such wonderful downtown restaurant options (as well as a “hot breakfast upgrade” that we bring in from a local restaurant) and rather than compete, we provide a simple, quality, nutritious and wholesome offering - albeit not the hot-and-frilly-seated-on-time-with-linens experience. While 3 of our 6 rooms have individual refrigerators that we stock with individual containers (new and sealed), our group breakfast is served continental style in the Great Room (similar to a buffet style offering): yogurt, granola, cereal, English muffins, breads, bagels, juice, coffee, and tea are all part of a semi self-serve breakfast. In addition to offering individual yogurts to all guests, we do provide the family-size containers of yogurt that you mentioned. These bulk containers are used to feed those guests who don’t have kitchens in their rooms and who desire individual-specific self-serving quantities. Even guests who have rooms with personal refrigerators and kitchens sometimes like to experience a ‘community’ breakfast in a group setting, and the large containers of yogurt are spooned out by guests using a designated serving spoon into their individual bowls. Individuals do not eat directly from these containers, as we wholeheartedly agree with you: this would be an unsanitary and unappealing practice.

And finally, please let me help you better understand our relationship with International Children’s Network (ICN), a 501-c3 mission (www.icnchildren.net) that we support and with whom I am personally involved. On occasion, stays at Talus Rock Retreat allow some individuals/couples/gatherings an opportunity to make their visit a tax-deductible contribution to ICN. As ICN’s Director of the Asia, my family and I travel to impoverished third world countries up to twice a year as need and funding permits. Contributions, such as your short stay, help offset our travel expenses and allow us to conduct mission work to orphaned and at-risk children in India and the Philippines. If you need the Federal Tax ID for ICN for your tax deduction, it is as follows: International Children's Network Tax ID 20-1738995

Again, we are truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here at Talus Rock. In an effort to make things better and perhaps change your mind, we would sincerely welcome you and your husband back for a complimentary stay on us should you wish to give us another try.

Please call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
725 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the most beautiful house I have ever been in. It is truly an amazing place to stay. The house and grounds are beautiful, the rooms nice and comfortable and the family is lovely.

The house is on 9 acres of forest and it is just a mile from town. The house is 18,000 sq feet and the most amazing architecture I have every seen.

Heather and her family are the most friendly and warm people I have ever stayed with. They make you feel part of the family.

I can't wait to come back and stay here longer. Two days is not enough. Sandpoint and the surrounding area is beautiful in the summer time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Selkirk room and it was very nice over looking the courtyard. The house is so beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig-World-Travelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family of five stayed, all too briefly, in the Syringa Suite for two nights. What a treat to have the opportunity to enjoy in a funky little "home of our own" in the midst of such an architectural gem. The suite had a full kitchen which makes it completely possible to cook every meal should one wish to. I don't know where to begin to describe how perfect a fit this place is on so many levels.

Hosts: Heather Pedersen is a dynamic, energetic, genuine and fun woman who seems to have an innate need to fit people with their every whim. We weren't able to meet her husband, Bruce who was off bettering the veterinary world a distance away. We were welcomed by the charming and helpful home assistant, Rebecca, whom my 13 year old daughter and I think is incredibly cool. Heather's daughter, Rio, was warm and helpful.

Space: The photos say it all. I loved the space so much that I was one of the many that requested a booklet of details of the house as a souvenir. It seems that every nook and cranny has an interesting story.
Some highlights: My children and husband had fun playing in the boats on the pond and we enjoyed watching the B &B dog, Panda herd the bossy guinea hen herding the other chickens.
Heather's brother in law came by one evening to treated us to fabulous fireside guitar playing and singing. He was joined by another guest who picked up a house guitar. Our family picked what seemed like two quarts of raspberries from the bushes above the pond. The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub.We enjoyed sharing our wine on the deck, in the hammock, strolling the grounds...
Talus Rock Retreat is a blessed place. I recommend it to anyone treating themselves to a peaceful, yet playful haven.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own strengths and beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deryl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Gorgeous and unique property with all the amenities...great location (only a few minutes from town), beautiful and private setting, amazing attention to detail thru out this custom Tuscan style lodge. We stayed for 2 blissful nights. And, hostess, Heather...the greatest! Thank you for everything! Dede & Rodney

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Talus one night in the Arbor room. The room is gorgeous - especially the ceiling and the tub/tree shower. Heather was kind enough to arrange for massage therapists to come to the room and provide their services to us there and we were also able to purchase a bottle of wine that was ready for us in the room. There is a little pond out back where we were able to paddle board which was fun. The pool and hot tub outside did not appear to be working but we had our our private tub in the room so it wasn't an issue for us. Breakfast included yogurt and some raspberries. The reason I rated Talus at a 4 was because I was extremely weirded out and turned off with the closets that were in the Arbor room. There were no doors on them - just a piece of fabric draping from them and someone's clothing and belongings were in them - some items were visibly hanging out on the floor from under the piece of draped fabric. It was like we were just sleeping in someone's room with all of their personal belongings open to whoever walked through the room let alone stayed in it. This made us a but uncomfortable. Other than that it really is a unique and beautiful place to stay and we enjoyed our night there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Been to many B&Bs over the years, and this one has to be one of the very best. The owners and staff truly make you feel like family while giving you all the space you need to find your level of comfort. They are the absolute best at reading their guests' requirements and expectations and effortlessly providing them. Want to chat? Never a problem. Need help? Ditto. Want to blend into the background? Easily done, and most important, readily accepted.

Potential visitors should note that the breakfast part is simple and basic as can be, and daily room service will only be provided if requested. If you are the types wanting creative meals or automatic turn-down service, Talus Rock may not be for you. For those of us who do not want our mornings prescribed and who want privacy, it was most appealing, and though there is an occasional train passing through (within a mile), we found it added to the charming feel and was not at all intrusive. Everyone is attentive without being uncomfortably so; that alone is worth the cost. Add beautiful scenery, an adorable and friendly resident mutt, and enough to do in the area to make this way station a welcome home-away-from-home, and you'll be hard-pressed to find a better way to while away the days. You'll not only miss the area when it's over, but you'll miss the people you've met as well. Can't imagine a better experience or more friendly folks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetersonSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
2.1 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
3.0 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
3.6 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 6 in Sandpoint
81 reviews
7.0 mi away
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talus Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Rock Retreat

Property: Talus Rock Retreat
Address: 291 Syringa Hts, Sandpoint, ID 83864-7318
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talus Rock Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the privacy and peacefulness of Talus Rock Retreat for your special getaway. A private, chic, and eclectically elegant timber frame and Tuscan-style retreat, this exceptional property caters to those who appreciate nature combined with old world charm. With 6 individual suites available, the cozy provisions can be enjoyed by a couple for a weekend getaway, a romantic honeymoon, a pristine mountain vacation, or a simple get-away to enjoy rejuvenation and inspiration. Or, take the tranquil villa in its entirety to accommodate an intimate extended family reunion of up to 24 people, a spectacular rehearsal dinner, an indoor catered holiday gathering, or a corporate or other non-traditional, informal group affair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Talus Rock Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talus Rock Retreat Hotel Sandpoint
Talus Rock Retreat Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing