We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin in Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Western Pleasure Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 7 Sandpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Dog friendly, quiet, super nice cabins on a huge ranch. This is known for week long ranch stays with all the horses and fixings ... We just stayed 2 nights in the Hunters cabin and a truly magical place. For the price of a decent hotel room, get away from it all and live a little. The owner, the granddaughter of the original owner knows her craft and hospitality.
The place is delicious :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alcandriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

I did not stand at the ranch, however went with family members for a 2 hour tail ride. Barb & Kim ensured we were feeling confident with sitting in the saddle & in control of our horses, before heading out.
A beautiful fall day, breathtaking scenery. I would return again on my next trip to Sandpoint.

3  Thank JaneFrances83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were actually there a couple years ago, but since I did not see any other reviewers talk about it...In the winter they have wonderful horse drawn sleigh rides. We had grandchildren visiting and thought this might be a fun afternoon! Even though we live in the area the views are stunning! And after the sleigh ride we enjoyed hot chocolate and popcorn. The lodge is beautiful and we got some great family pictures around their gorgeous, big Christmas tree! If you're in the area for skiing this is a great side trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 days in Idaho, at the Western Pleasure Ranch near Sandpoint. The ranch is a wonderful place for a number of reasons. We were looking for a ranch vacation to celebrate our anniversary. Some of my criteria was scenic, quiet, comfort, horseback riding and wildlife. Western Pleasure has it all and then some. A great staff, generous meals everyday, friendly owners, well trained horses and an amazing ranch. Guests have a choice of log cabins or rooms in the main lodge. We choose to book during the Horsemanship week in early September. Guests are provided a experienced trainer, Vikki and several wranglers. All of which are well seasoned riders. They review each rider and level of experience. Then adjust the instruction for each rider. Meals included outdoor BBQ's around a fire, Dutch oven meals with other guests, wranglers and owners. All prepped by their chef. We could not have had a better time. Our cabin was the Meadowview. Tall ceilings, all log construction, like new and a view of the pasture. At night, there is silence or an occasional moo from cattle. I could not have had a better vacation. Thank you WP ranch!

Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My BF and I are visiting the area and staying with a friend of his in nearby Sandpoint. I try to go riding any place I visit and today was a good day for it. Our guide/wrangler was Brad and he did an excellent job matching us with our horses. I was on Red and my BF rode Blue. After a brief safety and riding 101 lecture we were instructed to ride our horses around a nearby arena to get to know them. This is the first place I've ridden that had me do this and I have to say it probably made an already great ride fantastic. Red was slow to start and seemingly unmotivated but after a few laps around the arena, turning on the forehand, some three-tracking and flexing he was extremely responsive on the trail.

We took a two hour ride with another person and Brad. The scenery was breathtaking! We rode through dense forest and mountain meadows. The air smelled of pine, fresh cut hay and horse. It was 75 degrees, overcast and mildly breezy but absolutely perfect! The horses were all well mannered, healthy-looking and clean - obviously well cared for. Brad was an excellent guide and very informative on the history of the ranch.

The price was more than reasonable and the guest house was absolutely beautiful. I would come back for another visit without a second thought. I would love to actually stay here if it wouldn't offend our friends we're currently visiting and staying with : )

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenniferSellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wonderful ranch in the woods. Cabins to stay in, horse back riding. A large lodge for family gathering. And the grounds are full of flowers, and lawns, and trees. So peaceful, and a wonderful staff. The winter sleigh rides are fun too!

1  Thank hairlightsliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to stay overnight at the Western Pleasure Guest Ranch near Sandpoint, ID and were struck by the beauty of the place and the comfortable, western themed accomodations. Although we stayed in the large, beautiful main lodge, upstairs, they do have about 5 cabins on the property that we would like to try next time. Our stay did not include dinner, but it did include a hot breakfast, which was tasty and plentiful. Since it is located rather remotely from town, we decided to stop and bring some picnic stuff, such as cheeses, breads, crackers, fruit, cookies and of course wine!! to have for our dinner, rather than drive back into town. WE sat out on the front porch and enjoyed the views while we snacked. The owner provided us with wine glasses and plates etc. for our picnic, so that made it easy.
They have about 40 horses available for trail rides, which we did not partake in this time. We are both horse people, but the price of $55 per person to ride was a little more than we wanted to spend at that time, but perhaps next time we will, as there is some beautiful country to ride through in that area. In the lodge there is a rec room downstairs, which had a pool table, so we played several games of pool, and there was a large screen TV with movies you could watch, and upstairs was a checkers table set up, so we enjoyed several games of checkers too. All in all, we would definately recommend this ranch for a nice, different get away, some peace and quiet and to get closer to nature, which is always good for the soul!

Room Tip: The rooms did not have any king sized beds, just queen, but don't know about the cabins, as we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chazzbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandpoint
12.3 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
14.2 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
14.3 mi away
Sleeps Cabins
Sleeps Cabins
#1 of 3 in Sagle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
20.9 mi away
Clark Fork Lodge
Clark Fork Lodge
#1 of 1 in Clark Fork
33 reviews
14 mi away
Talus Rock Retreat
Talus Rock Retreat
#1 of 7 in Sandpoint
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Pleasure Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Pleasure Guest Ranch

Address: 1413 Upper Gold Creek Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864-4930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Sandpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandpoint
Price Range: $134 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Pleasure Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the trail less traveled lead you to the Western Pleasure Guest Ranch where you can choose from a variety of lodging options. Accommodations are offered in the 10,000 square foot main lodge, hewn from local timber and offering six spacious guest rooms, each with private bath. If it is your own private log cabin in the woods you are looking for, well, we have three to choose from. Envision the quiet solitude of a modern rustic cabin to relax in after a day spent riding, skiing, hiking, snowmobiling or enjoying the stunning scenery of North Idaho! These cabins can accommodate up to six, yet are cozy enough for two, with a queen bed in the main bedroom, a loft sleeping area with a queen and two twins, furnished kitchen, and classic wood stove heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Western Pleasure Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Pleasure Guest Ranch Sandpoint, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing