We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - great charm and comfort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salmon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Salmon B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - great charm and comfort”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Greyhouse Inn was the only B & B we stayed in on our entire cross-country motorcycle honeymoon. We could not have been happier. Our beautiful room felt private and luxurious. It was clean, equipped with any modern convenience you could need (including internet), was decorated perfectly for the over 100-year-old home with old souvenirs, vintage wallpaper, carpeting, and quilts. The owner, Sharon Osgood, struck the perfect balance of being involved with her guests, and leaving them on their own and giving them privacy. She served the most delicious home-made breakfast, times to whenever you needed to be back on the road. The location could not be more beautiful, 10 miles out of the great town of Salmon, and on the magnificent winding river on Route 93. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: rooms in house as well as fantastic cabins on grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We've been staying at the Greyhouse for many years. Our host, Sharon, has always done so much to make our stay an excellent one. She loaned us toys for our son and bought cereal, especially for him, after learning he wasn't a "breakfast" food eater. The cabins are always clean and seem to have every little amenity a person might need. Sharon's breakfasts are delicious and she even has her own chickens now for fresh eggs! The Greyhouse is about ten miles out of Salmon and is in a quiet, beautiful area. All the lilac bushes are beautiful in early June. Sharon is very knowledgeable about the area - she knows the best fishing spots and which ghosts towns to visit. We are always greeted like members of the family and we love our visits to The Greyhouse Bed and Breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Minidriver64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and hope you had a wonderful vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We found a home away from home for 6 nights - our single cabin had a small kitchen - and enjoyed not only home cooked meals and a comfortable place to sleep, but also some incredible scenery from the cabin and from our hikes. The peace and quiet gave us more of a getaway than we had initially planned. Pure serenity.
Thank you Sharon and David for sharing your little piece of heaven.
We hope to get back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very nice location, about 10 miles south of Salmon, right on Hwy 93. Quiet and peaceful. We stayed in the main house, which was built in 1894, and which they have furnished in Victorian styled furniture. Ours was the last room available, and the bath was across the hall, but it was our private bath, and that was not a problem. Home-cooked breakfast of eggs and blueberry pancakes topped off the stay. Sharon is very friendly and down to earth, and we enjoyed her company.

The beds were authentic wrought iron beds, but they are full-sized, and after years of queen and king-sized beds, they seemed a bit small. We had a window fan and ceiling fan, but no A/C. We were quite comfortable, though.

Room Tip: I would ask for one of the rooms that have a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eet2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for being so gracious, we've added some old things to look at see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Greyhouse is a nice, comfortable, country bed and breakfast. Don't expect fancy or frills, but do expect a wonderful working family tending their chickens, horses and grounds while you relax and take in some local scenery. You may even feel the need to take home some farm fresh eggs and fresh preserves. The accomodations are comfy, with porches and rocking chairs and remember your binoculars because you'll see wildlife even if you never leave the yard. We took in a hike to Warm Springs (a.k.a. Gold Bug) hotsprings just down the road and it was well worth the uphill climb. Salmon has a nice Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings and plenty of acceptable dining establishments. And most definatley float the river if you can while you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you, next time try rafting with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I with our 18 year old daughter stayed for 2 nights. It was a very nice stay. We stayed in one of the cabins & we were very comfortable, although the porch was our favorite place to hang out! Sharon is a wonderful hostess, she is very wholesome and her Inn reflects this. And the breakfasts were wonderful, eggs right from the hen house!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyPosey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Greyhouse Inn was excellent in every respect, quiet and very beautiful both inside and out. Sharon and Dave, the wonderful hosts for our stay, were great. Breakfast was very tasty - don't pass it up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpine147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyhouse_Inn, Owner at Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salmon hotels
11.4 mi away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 4 in Salmon
438 reviews
11.4 mi away
Super 8 Salmon
Super 8 Salmon
#3 of 4 in Salmon
262 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sacajawea Inn
Sacajawea Inn
#2 of 4 in Salmon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Salmon River Lodge Resort
Show Prices

Been to Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Greyhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1115 Highway 93 S, Salmon, ID 83467-5351
Location: United States > Idaho > Salmon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salmon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful grounds to walk and set around in the shade. Friendly cats, large deck with tables and chairs. Fruit trees with fresh fruit for breakfast. Fun large cabins and large rooms in the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greyhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast Salmon, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing