We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and clean.”
Review of Sacajawea Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sacajawea Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salmon
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder Junction, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and clean.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night, but the room and especially the bed was very comfy. The $3 made to order breakfast is a real deal and the owner is extremely friendly and hospitable. Would strongly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    66
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
98
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackfoot, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to Salmon, ID for some training at the fantastic Sacajawea Center (a must see) and stayed with my family (7 of us) at the Sacajawea Inn. Barbara and Walter were excellent hosts and kept an eye on all our needs. The motel is located just across the street from Kids Creek Pond, stocked with stealhead and other fish. With chances to bike, ATV, fish, and walk the town right from the Sacajawea Inn made for a great business/family vacation, Since there was a continental breakfast of coffee, milk, juice, cereal and an optional $3.00 generous egg, meat, toast, and potatoes breakfast, my kids actually got to eat. I almost forgot the fire pit; its already stocked with wood and marshmallows. It really was a down home Idaho experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weavjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at Walter and Barbara's clean, dog friendly motel in Salmon ID. I liked the pictures I found on a travel website that showed lots of places to exercise my dog like the pond across the street (huge steelhead in it). When I arrived, I noticed first that the grounds were very clean and tidy. The room I stayed in was clean and appointed with everything a traveler could want. There was a hidden TV, microwave, mini fridge, phone, table and 2 chairs, nice hard surface floors that were surprisingly warm. Baseboard heater was more than adequate to heat the room up and keep it toasty. Enjoyed talking with the owners and their children. The breakfast Walter makes in the morning at the cafe is absolutely delicious and more than enuf to fill you up. They are very accommodating to their guests needs. Thanks for a great stay in a beautiful little Idaho town. The walk on the Salmon river is amazing! Great place to take your dog. There is even a large off-leash dog park on one end of the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stay there because of the reviews and the price of the room and the $3 breakfast. We had the scenic room. We would stay there again. Barbara and Walter were very friendly. The room was so clean. The breakfast was great. During breakfast we were able to visit with the other guest. I would recommend this hotel.We left a bag and Barbara called us on our cell phone and we were able to go back and retrieve it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for a few nights while in Salmon to go mtn biking. The owners are great and live on site and so are around making sure your stay is great as well as getting to know guests. While not officially a bed and breakfast, Walter cooks up eggs and toast each morning for only $3. We enjoyed hanging around the firepit one night while our 19 month old slept in the room only a few yards away. The accommodations themselves are older, but besides a leaky faucet, which will now be fixed once alerted, every thing in the room was fine. Beds, linens and pillows were all comfortable. Great experience for a budget motel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdowning12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

first time visiting salmon. From the time we booked the room we could tell that the staff was very friendly. The hotel is quaint the rooms are older but very clean. The staff is extremely friendly. you can't beat the price the hotel is pet friendly which I appreciate it very much I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quain't, cozy weekend accommodation

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Sacajawea was a great small town motel. Barbara and Walter were very nice and the breakfast was great(Walter even poached my eggs). The room was comfortable and the price was right. The steelhead fishing was good, and Barbara even put my fish in the freezer until I left.
I would defintely hit the sack at the Sac, the next time I'm in Salmon.

Sincerely
Greg

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmon
0.7 mi away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 4 in Salmon
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Salmon
Super 8 Salmon
#3 of 4 in Salmon
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Salmon River Lodge Resort
Show Prices

Been to Sacajawea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacajawea Inn

Property: Sacajawea Inn
Address: 705 S Challis St, Highway 93, Salmon, ID 83467-4736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Salmon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salmon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sacajawea Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacajawea Inn. Visit as strangers Leave as friends. Our Inn offers a clean & cozy setting. Every room comes with Wi-Fi, refrigerator & microwave free of charge. Charming, clean hardwood floors in every room. All of our rooms are non-smoking. We are pet friendly & look forward to meeting your 4 legged family member. There is plenty of space for Fido to stretch his legs. We offer a wide array of amenities such as a breakfast area, full RV hookups with cable, tent space, showers for the RV & camping folks. We have guest laundry facilities, a fire pit & large vehicle parking. We serve a hot cooked to order breakfast every morning 7am to 9am for only $3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sacajawea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacajawea Inn Salmon, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing