We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't expect top notch sushi in Sandpoint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoga Sushi Bar

Shoga Sushi Bar
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Sagle
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Can't expect top notch sushi in Sandpoint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Lets start by leveling expectations...we were trained in Southern Cal so we are sushi snobs. Great view of sunset. Cucumber salad very good. I liked selections of beers even if all were bottled. poke salad was very nice..fresh tuna and avocado. Rolls we got were not great. Rainbow roll had no rainbow to it....all a white fish...salmon roll was disappointing...had a strange smell and just didn't taste ultra fresh. Service was fine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Horribly slow service, good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We waited 45 minutes for lunch, other diners were complaining of similar or longer waits. Once the food finally arrived it was fine, nothing special, certainly not worth the wait.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vedado61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly service, lovely view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ours was a spur of the moment weekday visit. We initially planned on dining elsewhere, but changed our mind when we got to Sandpoint and realized that we both were craving sushi. It's kind of an out of the way little place, but once we found it, wow....the view from the deck is really lovely. There seemed to be a lot of wait staff for mid-week...three sushi chefs, a hostess, busser, two wait persons and a manger. All we very friendly and attentive, service was extremely fast. We shared four different specialty rolls including the California roll with real crab, the Snow Ghost and two others I won't even attempt spelling. All were very nicely prepared and presented. The rolls are on the small size but not terribly expensive. Our waitress recommend a sake that we really enjoyed. The atmosphere is really nice; we were probably a bit under dressed in jeans and t-shirts, something we felt a little bad about. We are looking forward to a return trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rspswrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“do't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great sushi, at really reasonable prices. Fresh, yummy, flavors to die for.
Great staff, they made you feel like a regular.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hairlightsliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Drinks and service were wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The drink menu was devine!! I highly recomend the Gin mojito. To DIE for!! yum. We sat at the bar and the Sushi Chef was fun and entertaining!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoga Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Shoga Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing