We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salmon Rapids Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This Best Western was just such a delight. One of the hightlights of our road trip. The staff was so helpful and warm. The view is beautiful of the Salmon River, the lodge feeling of the lobby was comfortable and even the continental breakfast was exceptional. This is a place to stay and longer than a day if possible. A warm welcome for a weary traveler. Words are not enough, go and stay there.

Bonnie Tollefson

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonitaGardenValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Wife and I stayed here for two nights while we did a day long rafting trip. In the past, I have tended to avoid Best Western properties due to their mediocre quality. NOT HERE. The property is well maintained and spotless. Rooms are large and well appointed. Nice continnental breakfast (not a Hampton but still decent). While Riggins is a small outdoors sports town, this is the kind of place you can feel very comfortable just hanging out. Great free wifi with solid connection.

Room Tip: Canyon rooms are basically look at parking lot/River rooms face river--best views on West end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nwsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We loved this place! On a meandering road trip, we found ourselves in Riggins by chance as night approached. We'd never heard of the town and assumed it offered little in the way of lodging. Needless to say, we were beyond surprised to see the lovely, lodge-like Best Western perched above the Salmon River ~ and even more surprised that they had a room available at a very reasonable rate. We snapped it up and were so impressed with the hotel, the staff, and environment that we ended up staying an extra day and night.

The hotel itself is head and shoulders above your typical Best Western. As opposed to the usual box-like and feature-less architecture, the Salmon Rapids Lodge is styled to reflect the character of the surroundings. I believe it was built ten years ago or so, but it seems rather newer due to impeccable upkeep. Our room, a double queen, overlooked the river. The view is lovely, albeit somewhat marred by an old mill (no fault of the hotel's, of course). It was essentially a standard room, nothing out of the ordinary, but very clean and well-kept. We loved drifting off the sleep to the sounds of the river running below us. (Side note: Heed the hotel's advice re lights attracting bugs at night if doors/windows are open.)

As with many Best Westerns, breakfast is included here. Since we have five boys, this is always a big benefit to our family. Typically, though, I don't eat hotel breakfasts as they don't appeal to me. I was pleased with the offerings at the Salmon Rapids Lodge, however. They had freshly cut melon, muffins that were tastier and more nutritious than Wonder-bread fare, and good granola. Even better, the dining environment was a real pleasure. One can either eat inside ~ in a bright, nicely-appointed great room with a vaulted ceiling and view ~ or outside on the patio above the river. What a drastic difference from the windowless breakfast rooms accompanied by blaring televisions and that are so common in today's hotels!

We also appreciated the pool and hot tub here. The pool is indoor, but in an open, airy room that leads directly to an outdoor seating area, where the hot tub is situated. Again, much nicer than an indoor pool in a cramped room with few windows and poor air circulation.

All of these positive features are enhanced by a top-notch staff. From the housekeepers to the front desk staff, the breakfast staff to the management, every employee we encountered at this hotel was approachable, friendly, professional, and seemingly content to be living in Riggins and working here. One has the sense you're part of a family, even as a guest. Who knew a hotel chain could offer such an environment?!

We so enjoyed our time here and my boys are already lobbying to return sooner rather than later. The town of Riggins itself is very small, to say the least, and offers VERY little in the way of dining options. The restaurants we did frequent left something to be desired. Suffice it to say, don't expect to eat fresh salmon here (or fresh anything else, for that matter!) unless you're catching/growing and cooking it yourself. Nonetheless, Riggins is worth a stopover due to its location and character.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jplrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Typical Best Western with very nice staff. We will stay here again as it's right on the river and is a great stop as you drive the loop road through Hells Canyon NRA. Only two complaints: 1. The carpet throughout the property is worn and needs to be replaced; 2. there was a strong smell of urine in our bathroom, but at least it was confined to the bathroom.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor facing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Excellent service in a beautiful lodge in a beautiful town. We came in with some unusual requests for an academic trip to the area, and they accommodated every one with a smile. It just doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: Can't beat the River View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RyanShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The setting is beautiful, the facility is very clean and well-maintained and the staff are about the most friendly hotel personnel we've ever encountered. It felt more like a B & B - warm and cozy. Has a great "lodge" look and feel from the furnishings to the mountains to the Salmon River that borders the property. We've stayed here 3 times and the facility and service have been consistently great.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TamIam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

It;'s the 4th time we've stayed there - rooms attractive & comfortable, staff VERY accomodating & friendly, location at confluence of Salmon & Little Salmon Rivers appealing, price for value good. Wish they had on-premises restaurant, but there are acceptable choices in town. Expanded continental breakfast adequate. Only "con" is the ugly abandoned mill across river, but understand owner won't tear it down.

Room Tip: Ask for Riverview room - are +/- 50 ft. from water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salmon Rapids Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Rapids Lodge

Address: 1010 South Main Street, Riggins, ID 83549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Riggins
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Price Range: $100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salmon Rapids Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay on the confluence of the majestic Salmon River’s at Salmon Rapids Lodge! You will feel right at home with all of our guestroom amenities including coffee maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, ironing board set, and flat screen television with premium satellite channels and ultra clean remote, upgraded bedding and new pillow top mattresses. Fresh baked cookies and ice cold milk will complete every evening during your stay! Complimentary high speed wireless internet access is available in your guestroom and throughout the lodge. Enjoy our large indoor pool, outdoor hot tub, exercise room, and gift shop at Salmon Rapids Lodge. Our Deluxe Continental Breakfast is included with your stay and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. Pets allowed for a small fee based on pet-friendly room availability. Contact our Group Coordinator for corporate retreat inquiries, on-site catering, wedding venue availability, and adventure vacation package specials. AAA – 3 Diamond hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Salmon Rapids Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Salmon Rapids Hotel Riggins
Best Western Riggins
Riggins Best Western
Salmon Rapids Lodge Riggins, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing