We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
46
0
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horseback riding top notch jet boating the entire staff steelhead fishing excellent hosts very special place viewing wildlife friends and family salmon boat launch food was amazing the river fishing trip comfortable beds dax buck
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 47 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018

What a great hunting trip! Buck and Joni are top notch hosts and make you feel like part of the family! Buck and Mike were the best guides I've ever been around, and Daphney's cooking was incredible! Dax provided some great entertainment back at the ranch, and Joni works so hard to make sure everything runs smoothly. Excellent accommodations, food, and fun times to be had at Mackay Bar. I'm already trying to figure out how fast I can get back to the ranch!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuckJoni D, Owner at Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Thanks Blake for your Review! We had a great time getting to know both of you . . You did a great job keeping up with Buck!! Those hillsides are steep! Hope to host your wedding soon . . okay . . we will give you a little time . . !!
Until Next time,
Buck, Joni and Dax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

From the moment we boarded the boat heading to Mackay Bar, until we said goodbye, this trip was one of the best mini-vacations we all have ever had! Buck and Joni, as well as their entire staff and Dax, were always giving their guests full attention, touring by boat the unbelievable historical areas, viewing wildlife and fishing along the way while on the river. There was horseback riding, hiking, or just plain lounging and relaxing. The food was incredible! - The meals were incredibly gourmet, and portions were always more than one could eat! The cabins were very clean, well cared for and very comfortable. We also found some great hats, shirts and outerwear to remember the Mackay Bar experience. If you are looking for a place to unplug/unwind and the ability to get some adventure, this is it! We stayed only two nights, but we are planning on returning soon, for an additional night or two..... better make your reservations now cuz we are coming back!

To Dax, Joni & Buck, we will see soon. It is great to see your family carry on the heritage of the Salmon River Drainage. Thank you for ya'll's awesomeness. James & Michele

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank mejrs208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

Buck, Joni, Aubrey, Mike, Aunt Sue, Dax, Tank and Hank! You guys were amazing! Outstanding, clean, comfortable quarters and boats. Food was better than A+. Didn’t have to worry about anything during our stay. The views, landscape, mountains, river, wildlife and adventure were second to none. I give them my highest recommendation!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank willow6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017

Joni and Buck are excellent hosts to their ranch. Suzie, Jason and Aubry and Ky were absolute pleasures and not a task they could not accomplish readily and cheerfully. The Jetboat ride is exciting with the realization of mother natures forces of water, absolutely spell binding. Buck Captins the Jetboat and wild water with the skill and judgement of a well seasoned Seaman. His "eagle eye" was quick to point out the natural inhabitants to the nearby mountains: Bighorn sheep with their tribe, grazing Elk with their herds, foraging Black Bear, Ospry diving for fish, Eagles with food for their nests --- it was like living the pages from a National Geographic Magazine. The cabins were comfortable and warm to the cool mornings. The thoughtfulness to the décor, storage, facilities of the cabin were great. The soft clean sheets were a welcome retreat at night, I slept like a baby. The western cabin-ness reminded me of my childhood vacations in the 1950's and 60's and was a welcome reminder of days gone by. The property was absolutely beautiful with all trees and flowers in full bloom, absolutely picturesque. I must mention Dax, six year old son of Buck and Joni. He is a living example for all those that believe the mountains, rivers, animals also have something to teach and guide individuals thru their life. Dax's life will be anything but conventional. He is a joy to be around as he learns the ways of his parents and sometines just right down entertaining. Jason and his crew put togeather wonderful meals, loved each one. The food was fresh, tasted like you would want it to taste and always had enough for seconds. Eating at the large table in the Lodge was totally enjoyable and gave me many memorable conversations to take with me for years to come. I would not change a thing about this vacation. It met all my expectations and more. It is worth your time and energy to visit this "piece of heaven" known as Mackey Bar Ranch.

Room tip: Talk to Joni and Buck for the assortment of rooms, from a single room to a house is available.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Valarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackayBarOutfitters, Owner at Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

Thanks Valarie for your review! We absolutely loved having you guys all up there over Easter. So many Family memories!
Hope you come back to see us soon!
Joni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

This place is great. Buck & Joni will make your trip is perfect. 3 great meals every day, terrific fishing, hot showers, warm beds and no cell phones. Be sure to sit in the front seat on the boat to get the best view. This is paradise.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Lee393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackayBarOutfitters, Owner at Mackay Bar Outfitters & Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

Thanks Lee! You guys are the best too . . Buck needs all the "teasing" you guys dish out! It is good for him . . see you at the Ranch this Fall!
Joni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews