We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Family Afternoon”

Mountain River Outfitters
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Riggins
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Idaho Whitewater Rafting trips on the Salmon and Snake Rivers. Premier adventure vacations for the entire family in the Idaho wilderness. 5 day river trips on the Main Salmon - River of No Return wilderness and Hells Canyon. Great Fishing adventures for trout, bass, steelhead and sturgeon.
Rockford, IL
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Fun Family Afternoon”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I targeted a trip which would be fun for my 9 and 12 year old grand kids. The trip was excellent. The best part was how the guide interacted with the kids. He added a lot of value by engaging with them thru-out the ride. Everything thing else went well, and the photos of the trip were dirt cheap.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trails44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    6
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still awesome!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is my second year rafting with MRO, and they did NOT fail to make it even better than last year! The guides are helpful, knowledgeable, and wonderful sports! The food on their trips is FLAWLESS. Jeff, Jesse, Austin, Liam, and Heather went out of their way to ensure we had an awesome time, and their attention to detail and safety is much appreciated!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great trip - Thanks”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a great overnight on the Salmon River with new friends! It was my sons first time white water rafting and now that’s all he talks about. The guides were great and very friendly. I would absolutely recommend these outfitters for a rafting trip. – Very helpful and made for a great mini Vacation.
Thanks

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our guide made the trip”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friends and I (adventure seekers in our twenties) sought out a river rafting trip in Riggins, ID because we'd heard it is a great stretch of the Salmon River. It is indeed a great stretch of river - if you're looking for a leisurely jaunt rather than a wild ride. Mountain River Outfitters does list the rapids classification on their website (though really, even with the help of Google I was not clear what class III+ rapids might be in real life), so I do not blame them for the lack of rapids. My point for mentioning them is that although we were disappointed by the river, our MRO guide, Luke Moser, rose to the occasion.

Luke was fun and friendly, and quickly surmised that we wanted to get the most excitement possible out of our 1/2 day raft trip. When there was a lull between rapids he devised stand up raft yoga competitions, had us stand on one foot on the stern while he spun the raft in tight circles truing to knock us into the river, let us jump out and swim after the raft, etc. He was also great about steering the raft over to picturesque spots for our photo ops.

Oh, and the food was wonderful! The taste was no doubt amplified by the fact that Luke prepped it all while we frolicked in the river. Vegetarian options provided.

Tip to save $7: You do not need to buy those straps to hold on your sunglasses - the rapids are not sufficient to dislodge them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Adventure!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We decided to do the full day trip, from about 9 o'clock in the morning to 4 o'clock in the afternoon. Being that this was in August, the rivers were lower than they were in the Spring and Summer. Even still the rapids that we went over were incredibly fun! The bus driver was funny and made the trip to the put in spot enjoyable. We had an incredible morning with our wonderful and informative guide Tyler. Lunch was delicious, chicken ceasar salad with pasta salad, vegetables and chips. There were also yummy cookies to top of the meal. All of the guides were fun and very friendly. The afternoon contained even more rapids than the morning and was exhilarating and exciting. There was a dry bag on board each of the rafts as well as pop/soda/water and granola bars for snacking.

There were also inflatable kayaks for some of the more daring guests to try out and enjoy! A couple of the rafts were more leisurely where there was little to no paddling required by the guests in those rafts. The raft that my family was in had paddles that we used to go through the rapids, but our guide paddled us through the flat water.

The coffee shop/meeting place on Main Street sold straps to keep glasses on which was convenient. There were also shirts and other gear for sale there. I would recommend MRO to anybody!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain River Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Mountain River Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing