We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!!!”
Review of Big Iron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riggins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Iron Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great place to stay! Clean, quiet, inexpensive, comfortable king-sized bed, accommodating to all your needs: fridge, microwave, Internet access, delicious and inexpensive home-made room service meals--all the comforts of home, with a smile.

The owners work hard and take pride in running a top-notch business, and it shows. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone staying here. So glad we found it!

Room Tip: All rooms are ground-level and away from the main street with parking right in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthRiggins_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 108 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

This family owned motel is fine tuned to make you feel at home and appreciated. we have stayed at the Big Iron many times and plan our travels to include a stay whenever possable. Scott and Rose are constantly on the alert to assure you have a comfortable & enjoyable stay. Their 2 freindly black labs, Katie and Buck always welcome you too. My wife so enjoys watching the deer that many times frequent motel or surounding hills. You are always welcomed with a friendly smile and a cold beverage upon arrival plus it's very afordable and quit. The rooms are clean and the bedding smells so nice you must force yourself to get up in the morning. When traveling north in Idaho, a night at the Big Iron is a must for us.

Room Tip: Room 19 thru 21 are best for deer viewing plus Rose has a great room service menue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolland p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Big Iron sits in one of the most spectacular settings in Idaho. Canyon mountains frame a wild river whose waters create a lullaby for a restful sleep. Rose and Scott Galland demonstrate true hospitality at the Big Iron. The rooms are reminiscent of an earlier era, clean and tidy with a homey atmosphere. Guests are treated to homemade cookies and a free beverage (local coffee and specialty brews available). Despite the quaint appearance, the Big Iron features modern amenities, including wifi and the affordable rates belie the outstanding service that you'll receive. Pets are welcome, and parking is sufficient to accommodate horse trailers. This is the place to stay whether you are spending one night or a week.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The owners Scott and Rose where AMAZING!!! They truly made our weekend. The beds are amazing, rooms Clean, full size coffee maker, Columbian dark roast coffee, free beer / tea at check-in, HOT TUB, Quiet rooms, BIKER FRIENDLY, a short walk to anywhere in town ............................... WE WILL BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GetWhatU_Give
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Weekend trip for Riggins Ride and Raft - clean and friendly . Belive the have the best service I have ever had from a motel . We will be back .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prblmchld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed at the Big Iron Aug. 5 &6 2011 with a group of friends.... had the most AMAZING time. Beds were fantastic, decor was updated....and complimentary beer, ice tea and cookies....room came with a coffee pot, microwave and fridge.... even had super soft pillows unlike those other motels !!!.....Scott and Rose were the best host/hostess I have ever had....can not say enough about the service and quality of our stay........would definately be a shame for anyone to stay anywhere else other than the Big Iron................EXCELLENT does not even begin to describe this place !!! Making my reservations for next year, right now because I do not want to be left out in the cold by staying somewhere else !!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bcolpitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were greated with a friendly smile, complimentary beer and ice tea. The rooms were spotless, Larger apartment refrigerator with Ice trays ready to go. For a "budget" motel the beds were amazingly comfortable with clean, homey linens and the towels were nice and large and super soft.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IDMommaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Iron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Iron Motel

Address: 515 N. Main, Us 95, Riggins, ID
Location: United States > Idaho > Riggins
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Riggins
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Big Iron Hotel
Big Iron Motel Riggins, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing