We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - Looking forward to staying there again!”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rigby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We loved everything about the Blue Heron Inn. The atmosphere, the views of the Snake River, the Blue Heron Suite, the breakfast, the hospitality... everything! We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RigbyIdahoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

What a unique gem! Claudia and Dave make the place all it is. They helped us remember what "relaxed" is. The food is excellent, the rooms spotless and filled with art and quilts. We had the biggest room with the fireplace and jetted tub and we never wanted to leave. (Alas we are back in Denver.) Caught 8 fish in a day. Heaven.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjuanjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed at this wonderfully located Inn for only one night. I wish I could have stayed more. The Blue Heron is located in one of the most beautiful spots in Eastern Idaho - on the South Fork of the Snake River. The scenery is also benefitted by the occasional visit by wildlife on the river including moose, deer, fox and even bald eagles. The vistas are incredible, especially at dawn. If you need a place to reset, this is the place.

The hosts, David and Claudia prepared our stay with a personal touch. David, a renowned photographer, encapsulates his love for the outdoors in the ornate and beautifully adorned Inn. Claudia, also lends her personal touch by providing a warm decor and interior design. Her quilts are especially beautiful and elegant. Bring your camera, you are going to need it.

Being a fly fisherman, I couldn't help but notice the absolutely incrediible fishing just outside the back door with cutthroat and brown trout surfacing regularly within eyeshot of our back window. The outfitters are professional and pick you up at the Inn for an incredible guided trip down the river.

This is by far, South East Idaho's hidden treasure. If you want to avoid the crowds, and the commercial fishing pressure, this is the place.

Fred Bartley

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamoanOutdoorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We've stayed at a number of bed and breakfasts--but this is BY FAR the nicest! The common areas are much larger than at most B & B's with gorgeous, but very comfortable furnishings, lighting, and other decor. The house looks out over the Snake River with lots of wildlife and the owner even provided binoculars to fully enjoy the view! The food was delicious and well-presented and every aspect of our room and bath were perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

One of the best B&Bs we've stayed at. Claudia and Dave have created a beautiful retreat with wonderful views of the South Fork of the Snake River. They both love to cook and treat you to gourmet breakfasts with fresh fruit from their orchard or nearby farms, homemade breads, pastries and preserves, and hot entrees that will impress any foodie. Don't forget to take time to enjoy Claudia's award-winning quilts and the wonderful architectural details of this exemplary inn.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSoul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The Blue Heron is one of the best B&B's we ever stayed in.The building is new and the design is lovely. It sits on a couple of acres of beautifully landscaped land right on a bend in the Snake River. If you like to fish you can cast for brown trout 150 ft. from the back door.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Heron B&B on our way back from Yellowstone recently - as we approached the house my wife was repeatedly exclaiming about how beautiful and impressive the house is.

We arrived late, around 10PM, and the hosts happily greeted our arrival without complaint. We also had special food requests which were accommodated.

The only lost point is for the location - not because of the great view but it's just a little too close to the busy 4-lane highway in front. A very sound-sensitive person who wants to sleep with the windows open might be annoyed by the traffic noise.

The Inn was beautiful, the hosts gracious and the food tasty. Highly recommended - our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 706 N Yellowstone Hwy, Rigby, ID 83442-5224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Rigby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rigby
Price Range: $116 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new Western-style lodge is located on the banks of the South Fork of the Snake River. The award-winning inn is known for it's exceptional hospitality, relaxing atmosphere, and gourmet breakfasts. The Inn's beautifully decorated rooms, each with private bath, include ammenites such as balconies, fireplaces, jetted tubs, and comfy robes. The Innkeepers can make arrangements for guided fishing trips, trail rides, or make arrangements for other area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Inn Rigby, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing