We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rigby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Couldn't ask for anything more. The Inn was clean, quiet, cozy and very inviting upon arrival. Our room (The Blue Heron Suite) was immaculate with everything we needed. The view was beautiful and we slept with the window cracked open a bit to hear the sounds or birds and the river outside. I can't imagine a more serene, romantic spot and this made our quick honeymoon getaway just perfect. We really enjoyed spending a few minutes with Dennis and Sandy at breakfast (which was delicious!). We'll find a reason to come back. Highly recommended for any couple that just needs a quiet weekend.

Room Tip: We peeked in all of the rooms and they all looked great. Those on main level don't feel as priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
128
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyrum
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were given a coupon for a bed and breakfast so went online to find someplace to use it. We wanted to be near Rexburg and this was the only B&B. We spent 3 perfectly wonderful days here celebrating our 50th anniversary. The setting is beautiful right on the south fork of the Snake River--we would sit outside and take walks beside the river and enjoyed the geese and eagles and just watching Nature. The beautiful log home was beyond words--so well decorated, clean, comfortable with lots of views of the river. The rooms were all decorated with themes and there were lots of things to so--books, games, movies theater in the basement, very peaceful music playing throughout--totally restful and relaxing. Most of our time we seemed to be alone in the whole place--made us really feel at home in our 'dream' log home. Sandy and Dennis were very helpful and mindful of our needs. And the breakfasts--what can I say?!! They were delicious, beautifully prepared and served, and very plentiful. We truly felt special with all this wonderful service, beautiful place, and the peace and relaxation we enjoyed. We would highly recommend Blue Heron Inn to everyone--and do hope to be able to return again some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I went for a weekend getaway and we were pleasantly surprised when we walked through the front doors. The Blue Heron Inn is absolutely beautiful! The atmosphere is so relaxing, comforting, and peaceful. It is the perfect place to go to leave the stresses of the world behind. You can’t get any closer to heaven than this! All the rooms are spacious, immaculately clean and inviting. You can walk out onto the back veranda and experience the gorgeous landscape that Idaho has to offer. Dennis and Sandy are amazing! They made us feel right at home and we were treated to a scrumptious breakfast! I miss being there already…Thank you Dennis & Sandy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed here! Hospitality is very nice. We stayed in the Carriage House because we brought our large dog with us. The Carriage House is the only building where pets are welcomed and our dog caused no problems and was a good time for a birthday get-away for my wife. The room was very clean and had plenty of views of the property and the adjoining Snake River. We have been to few other B&B's before but this is considered by us to be the best! We arrived Friday afternoon and left late Sunday morning. The breakfasts that we have were very large and filling. Saturday's Breakfast was Eggs Benedict. two large poached eggs with Canadian Bacon over homemade bread! Wonderful! Sunday's Breakfast was stuffed baked apples between two large homemade French Toast. Another wonderful meal! These breakfasts kept us filled till late afternoon. The Blue Heron Inn's living room has a baby grand piano and they allowed me to entertain everyone to my hearts content! Downstairs in the Media Room there is a pool table and a huge 120" TV screen for watching movies! We highly recommend the Blue Heron Inn to anyone wishing to be treated as almost royalty! Dennis & Sandy treated us as if we were the King & Queen of Siam! Wonderful place!

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny" and each have very large bathrooms & fireplaces! V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pop C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfoot, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Sandy and Dennis were very welcoming, we enjoyed our stay so much. They walk to the river was very close to the Inn. The place was very clean and not only do you get a breakfast but you get the Idaho experience. We will be returning. Thank you.

Room Tip: The Suite had a jetted tub perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennie Hollibau... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Clemens, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights. Absolutely wonderful experience at the Blue Heron Inn. Beautiful inside & outside. Pleasant, comfortable, and had everything I expected a B&B would have and more. The owners, Dennis & Sandy, were both helpful and friendly. We highly recommend the Blue Heron Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My Wife And I were recently Married. My Brother and Grandparents went in on a room for our wedding night, luckily they booked us with the Blue Heron Inn. We got there to check in at 3 then returned for our evening of festivities for the reception. At around 9:30 we headed back from Idaho Falls. This wonderful bed and breakfast is tucked away just off the highway and right next to the Snake River. We could not ask for a better setting. The room was large and the fireplace really heated it up, even though it was in the negatives that night. The jacuzzi tub was very wonderful and My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves there. Now here comes the real kicker... Breakfast! The Innkeepers served a 3 course breakfast which I have never experienced in my whole life. We started out with hot freshly made scones, then came a large bowl of berries and cream, and to top it off we had stuffed french toast with hashbrowns. Never have I had a breakfast like this one, and I was very very pleased.

When we first got there my wife had mixed emotions she wanted to be up in the Destinations Inn, but after the wonderful experience we had here, and now we already have Valentine's Day booked!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigby
5.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rexburg - BYU
18.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rexburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn Rexburg
Quality Inn Rexburg
#3 of 4 in Rexburg
89 reviews
19.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
21.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 23 in Idaho Falls
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 706 N. Yellowstone Hwy, Rigby, ID 83442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Rigby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rigby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new Western-style lodge is located on the banks of the South Fork of the Snake River. The award-winning inn is known for it's exceptional hospitality, relaxing atmosphere, and gourmet breakfasts. The Inn's beautifully decorated rooms, each with private bath, include ammenites such as balconies, fireplaces, jetted tubs, and comfy robes. The Innkeepers can make arrangements for guided fishing trips, trail rides, or make arrangements for other area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Inn Rigby, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing