We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BIT OF HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rigby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Jordan, Utah, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A BIT OF HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Checked into the Blue Heron Inn for the weekend. Dennis and Sandy Koffel are the best innkeepers/owners. There's a very nice family atmosphere and welcoming feel to the whole lodge. It was nice meeting and getting to know other guests. The breakfast is freshly prepared and delicious, perfect way to start off the day. I enjoyed a wonderful relaxing and pampered weekend. Thank you Dennis and Sandy.

Room Tip: Prior to booking your room, view and read about each suite BEFORE making your reservations. You want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
133
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay between Glacier NP and Salt Lake City. Found the Blue Heron Inn online and I'm so glad I did! Nicest place we stayed on our entire 17 day trip! Made me wish we could stay longer! Great suite (Blue Heron), very roomy and comfortable bed. Balcony with table & chairs, complimentary refreshments, jacuzzi tub, fabulous breakfast...I want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokeana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at Blue Heron Inn and was interested in a place I could bring my dog. You contact the owners for permission to bring a dog. They have 1 room the carraige room that will accomadate a pet. Their rules are basic, pick up after dog and keep on leash on property. The dog is not allowed in the lodge. However they have a lovely outdoor porch for breakfast and were nice to allow the dog to hang out on the porch. Only downside for a dog is that pictures show a lovely river along the property. The river is swift and no real access to the river ( a rock wall to water) so frustrating for the lab not to get in the water. There is a nice but short walk along the river however.
So the dog aside. What a lovely place. Beautiful lodge where you can play pool and games. the view is incredible and sitting on the porch you will never want to leave it is very relaxing.
Breakfast was fruit with yogurt, stuffed french toast and hash browns. It was superb. Another guest asked about moose coming by the property and the owner showed the porch breakfast group video of a moose that comes by weekly and owls that stay in one of the dead trees on the side of the property. The other guest were putting in a boat for a river float and fishing all which I understand is closely accessible- and boats for rent as well. I am planning a return trip to stay longer

Room Tip: Carriage room allows dogs. Many lodge rooms that might be fun, best view. Beautiful grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent our first night at Blue Heron Inn after flying into Idaho Falls airport. We were heading to Jackson Hole, but felt that staying near the airport the first night would be a good idea since we arrived in Idaho at about 7pm. The Inn is really cute. The host was fantastic and is more than willing to discuss the wildlife and all that there is to do in the area. The property is located right on the water and there is a path you can walk on and there is plenty of wildlife. They have a nice Jacuzzi and you are welcome to use it at any time. They have beautiful soft music playing in the living room area and it created a very peaceful atmosphere.

One really nice feature is that the owners have a refrigerator with drinks that you are welcome to help yourself to which I thought was very nice. The breakfast was wonderful. We had french toast, potatoes, scones, fruit with yogurt and coffee.

The only downside to this place is that it is somewhat in the middle of no-where so other than outdoor activities, there is not much to do. It is a very relaxing place and the accommodations are very nice.

Room Tip: The room had a queen bed, and I personally prefer a king. I am not sure if they have rooms with a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetRomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a treat to find Blue Heron B&B. The web-page shows the lodge, surroundings, and rooms just like they are. We were not disappointed. The breakfast each morning was great, and so much that it was early evening before we ate again. Dennis and Sandy were great cooks and hosts. We made an easy day trip to Jackson Hole WY from the B&B and enjoyed the countryside, small towns, and mountains. Neighboring towns had plenty of variety in restaurants and the B&B was convent to a major highway, yet remote to traffic and outside interference. We ate breakfast inside but could have been served on the rear porch. One morning, while eating, a moose appeared along the South fork of the Snake River, just outside the B&B and wandered off. We did not take advantage to all the inn offered like a pool table, hot tub, and theater, but they were there for guest. We made friends with others staying there and enjoyed relaxing conversations at night and around breakfast. We've been staying at B&B's since 1996 and would highly recommend Blue Heron as a clean, safe , and great place to stay. If we're ever in the area again, we will stay at Blue Heron. Thank you Dennis and Sandy for making us feel so comfortable.

Room Tip: Any room is great. The ones on the rear have private balconies overlooking the South fork of the Sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's and this would be one that we would definitely go back to. It is located on a spacious, green, well manicured lawn. The inn itself is very well decorated. We had breakfast outside on the porch which was very pleasant. The food was yummy! There was a welcoming basket in our room with bottled water and snacks which doesn't happen in most bed and breakfasts. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck listening and watching the wildlife. If you are looking for a special get away you won't be disappointed in this inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamai58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked the Blue Heron Inn while visiting friends in the area. We just left this morning and are already thinking about our next visit. Check in was pleasant, unhurried and efficient. The property is beautifully situated on a bend of the Snake River. The grounds and property show evidence of being very well cared for. We enjoyed our undisturbed view of the river from the private balcony offered with the Mallard Room. Fishermen floated by in boats. Birds and critters enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. Our delicious breakfst included a visit by a moose wandering through the stretch of lawn between the Inn and the river. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. Thank you Sandy & Dennis for sharing this treasure with us.

Room Tip: The Mallard Room has a river view, but it seemed like most rooms faced the river. The common hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigby
5.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rexburg - BYU
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rexburg
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn Rexburg
Quality Inn Rexburg
#3 of 5 in Rexburg
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Super 8 Rexburg
Super 8 Rexburg
#4 of 5 in Rexburg
358 reviews
18.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 706 N Yellowstone Hwy, Rigby, ID 83442-5224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Rigby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rigby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new Western-style lodge is located on the banks of the South Fork of the Snake River. The award-winning inn is known for it's exceptional hospitality, relaxing atmosphere, and gourmet breakfasts. The Inn's beautifully decorated rooms, each with private bath, include ammenites such as balconies, fireplaces, jetted tubs, and comfy robes. The Innkeepers can make arrangements for guided fishing trips, trail rides, or make arrangements for other area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Inn Rigby, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing