We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Red Lion during our trip to Silverwood. The staff was very accommodating, the rooms were clean, the private beach was great!! We originally booked a non river view room. After we checked in and got to our room we decided we wanted a river view, the front desk staff was very helpful to make this happen for us. We were very grateful and our stay was awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Tana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel as you choice to relax while recovering from the fun at Silverwood Theme Park. We appreciate you providing us with this great feedback. The hotel staff will be thrilled to hear they made a positive difference for your family vacation. We will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 487 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Friends had booked the rooms, so not sure what I expected, property is very large. We checked in late afternoon and were about 1 hour behind our friends, unfortunately it was a busy weekend and our rooms were in separate buildings. Both rooms were nice, however, ours was accessed from the interior hall only, where our friends also had direct access outside this would have been nice. On the other hand ours was ready to be a hospitality suite for the celebration or team event - large counter, bar fridge, microwave and lots of storage.
Restaurant food was good, service although a bit slow was very pleasant. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of river or direct access outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

I am truly sorry we were not able to assign you a room closer to your friends. I know how this can cause some inconvenience when friends and family get together for some fun. I am happy to hear your visit with us was overall comforting and welcoming. We will see again soon and thank you for choosing us for your future hotel of choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I was embarrassed to stay at this location with my family! The grounds had trash and beer cans sprawled out everywhere, I was given a room and when going in the door from the outside there were cigarette butts all over the ground and trash all over in the bushes next to the door. When I walked in the room the first thing I saw were the three hooks on the wall where a picture once hung. There were stains in the carpet and the chairs, for the price I paid for this room I was totally embarrassed that we drove 22 miles out of our way to stay at this location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

I am truly sorry for the lack of cleanliness, comfort and presentation we failed to provide to you. Your valuable feedback has been shared with our management team and we will address all the issues you described. We appreciate you visiting us and hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to prove our passion for hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just got back from three night stay at the Red Lion in Post Falls. When we drove up to the hotel, we all sort of sighed. The building is outdated with very little curbside appeal. But the stay itself was wonderful. Inside the building is organized and clean. We had great beds, a friendly staff, and plenty of room in the little fridge to store the snacks we would eat after we visited Silverwood.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
2  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed visiting us during your family vacation. I will make sure the staff is recognized based on your great feedback. The next time you visit us check out our beach near the marina and try our great food at the River Grill. It will be our pleasure to provide the best hospitality around. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

After reviewing the amenities on the website and booking our 2 night stay at 155.00 per night we expected this place to be pretty darn nice. That was not the case. I can't even say that the location was nice because all we were able to see was the parking lot. At the time we attempted (5 pm on a Saturday) were unable to visit the "private beach access" because a wedding was being held there.
During the reservation process we were told our room would have a pull out bed. It did not. We had been camping the 2 nights prior to this so at least we had an air mattress with us to accommodate some of the kids. We were told that rooms of that option were given away earlier and basically you get what you get when you show up at night. (We arrived at 10 pm after visiting the nearby theme park all day) I even called the hotel directly that day to let them know of our late arrival time to ensure all would be ok. I witnessed guests checking in next to me frustrated that they had made reservations 5 months in advance for a river view and they were told the same "you get what you get when you check in late story".
The hotel is broken in to 2 units so you have to walk outside to get to the lobby/pool/restaurant. The one washing machine offered in building 2 was broken.
Our room did not have a hotel info book. I had to request one in order to know the pool times, restaurant info etc.
The beds were comfy and the tv was nice. My kids were hoping for a dvd player but oh well.
The coffee maker in our room did not work. Both times I attempted to get a cup of coffee from the lobby station they were in the process of refilling it.
The shower head was ok but the bath tub itself was frightening. With every step or shift in weight it would creak extremely loud.
We made the best of it, and if the charges were less I probably wouldn't be so disappointed in all of the downfalls; or at least I would have expected them.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmurray7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

I feel terrible for the number of inconveniences you had during your visit. I am also sorry you were assigned a room far from our amenities. It would be a pleasure to speak to you further regarding your visit. If you would like to give us another opportunity to make it up to you in the future please contact the hotel directly and ask for the manager on duty. We would be happy to invite you back for a much better experience. We will also make sure you are assigned a room in the main building, close to our amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Staff at this hotel were all lousy and lazy. They need to take a hospitality course. The bar staff was rude. While making our drinks she walked away to take care of a register issue that a coworker was having only to come back 5 minutes later to finish pouring. There were no towels in pool room. After making 3 calls to get towels they showed up an hour later. When we complained about the service the manager offered us complimentary dinner for evening. That was a joke all the way around. Neither the bar or restaurant were busy at the time of our dinner yet it took an hour just for appetizers and drinks. We did not order dinner because who wants to wait another hour. We were there for 2 days. When we checked out we were charged for a breakfast & drinks that we had already paid for AND our complimentary appetizers. They should change their name to Hotel Hell - at least you would know what to expect. You then wouldn't be disappointed at we were. Do not waste your hard earned money on this dive.

Room Tip: Ask for riverfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor service you experienced at the restaurant and at the pool. I am very disappointed the team failed to make sure you felt welcome and appreciated. I assure you the issues you had during your visit will be addressed with the department managers and the staff involved. Thank you very much for reaching out to us. We will continue to improve based on your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This facility is and older property in need of a remodel. The location is excellent. I would rate this property as average. It's not bad bad but could be better if the company were to spend some money on improvements.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Your honest feedback is very important to us. Our guests opinion is the most important information we can gather for improvement. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Post Falls
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 5 in Post Falls
202 reviews
2.5 mi away
SilverStone Inn and Suites
SilverStone Inn and Suites
#2 of 5 in Post Falls
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Post Falls
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Address: 414 E 1st Ave, Post Falls, ID 83854-7564
Location: United States > Idaho > Post Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Price Range: $81 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Templin's Hotel on the River is located directly on the Spokane River is nestled among the majestic mountains surrounding the quaint city of Post Falls, Idaho. Our hotel is a short 10 minute drive from Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. Our 163 guest rooms and suites feature king or queen beds and all the comforts of home including Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers, irons and hairdryers. Resort amenities include a fitness center and indoor pool, tennis and volleyball courts, a private beach and unlimited mountain and river views. For full service dining with unsurpassed river views guests can enjoy sumptuous breakfast, lunch and dinner choices. Our guests can also choose the new signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet served daily at Mallards Restaurant. Mallards Lounge features flat screen viewing for your favorite sports or entertainment. Templin's Marina thrives as a scenic and exciting community with an identity tied to boats. 176 Covered boat slips lay just feet from Templin's River Grill. Enjoy live music and a huckleberry barbeque buffet every Thursday evening 5:00 - 9:00 P.M. June through Labor Day. Cruise the Spokane River on a pontoon boat available for rent by the hour, half day or full day at our full-service marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Templin`s Hotel Post Falls
Red Lion Templins Hotel
Red Lion Post Falls
Post Falls Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing