We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PNQ 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is our 3rd year competing at the Pacific Northwest Qualifier in Spokane, and this is our first year staying in Post Falls.

The combination of spring break, PNQ and NCAA basketball in Spokane made it very difficult to find accommodations in Spokane for our team(s). For some reason, the Red Lion Templin's Resort had a scarce amount of double queen rooms available, so most of my daughter's team (and families) were in a single king room. We checked in at 4pm and were told we would be able to get a rollaway or air mattress, but that ended up not happening. Luckily one of our traveling companions had one we could use (there were three of us in a room), and the front desk readily sent up extra bedding for our room while we were in the lounge.

Our first night (Thursday, 3/20/14) was a little rough for some of our families. We all decided to stay in the hotel for dinner after a long day driving from Puyallup to Post Falls (about 5 hours), but the hotel restaurant was not adequately prepared for the influx of teams, though they were well aware of the number of guests they would have during this weekend. This resulted in hungry, cranky, whiny kids and unhappy parents.

Service was slow, and some guests did not receive any service or waited *hours* for their food. A few families decided to just leave and head to town for pizza or other food.

I would like to compliment Tabie and Hillary for working so hard the entire weekend we were staying at the Red Lion Templin's Resort. I don't exactly know where the failure was that first night--in the kitchen, or with management-- but the servers were so nice, and they hustled, hustled, hustled all weekend long.

Really, Thursday night's slow food service was my only complaint all weekend.

The breakfast was the best we've had in a hotel in the past few years of traveling to tournaments. Real eggs. Thank you! Usually I east hardboiled eggs at hotels because they tend to use reconstituted eggs (gross). I was so happy to have real eggs. The bacon was fine, and I hear the sausage tasted good. My daughter was sad that there was no waffle iron, but I think it was best that there wasn't one. There were potatoes, bagels, muffins, fruit, cereal... it was a decent healthy spread.

The rooms were clean. I appreciate that they don't use a bed spread but a duvet with a clean cover instead. It was quiet, too, even though the hotel was full of teenage girls.

We were in building 3, which was quite a hike to the main part of the hotel (restaurant and lounge), but it wasn't horrible. I was just happy that I didn't have to walk outside in the cold to get to the main hotel area.

It would have been nice if the hotel had DVD players in the rooms or available for check out from the front desk.

I think we plan to return next year, and hopefully the staff will be more prepared for the number of guests on the first night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sckelsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We can not thank you enough for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your honesty and understanding with the issues you experienced. Please be assured we have taken corrective measures to ensure we are prepared in all areas of the hotel when we are at full capacity. It is our hope the teams consider us again in the future so we can show how much we care about our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 487 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I love to get away now and then, from work, kids and the business of life. We love staying at Red Lion Templin's Resort in Post Falls, ID. We always get the river view suite and it has begun to feel like our second home. The beds are very comfy, with great soundproofing between rooms. They have a real chef on staff who has whipped up a scrumptious variety of dishes from locally procured meats. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The pool is great, with a view of the Spokane river, set to the backdrop of a gorgeous mountainside. They also have spacious conference rooms and cater for your special event. We also held the memorial service for our son there, back in October of 2013, and they really took care of our every need. I highly recommend this hotel and resort to anyone planning to be visiting in a 50 mile radius.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Julia227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and that w exceeded your expectations in guest service. The view is fantastic and its just one of the joys we have working here and sharing it with our guests completes it all. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Everyone is friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and have everything you need, iron, hair dryer, etc. Overlooking the Spokane River. Beautiful, especially with the snow. Heater was a little loud but worked fine.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and choosing us to visit, even if it was brief. Our heaters should not be so loud it disturbs our guests stay, so the next time you visit and something just doesn't seem right, let us know, so we can make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I specifically stayed at this hotel because of the restaurant/lounge on site knowing the weather was going to be bad and was informed that both the lounge and restaurant closes at 9pm on week days. I had a late class and was really disappointed that they were closed by the time I got back. Will not stay here again just for that reason.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are sincerely sorry we could not accommodate your dining needs after 9pm in our restaurant and lounge. We are currently on our seasonal winter hours and will be open later during our busy summer months. We thank you for taking the time to visit us and writing this review. Your feedback is important in improving our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Red Lion Templin's Hotel over the weekend and were very satisfied with the accomodations. The price was surprising reasonable and the service and room were perfect for our needs. Super food, (try the monte cristo) extremely quiet (wintertime!) and spacious room. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your great feedback! We pride our selves for being the best in town and with your great experience, we will continue to be motivated to service each guest with the best service we can provide. We appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's right on the river, huge grounds with not any traffic around. The bed was SUPER comfortable, we both had a great night sleep! We had breakfast at the Mallard Restaurant and it was really good too! The hotel was nice and quiet and also has a pool and hot-tub with a lift for people with disabilities. I thought that was great as my brother uses a wheelchair and loves to swim! I'll be recommending this place for him :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Duppy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionTemplins, Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are so thrilled you continue to enjoy Red Lion. We strive to make it a memorable experience and take all guest feedback very serious so we know what works and what doesn't work. Thank you for your loyalty, we appreciate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautiful location - the water view is amazing! Friendly and helpful employees. Comfortable, clean rooms. Small refrigerator is an added bonus. The rooms are spacious, including a seating area and desk as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgrsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Post Falls
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 5 in Post Falls
202 reviews
2.5 mi away
SilverStone Inn and Suites
SilverStone Inn and Suites
#2 of 5 in Post Falls
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Post Falls
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Address: 414 E 1st Ave, Post Falls, ID 83854-7564
Location: United States > Idaho > Post Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Price Range: $81 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Templin's Hotel on the River is located directly on the Spokane River is nestled among the majestic mountains surrounding the quaint city of Post Falls, Idaho. Our hotel is a short 10 minute drive from Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. Our 163 guest rooms and suites feature king or queen beds and all the comforts of home including Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers, irons and hairdryers. Resort amenities include a fitness center and indoor pool, tennis and volleyball courts, a private beach and unlimited mountain and river views. For full service dining with unsurpassed river views guests can enjoy sumptuous breakfast, lunch and dinner choices. Our guests can also choose the new signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet served daily at Mallards Restaurant. Mallards Lounge features flat screen viewing for your favorite sports or entertainment. Templin's Marina thrives as a scenic and exciting community with an identity tied to boats. 176 Covered boat slips lay just feet from Templin's River Grill. Enjoy live music and a huckleberry barbeque buffet every Thursday evening 5:00 - 9:00 P.M. June through Labor Day. Cruise the Spokane River on a pontoon boat available for rent by the hour, half day or full day at our full-service marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Templin`s Hotel Post Falls
Red Lion Templins Hotel
Red Lion Post Falls
Post Falls Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing