We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho hum!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Booked through Hotwire. Our room did not have a lake view, but faced the parking lot, and the bathroom had a shower only, no bath. The bed was a bit on the soft side and overall smelled a little off!!
Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath, and a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 495 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We chose this location due to location on the river. Booked two rooms and paid extra for balcony.Thad read about river cruise and beach restaurant. Well restaurant closed at 5 p.m. and wasn't open for breakfast. River cruises don't begin until mid June, the week after our visit. The balcony is the biggest drawback as it must be 2 ft by 3 ft. If you got a room with a chair, (one of our rooms had one) you could squeeze it out on the balcony. There would be a view from the window, but no way to enjoy it without standing up. And a warning----if you step out on the balcony and the door closes you are locked out! Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Too expensive for what you get though.

Room Tip: You might want to look at the rooms before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Assigned this hotel by Hotwire.

Had a reservation for 2 adults and our teen daughter. Gave us a room with a king bed. The front desk person said "with hotwire you we can assign any room available. The couterperson said if we called they would have given the same rate. We told our story to anther guest who was told the same thing last their last visit. they said that they would not match the htowire rate as it's an unadvertised rate.

They gave us a blow up mattress. Bathroom only had towels for two. Only two cups for water and coffee.

They advertise Internet but it never did work. My wife is taking her Masters online so we were relying on Internet for her to do some school work. The Internet is extremely slow and cuts out regularly.

Second day we come back. The bed is made but they took the towels and didn't replace them or the coffee or shampoo.

One of my worst hotel stays every. I will avoid this chain.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced when you arrived at our hotel. I would like to apologize for any unprofessionalism that was shown to you as well. Please be assured that this will be addressed accordingly with our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel based on the experience during your stay. You are a valued guest and we hope to better serve you during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had high expectations when I booked a stay because the one in Spokane is so nice. However when I arrived I noticed there was a large crack in our toilet seat (and it pinched!). Had to call three times to have a air mattress delivered, the a/c did not work and half of our supposed channels did not work. To their credit they did come and replace the toilet seat once they were notified. I was just sadly underwhelmed by the quality if the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RamboGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

King room, great view, comfy chair, nice patio space! Appreciate updated bathroom. Room had a little old hotel smell. A little noisy first night, rowdy convention guests. Close to area for food and exploring. Would definitely stay here again. Appreciated Tripadvisor app!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After a LONG day of airline travel & transfers we were really looking forward to sitting on our balcony overlooking the river, only to arrive (around 4 pm - not late) & learn our reserved room had been given away. If we wanted a river view, we would have to take a King (not 2 queens as reserved) on the lower floor. So much for the great view. At least the bed was comfortable, & they did give us an additional 15% discount. Comping breakfast would have been nice, but oh well. It definitely shows its age, but not bad, especially for the area. Breakfast buffet was typical of a chain hotel's free buffet - somehow expected more for $10 each.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Hotel has a great crew that go out of their way to make sure sure your stay is perfect. The Hotel itself is nice and right on the water. The bar overlooks the water and is a nice place to relax in the evening, but the people that work there are what make it great.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to river view, most times you will get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary97TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Post Falls
2.5 mi away
SilverStone Inn and Suites
SilverStone Inn and Suites
#2 of 5 in Post Falls
159 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Post Falls
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coeur D'Alene Inn
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Coeur d'Alene
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 5 in Post Falls
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

Address: 414 E 1st Ave, Post Falls, ID 83854-7564
Location: United States > Idaho > Post Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Post Falls
Price Range: $73 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Templin's Hotel on the River is located directly on the Spokane River is nestled among the majestic mountains surrounding the quaint city of Post Falls, Idaho. Our hotel is a short 10 minute drive from Coeur d' Alene, Idaho. Our 163 guest rooms and suites feature king or queen beds and all the comforts of home including Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers, irons and hairdryers. Resort amenities include a fitness center and indoor pool, tennis and volleyball courts, a private beach and unlimited mountain and river views. For full service dining with unsurpassed river views guests can enjoy sumptuous breakfast, lunch and dinner choices. Our guests can also choose the new signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet served daily at Mallards Restaurant. Mallards Lounge features flat screen viewing for your favorite sports or entertainment. Templin's Marina thrives as a scenic and exciting community with an identity tied to boats. 176 Covered boat slips lay just feet from Templin's River Grill. Enjoy live music and a huckleberry barbeque buffet every Thursday evening 5:00 - 9:00 P.M. June through Labor Day. Cruise the Spokane River on a pontoon boat available for rent by the hour, half day or full day at our full-service marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Templin`s Hotel Post Falls
Red Lion Templins Hotel
Red Lion Post Falls
Post Falls Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing