We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go...”
Review of Hoot Owl Cafe

Hoot Owl Cafe
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Ponderay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Where the locals go...”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were referred here by a local... it's rustic, not fancy, down-to-earth... old fashioned diner type place. Unpretentious would be a good word to fit it's description. There were a few flies flying around - tables were well used. I guess it's been there for some time now... It's fantastic! Our family really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere - cordial wait staff and the food was amazing. Huckleberry Pancakes were huge and loaded with huckleberries (for 1.00 more) - We split orders and still had plenty. We also tried the green eggs on the menu and what came was ham smothered in avocados, pesto, eggs, and more... more deliciousness! We also commented on a dessert that was passing by occasionally and they comped us one (strawberry/red velvet cake with cream cheese or something along those lines)... Overall - go if you want good food for the price... We consider Hoot Owl Cafe a FIND.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FollowOnesNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Walked Out”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This cafe was recommended to us by one of the locals, and it was very busy. After waiting for about 20 minutes outside, we were finally seated right at the front door. Our table was continuously jossled by other people waiting for a table, and their backsides were right at table level. The table, booth and the window ledge were filthy and there were flys buzzing around us. We decided to withdraw our order and leave. It was not a pleasant experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diners, Dives, & Drive Ins...YES PLEASE!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I have been eating at The Hoot Owl for years. It was the place to go after a fun night out, or to carbo load before heading up to Schweitzer. These days it is an easy place to go out to breakfast with my hoard of small children that sometimes can be loud, and I don't get stink eye from other diners. Thank you other diners and staff for being so patient and kind. (My fave: 2 × 2 × 2 french toast/eggs/sausages)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lori w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Omlette mmmmmmm”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast this morning. .. omlette for me.. eggs benedict for my sweetheart. .. both were delish..

Helpful?
Thank Leahann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Sandpoint Area”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I love this family owned cafe & it's quirky atmosphere. It is the best breakfast you will have & we have never been disappointed. Dynamite chicken fried steak, delicious sausage gravy & biscuits, omelettes to die for & great French toast. They also have HUGE cinnamon rolls. This is our must stop place when we visit the area.

Helpful?
Thank Goffsheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoot Owl Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hoot Owl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing