We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn University
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Pocatello
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were surprised by what we got for the price we paid. We paid $45/night (with a AAA discount). The rooms are a bit dated and could use a little updating, but were clean. We inspect the rooms before we get comfortable, just in case we need to make adjustments to our schedule/reservation. Needless to say, we unpacked. Included in the price was a continental breakfast (waffles, cereal, bagels and fruit cup). The staff at the front desk (we experienced 3 different shifts while we were there) was friendly and helpful. It is located close to area attractions (including the zoo, Idaho State University and the Clean Museum). If you are planning on visiting someone or something in the Pocatello area, give Rodeway Inn a call.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    35
    22
    19
See reviews for
26
33
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

It was cold and windy when I checked in. I had a corner room on the second floor. The wind was pounding against the very cheap window. I tucked the curtain in to lessen the noise and draft. I put a chair and pillow up against the heater/air conditioner as air and noise was being emitted from it. I didn't need the heat on as the temp in the room was adequate. The toilet would run for a few seconds every 30 or 40 minutes so I closed the bathroom door. The furniture in the room looked like it was from a bigger, nicer hotel. Now it was crammed in this one. So, getting around was tight. The refrigerator was on the floor, so when I opened the door it would rub against the carpet. That's an easy fix folks, just put a couple of 2 x 4 scraps of wood under it and get it off the floor.
Anyway, with the wind and the toilet noise I thought "oh boy, this is going to be a long night." Well, luckily the wind died down and I didn't hear the toilet running with the door closed. So, I actually got a very good nights sleep! That's all that mattered to me the next morning.
I usually stay at a little higher end "Choice Hotels" than this one, but wasn't able to get a reservation on such short notice. This hotel will do in a pinch, but I won't stay here again unless I have to.
I found the staff to be friendly though. And that's always a good thing, no matter what.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn University, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Michael--I apologize for your disappointing stay at our property and I appreciate you letting me know that your stay was less than perfect. This time of year we do have strong winds here in Eastern Idaho--I wish we had climate more like your area in Northern Idaho. I am meeting with my staff this morning to go over your response to make sure the problems are fixed. Again I apologize. I will also pass on your kind words about my staff. Sincerely Louise, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This property is very run down, and dated. The bath tub has stains and a crack in the surround. The hand rail in the bath was falling off. Noticed the sheets had stains on them, and the shower curtain rod was rusty. The breakfast did not have fresh fruit, little cups of canned fruit instead. Will say the staff was friendly. We left this location after one night, and moved to another hotel in area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn University, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello--I'm very sorry you had such a bad experience at our property, We very much appreciate you telling us about your concerns. It is an older facility and we work very hard to see that our guests are comfortable. At the present time we are working up on several upgrades. The Rodeway Inn is an economy brand with economy rates and therefore is only required to have a very limited breakfast. We are proud to have expanded ours to include fresh baked waffles, hot and cold cereals, bagels and cream cheese, the fruit cocktail and more. Thank you again for advising us of your concerns. Sincerely, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pocatello hotels

Saskatoon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Very nice room, old-style TV, extremely friendly staff, fresh-baked cookies at 8pm provided by host. Nothing wrong with the location. Walked to The Bridge for supper (Canadian term for the last meal of the day)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney_Barn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Challis, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The only two things going for this property are the rates (but you get what you pay for) and the cheery check-in staff member. The location isn't close to major shopping, i.e. the mall, etc but is close to downtown. Getting to the property via Interstate southbound is out-of-the-way. The accommodations are...shall I say...old. The shower curtain rod was rusty, the pillows were lumpy, the heater outdated and the breakfast was inadequate. The check-out clerk was obviously from the night-shift as he seemed completely uninterested. But hey, the place was quiet but then again there weren't many guests either.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The rooms were smaller than fancier hotels, but my room was extremely clean and the staff was the friendliest. This property makes the most out of its physical limitations. It's older and has older furniture, a box TV and no curved shower rod. However, I would stay at this property again for under $60 again and again. Some of the higher priced properties with more extensive amenities don't get the TLC of this property. Kudos to the management and staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pocatello hotels
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Pocatello
Super 8 Pocatello
#3 of 14 in Pocatello
677 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Pocatello Inn
Best Western Pocatello Inn
#4 of 14 in Pocatello
796 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#9 of 14 in Pocatello
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 14 in Pocatello
151 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pocatello
Red Lion Hotel Pocatello
#10 of 14 in Pocatello
251 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Pocatello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn University

Property: Rodeway Inn University
Address: 835 S 5th Ave, Pocatello, ID 83201-6638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Pocatello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Pocatello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn University 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pocatello
Pocatello Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing