We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly but not so tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Pocatello
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Pocatello
Pocatello
1 review
“Very friendly but not so tidy”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Everyone at this hotel was beyond nice and helpful. But it wasn't very clean. We found tons of hair in the bathroom, a bunch of stuff under the beds and chair. Also the pool wasn't warm like it states. It's not ice cold. But it's cold.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavMalon, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pocatello, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for providing feeback on your recent stay. We take all guest comments seriously and I truly apologize that we did not meet your expectations regarding room cleanliness. We will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your feedback. You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    60
    42
    43
See reviews for
78
69
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've been in my cold room for three hours and have experienced the following:

1. The front desk representative failed to smile and welcome me to the Red Lion Inn when I arrived.

2. The hotel could use a new coat of paint around the trim and a cleaning of the vents.

3. The room is comfortable and good sized but very cold.

4. I haven't seen a tv as old as the one in my room at another hotel since 2009.

5. The hallway and the pool area are very cold. Perhaps a draft from the hallway is keeping my room cold.

6. I mentioned to the front desk that the room was cold and when I requested another room, they sent a maintenance person to check the heater/air conditioner. The maintenance man said the heater was emitting 117 degree heat. I arrived in the room at 5:00; my request for a room change came at 6:00. It's now 8:15 and the room is still cold. As mentioned earlier, the cold could be from a draft in the hallway.

In the past month I've stayed at the Pocatello Comfort Inn, the Ameritel, and the Red Lion. All are within a half mile of each other and each has similar rates. The Ameritel is definitely the best of the three: great pool, rooms, and breakfast. I rate the Comfort Inn and the Red Lion both far behind.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jadesroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavMalon, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pocatello, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the lack of response to the temperature of your room. This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have! We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pocatello hotels

Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The front desk staff was extremely helpful and very friendly; and the hotel was conveniently located (right off interstate 15 and next door to a gas station with a small convenience store). The hotel, however is dated, especially the rooms. The beds have full quilted bedspreads and the T.V. is what my teens call a "dinosaur" (not a flat screen). The room we stayed in had a musty/air freshener type smell.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel was given a 3 star rating. Most 2.5 Star hotels out shine this hotel. Hotel is dated, but the pool area looked wonderful. Room was dated, smaller bed than expected, TV is tube type and remote did not work. Pillow were very small and not adequate even though there was 4 of them. Breakfast is minimal, but due to my room choice, I had to pay for it, which I expected to, due to the price I received for the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pocatello, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. This is not the type of stay we want our guests to have! We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed our visit. We don't stay at Red Lions very often and the only reason we chose this one is they offer 15% off if you join their rewards program (which is free) and that made their rate the cheapest among their competitors.

After driving a big UHaul all day we were thrilled when we found out there is a restaurant (more of a lounge but with a good menu) on site. It was so nice to be able
to have a cocktail and a good meal without having to drive that truck anywhere else for the night. Service was a bit slow but friendly enough.

The hotel was very quiet. Almost in a creepy way but that's just me. I think I only say 2 other guests the entire time we were there and they seem to run on a skeleton crew.

All in all I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place for those looking to stay a night or two in Pocatello.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieSattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We like to stay at the Red Lion in as it accepts pets and the standard rarely varies. My only complaint was the bath tub still had some hair on the side of the tub. The beds are getting a little old but still comfortable. It was one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed. The water would have been nice at check in but maybe next time. Also, I have updated our address several times but it seems to keep reverting to our address of over 3 years ago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Judie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

First, the good parts - our king-bed room was spacious and nicely furnished, with both an armoire TV/dresser combination, a counter-height cabinet with refrigerator and microwave inside, a desk with plenty of light and power, and a chair/ottoman combo. I loved having plenty of room both near the entrance of the room and throughout. The property has that old traditional Red Lion flavor I used to love, but haven't partaken of for many years. And unlike so many newer properties, it still has plenty of nice heavy covers on the bed!

The property itself is in a good location, with easy access from the freeway and a main road leading back into town, plenty of services nearby.

Downside? The beds are no longer evenly firm, although still comfortable. The pillows were lumpy. The internet was a joke - .3 to 1.0 mpbs was the best we could do. They offered a direct-wired option, but no cable to go with it. The TV was functional and cable stations sufficient, but the TV was outdated compared to the flat-panels in most properties today.

We were not able to experience the pool area due to an accident that day requiring shock treatment. I was glad they took the situation seriously, even though I missed trying it out. The area appeared to be set up nicely, with both a kiddie pool and a large pool and hot tub. We did not try the food as we were visiting family nearby.

The housekeeping unit is located on the southeast side, first floor. They left their carts out in the hallway for quite some time, which leaves one with an odd feeling when coming in from the back entrance. Still, for the amount of time we spent there, we didi not notice extra noise coming from that area.

Would we try this one again? Quite likely. Mostly because of the size of the room. In spite of the downsides, it was a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: This two-story property does not have an elevator. Make sure you ask for a first floor room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pocatello hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pocatello Inn
Best Western Pocatello Inn
#4 of 14 in Pocatello
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Pocatello
Super 8 Pocatello
#3 of 14 in Pocatello
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Pocatello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#9 of 14 in Pocatello
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 14 in Pocatello
151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pocatello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Pocatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Pocatello

Property: Red Lion Hotel Pocatello
Address: 1555 Pocatello Creek Rd, Pocatello, ID 83201-2306
Location: United States > Idaho > Pocatello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Pocatello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Pocatello 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Pocatello is conveniently located in the heart of Pocatello, Southeast Idaho's regional center for shopping, education, medical care and cultural activities. Golf, water sports, skiing, snowmobiling, casino gambling and bingo are just some of the activities to enjoy while in the area.Our 150 guest rooms and suites feature Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports, in-room coffee makers and hairdryers. Executive king rooms also feature microwaves and refrigerators. On-site you will also find an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center as well as the Pocatello Lounge, serving dinner. We now offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. Complimentary parking and airport transportation are provided.Southeastern Idaho's largest full-service convention hotel, the Red Lion Hotel Pocatello is also the perfect location for your next conference or special occasion. Our 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space can accommodate up to 1,000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Pocatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Pocatello
Pocatello Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing