We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner and service”

Sandpiper Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 158 Restaurants in Pocatello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The first inkling of an idea for the Sandpiper Restaurants came to original founder Bob Angell as he lounged on the beaches of California. While attending college he enjoyed watching the sandpipers darting in and out of the surf, and after graduation Bob moved back home to Boise, Idaho, where he opened the first of many Sandpiper Restaurants in 1971. From its humble beginnings in Boise, the Sandpiper grew until there were locations in Oregon, Arizona, and a total of four in Idaho. After several owner and management changes, there are currently two locations still open in Idaho. The Idaho Falls location was opened in 1974 by Ron Obendorf, who is still the manager. The Pocatello location opened in 1975 and has been managed by Rod Russell since 1985. Rose Anne Voigt came on as a member of the management team in 1995. Always intended to be casual fine dining restaurants specializing in steaks, seafood and pastas, the Sandpiper Restaurants continue to enjoy great popularity. Our guests have consistently bestowed us with Best Restaurant, Best Steak and Seafood, Best Fine Dining, and Best Date Place awards. Both locations offer outside dining during the beautiful Idaho summer and fall, as well as facilities for larger gatherings.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great dinner and service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The calamari steak appetizer was superb. It's not you standard "rings with marinara", but 1/4 to1/2 inch thick steaks. We had ours half breaded and deep fried and half Cajun style. The piper salad was excellent. Me wife enjoyed her chicken Oscar and my piper penne was the best seafood pasta dish I've had in a long time. Don't forget to ask for bread, it comes with garlic, oil, and cheese. Didn't have room for desert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredBoomer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    87
    41
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

High prices for the mediocre food. Years ago it was one of two best in Pocatello, but no more. My husband and I went there for our anniversary expecting to have the same delicious meals. The only good thing was the bread and olive oil dip, even our appetizer of stuffed mushrooms was terrible. the mushrooms were covered in ground beef and greasy yellow cheese. My husband had the sirloin, while it was tender there was no flavor. I had the special that night of marlin. It tasted like they had cooked in the microwave with no seasonings. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Pocatello”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

There's not much in Pocatello, so this is probably the best restaurant. It was right next to hotels and the highway. They had a decent selection of wines. We ordered the clams for an appetizer; they were good, but had too much butter. I ordered the cedar plank salmon for dinner, it was good, but nothing out of the ordinary. If you're in Pocatello, go here, but if you don't have to go to Pocatello, don't!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Food was superb, service good. Arguably the best clam chowder I've ever had (including good spots on both coasts). Prices were quite reasonable for the quality. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Pocatello!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I tried this place on my first trip to Pocatello two years ago. It had great reviews on Trip Advisor, and folks are right. If you only have one night in Pocatello, this is THE place to eat! I only eat here for dinner whenever I'm in Pocatello. Don't forget to try the clam chowder... It's the best!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GKAINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sandpiper Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing