We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thunderbird Motel

Thunderbird Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Pocatello
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The very basics of a modern hotel - This place is fine for a few guys on a road trip but would not stay here with my family. Just your avearge 1950s hotel located right next to a University and nothing else really around. Got in late at night and the room clerk did not have an idea of anything close by that delievers. That should just be basic knowledge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coyote10458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
11
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived in Pocatello on our way to Yellowstone and stayed here for a night. The room is basic with no fridge or microwave. For ice, you need to request it from the reception table at the lobby (this is our 1st experience on getting ice this way). The beds and pillows are OK. The HVAC does not have a heater button and so it was quite cold. If you opt for a basic place to stay, this will be it. This place is located in front of a cemetery and also quite in-front of the University of Idaho. The price is not worth the room equipments. If you travel with family and needs the fridge and microwave, move up the value chain!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Motel is run by a husband and wife team.I used Tripadvisor reviews to make selection. If you want a big qlitzy motel this is not the place for you. I found it to be clean,quite and safe. Room was not fancy but met my expectations. You cannot be the rates,they are wonderful. As I stated this is not a fancy motel ,

Room Tip: I asked for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here because the tripadvisor reviews were pretty good. We had our dog with us, though, and the room they put us in, 205 I think, was dark, dank, and stinky. The room next door to us was a smoking room, and the smoke smell was quite strong in our room, even though ours was nonsmoking. The bed was really uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaudPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie P, Owner at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I am sorry the room you were in was not to your liking. If a guest is not happy with a room, we will gladly move them, if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pocatello hotels

Youngsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I made a reservation after reading the reviews on tripadvisor indicating a good value for the money.I arrived after dark,so couldn't see much,and was given a room way in the back off an alley.From reading the reviews,I have to assume my room was in the un-remodeled area,as it was very old,and rundown.It appeared that some rooms had people in them,but no cars in front,so maybe long term stays in this area.Some of the other buildings looked remodeled(newer doors,etc)compared to the area I was in.Maybe because I asked for a senior single?Anyway,after reading the reviews,I was very disappointed with the room.It was quiet,and the bed was OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a re-modeled one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim53F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here on a fall weekend when things in Pocatello were busy with traveling athletic teams. They were nearly full, but we found the room clean and quieter than we'd feared on a Friday night. Across the street is a cemetery, so the neighbors are quiet. They have coupons in some of the motel guides, but will not honor those when they're above a certain occupancy. The cost was still reasonable, however, and the beds were in good shape. We slept well and left immediately on arising, so can't speak to the nearby restaurants, etc. There are no frills here, but what they have is clean and in good repair.

Room Tip: We got a room on the top floor, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDog323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Older standard motel with larger sized rooms and competitive price. Pet friendly with $5.00 fee. Next door to very good Mexican restaurant. Several fast food restaurants close by. Across street from Cemetery....which is a very beautiful one by the way. Young gentleman at front desk was very personable and offered dining suggestions in the area. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoSpringermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pocatello hotels
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Pocatello
Super 8 Pocatello
#3 of 13 in Pocatello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocatello Inn
BEST WESTERN Pocatello Inn
#4 of 13 in Pocatello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pocatello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 13 in Pocatello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pocatello
Red Lion Hotel Pocatello
#9 of 13 in Pocatello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pocatello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Property: Thunderbird Motel
Address: 1415 S 5th Ave, Pocatello, ID 83201-6835
Location: United States > Idaho > Pocatello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Pocatello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing