We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to love it more.”

Buddy's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 158 Restaurants in Pocatello
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Meridian, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I wanted to love it more.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Came through on the day before Thanksgiving and with the long car ride the kids were wiped. Not sure if it was Buddy at the front counter but he was great! Girls serving just seemed overly busy which they were but you could feel it. We felt a little rushed. Salads are good if you like a ton of dressing which I do but my wife doesn't so she didn't care for the signature salad. We got some pizza and one of the sausage subs. The pizza was just so so. Almost had a homemade taste to it which when your out to eat you want the opposite. You want something you can't get at home. I did like my sausage sub with dipping sauce. Very tasty indeed and I wish I had just gotten that since the pizza is on the pricey side. Can't comment on desserts since we had to get the kids out of there but it did look good from what we could see.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    39
    23
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our waitress could have cared less that she had 7 hungry customers. The bartender saved the day and took over our table - better than average service. However, the food was anything but authentic Italian food. Nary an Italian spice or flavor was found in anyone's dish. Sorry Buddy but the only reason I gave you 2 points is because of the bartender. Her level of service and hustle makes her a start!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JazzyJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chubbuck, Idaho, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of a kind buddy's salad/dressing topped off with grilled chicken breast. Great food and friendly staff

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Chet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Every time I visit Pocatello, I make sure that i visit Buddy's. It has been around for over 50 years, and brings back many happy memories of when I lived there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“awesome salad dressing”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We always get a full size Buddy's salad and share it. It's huge and the salad dressing is like no other dressing I've ever had. Two or three people can share this salad.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Buddy's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing