We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, not much else.”

Portneuf Valley Brewing
Ranked #2 of 157 Restaurants in Pocatello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Pizza, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good beer, not much else.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Wednesday. Definitely a large crowd which slowed the kitchen up. The beer was good. The food was mediocre and expensive. I would give the beer a 5 but the food 2. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trraindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvbbrewer, Owner at Portneuf Valley Brewing, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're happy you liked the beer but terribly sorry the food was not to your liking. Our menu is incredibly varied, so it's possible we have something better suited to your tastes. More specific feedback on what you had is always useful in helping us to improve for the future. Addressing the budget issue, all of our food is made fresh to order. Fresh, whole foods are more expensive and take longer to prepare than deep fried and pre-packaged food, and our prices reflect our costs. We do have a daily happy hour with half price appetizers if you're looking for a faster and less expensive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    72
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great local place”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Always enjoy an evening at the Brewery. Many times they have live music from local bands, great local beer, good selection of wine and good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdd5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cool place to visit. Excellent service.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after reading reviews and had to be in Pocatello for other reasons. We found the atmosphere fun, service great, beers tasty and the giant pretzel just that-giant. We weren't super hungry but my husband ordered the Bavarian bun which he enjoyed. We will definitely go back and try more from the dinner menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wanting”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love beer. I love food. I wish there was better both here. Seeing as there is not another brewery around, there is not much need for anything to change here. The same menu has been in place since the kitchen opened.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loozer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvbbrewer, Owner at Portneuf Valley Brewing, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback; we're glad you found the service to your liking. You are correct, we are the only brewpub in Pocatello largely due to the challenging market and demographics in the area. When we shifted from being just a microbrewery to a pub in 2007 and were finally able to serve our beer by the glass on premise, the only food item we offered was pretzels. When we opened the kitchen in 2006 we had a limited menu of about a dozen items. Since then we have revised the menu on average once per year, adding and removing items each menu revision according to sales data and customer feedback. Our most recent menu revision was this January. We now have over four dozen very popular items on the menu ranging from appetizers, soups & salads, sandwiches, entrees, pizza and dessert. You can even get half price appetizers every day from 3pm to 6pm. We'd love to hear specifically what improvements you feel we could make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Curry from a Brewery???”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Yep, I got the Curry. Odd choice from a brewery. It was average at best. I'm certain there are probably better menu items but I was in the mood for curry. The drink options are good. Service was great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Banshee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pvbbrewer, Owner at Portneuf Valley Brewing, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We're very pleased you found the beverage selection and service to your liking. We especially appreciate the feedback on the curry. We have worked hard to create a varied menu of fresh, handcrafted food that rivals the selection of our beers and we want every item to be the best it can possibly be. Very recently our chef has revised the curry recipe and we've been polling our customers to gauge how well people like the new recipe. Thusfar the feedback has been overwhelmingly positive. We'd love to know more precisely when you came in so we can gauge whether it was the old curry recipe or new one that you had. Thanks again for your input and we hope you'll give us another try if ever you find yourself in our neck of the woods in the future. Cheers, Penny Pink, Owner and Brew Mistress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portneuf Valley Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Portneuf Valley Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing