We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet retreat is exactly that”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sweet Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sweet Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Lower Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grenada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sweet retreat is exactly that”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Large rooms with large comfortable beds. Good size bathroom both - room and bedroom tastefully decorated. Good size balcony with chair table, and sun bed. Incredible view of lower bay and Port Elisabeth. Shelly and Robert where perfect hosts. The layout for the breakfast table alone was the sweetest. An extraordinary breakfast with plenty of fresh coffee, fruits, coconut water, fresh baked bread and fresh muffins and to top it up Guava butter. We also had dinner at the Hotel which was excellent from start to end and very reasonable priced. They also offer a good choice of wines. We felt so comfortable that is was really hard to say good bye.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We wanted so badly to give the Sweet Retreat an Excellent rating! The owners are wonderful, service-minded people who bend over backwards to enable us to have an amazing time (which we did) however ... due to three little items, we decided to rate this only as Average.
1. The rooms, although lovely, and spacious, and with an amazing view have no air conditioning although equipped with both a floor and a ceiling fan.
2. Mosquitos are rampant at night. The room comes equipped with a mosquito net and bug spray but having to keep the windows and doors closed at night without air conditioning made it almost unbearable to sleep the first few nights.
3. Unfortunately there were several barking dogs that seemed to come awake around 10pm and didn't take a break till early morning. Thankfully we had very good earplugs which we used every night.
Very unfortunate these three things but we didn't let it deter us from enjoying our first time on Bequia. The best beach on the island is a one-minute walk down a relatively steep but short driveway, and the owners supplied us with fins to go along with our snorkeling gear.
Breakfasts were provided and consisted mainly of freshly baked muffins or cakes, and we felt it could have been changed up a bit more often as it was heavy on the carbs. Fresh fruit (mango, banana, and papaya) came off the trees for lovely fruit cocktails every morning, and the coffee was French pressed and delish.

All in all a good time was had for six days but we would only consider returning IF air conditioning is installed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Room which I think has the best view. ALL views are amazing but the brown roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebeachBequia, Owner at The Sweet Retreat, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Karen & Dave

Thank you for your kind comments about your overall experience during your stay The Sweet Retreat.

As you know we live on the property and so we experience the same 'outside' influences as our guests.

We agree the mosquito population was particularly active during your stay to the extent that the Government is fogging the villages and communities of Bequia - including Lower Bay - twice weekly

Bequia being a heavily vegetated - part of it beauty - tropical island and mosquitoes are part of the resident population and can be annoying and irritating. and can be a downside!

Following this, 'fogging', it is being done twice weekly across the island,, we have to say honestly...that is has made a huge difference.

The island is tourist orientated and the problem was recognised island wide so everything possible is being done to eliminate it

Dogs! Well we are part of and just above a genuine, traditional Caribbean village. Yes, a lot of homeowners in the village own dogs and on sometime one starts and it can set off a chorus of replies. We can only apologies for the disturbance - but as we said we part of a village and sometimes it occurs. The personalities, its people, the beach, little shops, bars,restaurants....and dogs are all part of an original, authentic unchanged Caribbean village.

A/c, it is something we had considered from the very beginning and we are not opposed to installing it in principle, clearly it would have been very helpful to you.

With open decks and most rooms having doors/windows in every wall, we are very opened air with mango's etc growing by you balcony, the consequence can that be, during a period of insect activity it can be annoying, even though we have screened all windows

Eventually when running any business it is a balance between product and price. It would be really helpful if you could indicate how much more you would consider to be reasonable for the same room with a/c?

Please do email us with a your answer, it would be genuinely helpful

Thank you again

Robert & Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

First and foremost, Robert and Shelby are the best feature of their establishment, and with its perched position, sea views and breezes, that's saying something.

The two owners are a real pleasure - Robert is generous with his substantial wealth of knowledge about the island, and is a fantastic host. Shelby is welcoming, and bouncing with energy. They are both phenomenally hospitable.

They were very knowledgeable of, sensitive to and able to cater to food allergies. Shelby baked every day. She actually baked gluten free muffins for us! And they were the best we've ever had.

The meals were delicious!

A word of caution: come equipped with a mosquito strategy: as other reviews have pointed out, there are nets but they are not effective. After observation, I realized the mosquitoes were actually able to squeeze through the mesh. Bring your own net, and make sure it is large enough to cover a king size bed.

I had read a negative review before we booked, and the picture that emerges after being there is that a couple of people were unlucky to come at a difficult time. I felt the baseline for both Robert and Selby is that they are good, conscientious, generous people who pour all their energy and good will into Sweet Retreat. They are human beings so no doubt have moments of difficulty - and when you run a hotel, you have to weather those storms with the guests around to witness it. After our experience there, we want to return again and again. Both owners went way beyond the call of duty to make our trip enjoyable, introduce us to folks, and be as comfortable as possible. Robert and Shelby, if you are reading this: we hope to see you again soon and thank you for everything you did for us!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Robert and Shelby are excellent hosts, Shelby could not do anymore to make you feel happy, relaxed and comfortable. The views are out of this world and the breakfast are just amazing! We will be back without fail!

Wonderful people and I can't wait to see them again soon!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs-Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had an excellent week long stay at Sweet Retreat March 2014! Robert and Shelby were great hosts and ensured we were happy and comfortable throughout our visit. Shelby's fresh baked muffins and breakfast sandwiches were delicious, creative and satisfying. Being served breakfast at an outdoor table for 2 overlooking beautiful Lower Bay was the perfect start to each day. The dinner she cooked for us on our last night was probably our best meal on Bequia.

Sweet Retreat has the ideal location on Bequia. Lower Bay is literally at the bottom of their driveway- less than 1 min walk from your room to arrive on the sandy beach. There are a lot of steps at Sweet Retreat and the driveway is steep but nothing that a moderately fit person couldn't handle. Lower Bay is BY FAR the best beach on the island. Sand is soft, water pristine and warm, and great reef for snorkeling. You can walk from Lower Bay to Princess Margaret beach which is also beautiful and has good snorkeling. Lower Bay is far superior to beaches on the East side of the island (Industry, Friendship) which have rough surf and are filled with seaweed.

We stayed in the Banana Cabana which stands alone slightly further uphill (and more steps to climb) from the main area and other rooms. It was very private and spacious with an outdoor shower, king bed, private balcony overlooking Lower Bay with table and chairs and 2 lounge chairs. We felt very safe there and had no issue leaving our windows and doors open at all times. It took us a few nights to figure out how to use the mosquito net properly (hint: get a few pins from the clothesline) but you must use it or you will get eaten alive by mosquitos. We were there on a very wet week and mosquitos were swarming. Just plan on bug repellant being your primary perfume/cologne of the trip- we used 2 x 4oz bottles in 1 week!

Robert and Shelby were very good at helping us plan our days and activities on Bequia. They will call Lency for you whenever you need a taxi. I highly recommend using Lency for a taxi- we used him for our entire stay there. He was very courteous, reliable and trustworthy. When we went out for dinner we would give Lency's card to our waiter when paying and ask them to call him for us. It worked out so great!

Thank you Sweet Retreat for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffyncream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just returned from a week of rest and relaxation at Sweet Retreat and were thoroughly pleased by the generous service Robert and Shelby provided. Warm, dry weather kept mosquitoes away. Shelby's breakfasts and dinner, served on a beautiful veranda, were tasty and innovative. Robert's thorough knowledge of life on Bequia brought helpful suggestions for dining and trips. The beach and reef at the nearby shoreline were outstanding. Two special highlights of the week deserve visitors attention. A daylong sail on the schooner Friendship Rose to Tobago Cays, where handsome sea turtles reside, is not to be missed. Also, an excellent taxi service provided by Lancy offers a fascinating tour of the Island. Residents of the Island were friendly and helpful without a doubt to we tourists. We would not hesitate to enjoy another vacation at Sweet Retreat, although this was our first visit to the Grenadines.

Room Tip: "Greet local folk as you travel around the Island"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beck573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our original review (first ever) was deleted because we did not understand the verification procedure which caused it to be delisted.

We arrived at Sweet Retreat on 8th February and were very satisfied. All seemed just as the reviews we had read. Breakfast next day was fine and we enjoyed a nice meal in the evening. Next morning we were advised that Shelby was unwell and Robert coped reasonably well 'in the circumstances'. The following morning Robert was really struggling at breakfast. All the guests went about their day but in the evening when we returned the place was in complete darkness which creates quite a problem with stairs to climb. The following morning things completely fell apart. Four couples were waiting for breakfast, Robert was completely dishevelled and obviously drunk. He managed to serve coffee to one couple, fruit to another and then completely disappeared. All the guests went their separate ways. That evening when we returned all the breakfast dishes were still where we had left them. There was broken glass under another table.
We now had a problem. We had our money and valuables locked in a safe and needed Robert to give us access. We rang the bell for Robert several times without response in the presence of other guests but heard the sound of breaking glass from his quarters above the bar. We shouted Robert and he eventually came down cursing us. There were empty wine bottles around him on the kitchen floor. We told him that we needed access to our safe and he said he would see to it and closed the door.

Over the next hour and a half in the presence of other guests we continued to chase Robert who made further promises and just disappeared. Eventually I advised a totally drunk Robert that unless he gave us access to our belongings we would call the police. Robert disappeared again and we contacted Lency the local taxi driver to ask him to get in touch with Shelby. It turned out that Shelby had left the island and gone to nearby St Vincent. With five guests crowded round him Lency spoke to Shelby and told her that her guests had major problems and needed to speak to her. Shelby refused to take the call and told Lency that it wasn't her problem.

Robert now reappeared and advised very aggressively that we now had access to our safe and that we should leave as we were 'nasty people'. He was so drunk that he could hardly stand.
We packed our things and fortunately found accommodation at the Frangipani in Port Elizabeth.
Lency took us down there and we said a sad farewell to other guests. Whilst we were able to sort things out for ourselves, new guests arriving in the evening to a blacked out hotel might not be so lucky. Shelby cannot abdicate responsibility for paying guests in this manner and we found her response disgraceful.

We have no reason to doubt that others have had a very pleasant stay but this was not what we experienced. Until these issues are resolved we feel our experience should be a warning to others. Our original review was sent 12 days after leaving when we had received no contact or apology from Sweet Retreat. Their response two weeks later on Tripadvisor was that they did not wish to be confrontational and that they were full and everyone else was happy, perhaps to cast doubt on our posting. We had more than enough confrontation when we were there! No apology has been received some five weeks later.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
19 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Bay
2.9 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frangipani Hotel
Frangipani Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
0.5 mi away
Bequia Beachfront Villas
Bequia Beachfront Villas
#2 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sweet Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sweet Retreat

Property: The Sweet Retreat
Address: Beach Rd, Lower Bay, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Lower Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco friendly boutique style hotel, tastefully appointed rooms, California king platform beds, private balconies, stunning views great service and dining. owners live on property and we run it personally, a minute from beach. Property was formally CoCo's Place and has undergone an extensive rebuild...but 'that' view is still here! We believe that the price you see should be the price you pay. All prices shown are inclusive of all taxes and service charges, continental breakfast. We also offer complimentary use of snorkeling equipment and beach towels as well as free secure wi-fi, parking and the gift of a Sweet Retreat beach bag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sweet Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sweet Retreat Bequia/Lower Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing