We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sweet Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Hotel Bequia(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Reef Bequia(Bequia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
84
19
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
19
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostscakesbrown roomadmiralty baymosquito netgood sizetobago caysceiling fancomfortable bedeach morningquiet beachrest and relaxationisland lifefruit saladamazing placefantastic cookamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 107 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had use of the new accommodation at Sweet Retreat with great views, and a very comfortable bed.
We enjoyed the food, and very much appreciated the special efforts made for us by Robert and Shelby. They even prepared a very special meal to celebrate my birthday.
The outstanding feature was the helpful. friendly and efficient support and advice provided by Robert and Shelby. They were both very kind, thoughtful and could not have been more helpful. There is a bell which enables guest to call Robert or Shelby, but this was not needed during our stay as our every need was anticipated.
The beach was very near, and was clean, quiet and peaceful - the sea was warm too !
The help and advice provided by Robert and Shelby in arranging our holiday, including making reservations at another hotel for us to break our journey in St. Vincent, was above and beyond the call of duty !
The friendliness, work and professional attitude of both Robert and Shelby made this a stay to be remembered for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb a steep hill from the beach, and if you have the 'best' room, for a climb to the room - but the steps are clear and firm.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a wonderful 12 days at the Sweet Retreat! Robert and Shelby are fantastic hosts - offering advice on where to eat and what to do, plus making reservations when we needed them. The rooms are clean and comfortable and Shelby is a wonderful cook. We hardly left Lower Bay. The beach, the view, the nice local restaurants, our fabulous hosts were all that we could wish for in a vacation. We did eat at several other places with great food, but Shelby's dinner and Robert's service are among the best in Bequia.
The only drawback I can think of was a few mosquitoes, but those are taken care of with a good repellent and mosquito nets over all the beds. I used Natrapel with picaridin only in the evenings and never had a problem with them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisadelrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We just returned from a 2 week vacation at Sweet Retreat. Robert and Shelby treated us like family. The food was amazing, fresh fish every day and everything on the menu locally grown. We stayed in the newest room at the top of the stairs, what a view! And to top it off a star fruit tree right off the balcony with loads of ripe fruit. Our morning breakfast included fruit from the property, mango's, papaya, bananas & star fruit with fresh coconut water and some of Shelby's tasty homemade muffins or other special treats. We ate at quite a few places on the island but came back for dinner most nights to Sweet Retreat. Shelby can turn out some delicious meals using local ingredients. If you stay in Lower Bay make sure to check out Petra's mini mart for beer, water and snacks or stop by Dawn's for an afternoon lunch. There are several local places to eat right on the beach and all the food was fresh and very good. The beach was just a short walk away and taxi service was always available for trips to town. A wonderful island with friendly people and Sweet Retreat just made it that more special.

Room Tip: Stay in the new room at the top of the hill! Great view, outdoor shower, you look up and see the stars! But be advised it's a steep climb to the top but worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I can only echo what others have said, Robert and Shelby are wonderful hosts. The hotel has a spectacular setting, with stunning views from all rooms. It is a short but steep walk down to the beach. Walking into town takes about half an hour, but taxis are readily available.
Food fantastic, dinner is not served on Thursdays but it gives you chance to try other eateries on the island.
Mosquitoes are definitely a problem, some spray is provided but I would suggest you supplement it with your own favourite from home. Don't let this put you off though, we will definitely return

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jupiter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Any health benefits from walking up the steps to Sweet Retreat and then the bedrooms are probably undone by Shelby's generous and delicious food.
The fresh fruit at breakfast was a delight as was Philicia's bread in the evening. Robert and Shelby cheerfully adapted to a few dietary quirks and also packed up the muffins we couldn't eat at breakfast time for a lunch snack. Each morning the dinner menu was written on the blackboard with a couple of options and the meals were unfailingly tasty.

Robert and Shelby are wonderful, attentive hosts who gave us a real feel for life on Bequia. Sweet Retreat provides unsophisticated comfort.

We are not sure if the mosquitos and midges had proliferated with the previous heavy rainfall but we used a lot of the highest factor insect repellant, however we had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were in the Brown room with good views of Admiralty Bay and its yachts and on clear days St Vincent
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarkinkudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews