We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and the service was to die for!!!!”
Review of The Sweet Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sweet Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Lower Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Let me start by saying the service was amazing and so was the food. Robert and Shelby (the owners) are amazing and extremely helpful; they helped us with taxis, boat characters, restaurants, shopping—everything!!!! The photos on the websites are actually of the hotel and the view from your room looks like the photo-only better, we stayed in the green room and it looked exactly like the photos—how refreshing! The website states, it is steps away from the beach and it is, and the beach is lovely with great snorkeling. We looked at many places online and we saw many of them in person (they didn’t look like the photo on websites) we are SOOOOOO glad we stayed at the Sweet Retreat. We will be staying there again...and again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmenBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

If you are looking for a great location with beautiful views this is the place for you. Not only that but the food is excellent and the host and hostess go out of their way to insure you comfort. I will definatly be going back here in the future. Thank you so much Robert and Shelby for an unforgetable vacation you are the best.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terpa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I had always wanted to visit Bequia ever since hearing about from my boss at work. In 2010 I had traveled to Guadeloupe with The Daughter and The Teenager and then returned to Copenhagen with them. In February. Dumb. In 2011 we all traveled to Martinique for a couple of weeks, again in February, but I decided that I would stay on for a month and “do” the Caribbean away from the madding crowd and naturally Bequia would be on my “hit” list. Where to stay? My requirements are simple: a livable place very close to the beach. When I saw the picture of The Sweet Retreat on their (original) site - I was sold. The price was right and it looked to be about a minute from the best beach on the island.

After visiting Dominica and spending some time on St. Vincent (where I ’phoned the hotel and moved my stay up by a day with no problem) I took the hour long ferry ride from Kingston. I immediately knew I would like the island even before checking in as, because I had managed to get an enormous blister on the back of my foot from hiking in Dominica, I REALLY needed an pair of sandals with an open back. The woman at the office through which I booked the hotel (it’s easier to book directly) suggested the shop next door to their quay-side location or a man who made sandals at the T-shirt market. The shop next door wanted EC$90 for a pair of made in China rubber sandals while the “Sandalman” offered to make me a pair of handmade leather sandals in two hours for EC$200. No contest. I explored the local bars and restaurants and three hours later (OK - it’s the Caribbean) I had my sandals and 5 minutes later after an EC$20 cab ride (all cab fares seem to be regulated ) I arrived at the hotel which is on a slight incline above Lower Bay. Robert who is a soft spoken, knowledgeable Englishman gave me a hand lugging my baggage up to the deck. There I met his partner, Shelby, a Mississippian who it turned out had been an ICU nurse at the hospital I was born in in New Orleans - NOT at the same time mind you.

The hotel has four rooms - that’s it. Because of their desire to be able to render a perfect service they do not allow any more than two guests to occupy a single room. That’s it. So at the most there will be a total of eight guests. I was then shown to my room which consisted of an enormous bed with mosquito net (which I didn’t need because I never saw a mosquito in during my five day stay), desk, chair, safe and more than ample bathroom with a shower large enough to waltz in. The furnishings had obviously been chosen with care to reflect the relaxed ambiance they wanted to impart to guests. They have been working on getting things “right” for three years - and they did.

It was too late to go to the beach so I unpacked and ordered dinner from Shelby who does a daily four course dinner for US$25. It was served on the deck with a view over the bay in the twilight. The meat served is obtained from some retired German butchers who used to have a shop in Piccadilly but who retired to St. Vincent and, apparently, became a bit bored so decided to re-start their business. The fish are all local catch made daily. The vegetables are organic, purchased from a woman about 500 meters up the road. The fruit is all local or from their own garden. Fantastic!

Breakfast the next morning (included in the price of the room) was served on the deck and kicked off with a giant helping of fresh fruit bowl and juice followed by bakery goods, which Shelby whips up in the morning, butter and jam and coffee or tea.

After breakfast I walked the one minute it took to get to the pristine white sand beach at the foot of the incline and hopped in. There was virtually no one else on the beach. I could have walked back up to the hotel as Shelby also does lunch if you order it, but as there are three beach restaurants within 300 meters of the beach I preferred to stay there. If I needed a quick drink or a snack there was a “convenience” store located about 40 meters from the beach. You can snorkel the rocks at the end of the beach.

Robert and Shelby were at all times available to give advice, arrange for a brief tour, tell you a bit about the history of the island, etc. Attentive but not unobtrusive.

This is the place you want to be for a quiet, relaxed vacation at a reasonable price.

One last story to give you and idea of the tenor of the island: the bag I use to carry books, snacks and the like when flying had a broken zipper and they advised me of a place to go to get it fixed. The woman wasn’t there but as I was walking in town I ran in to the cabbie I met on the first say. I told him my problem and the man next to him said -”Oh, that’s my wife - she’s shopping with the kids and will be by in a couple of minutes.” She was and I explained my problem. It was after 5 on Friday - closing time - but she promised to fix it anyway. Through a misunderstanding I didn’t pick it up until three says later and the man scolded me because it had been ready the next day AND I had left EC$200 in the bag by mistake. THAT’S the kind of people you will run in to on Bequia!

I was going to add a bunch of photos but instead go to The Sweet Retreat page on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bequia-sweet-retreat-hotel/132352130150437
There are LOTS of pictures with explanatory text which gives a great impression of what you can expect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We needed a night on Bequia before picking up a chartered yacht. We found this hotel after an extensive search - it sounded just what we were looking for. Sure enough, it turned out to be the ideal place to stay on Bequia. Robert and Shelby were perfect hosts. From arranging our taxi collection from the airport in St.Vincent to the ferry, and meeting the ferry in Bequia, everything was laid on smoothly and helpfully. On arriving at the hotel we were warmly welcomed. The views of Admiralty, Princess Margaret and Lower Bays were to die for and the accommodation was first class in every respect. The furnishings were comfortable and tasteful, and showed scrupulous attention to detail. Robert is the most charming and articulate host - nothing is too much trouble. And Shelby works wonders in the kitchen, whether its the very special continental breakfast or the four-course dinner, and all this at perfectly reasonable prices. The beach was just a step away with wonderful snorkelling (equipment provided.) Why look anywhere else? Sweet Retreat has got off to a flying start and is setting the standards on Bequia. We were only sad we couldn't stay longer - but we'll be back!

Room Tip: There are hammocks to lounge in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graham_barber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank B_Chris_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer sind nahezu gleichwertig, Moskitoschutz nicht vergessen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReinhardundMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Bay
2.9 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Firefly Mustique Hotel
Firefly Mustique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mustique
152 reviews
10.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
162 reviews
9.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sweet Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sweet Retreat

Address: Beach Rd, Lower Bay, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Lower Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Bay
Price Range: $59 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco friendly boutique style hotel, tastefully appointed rooms, California king platform beds, private balconies, stunning views great service and dining. owners live on property and we run it personally, a minute from beach. Property was formally CoCo's Place and has undergone an extensive rebuild...but 'that' view is still here! We believe that the price you see should be the price you pay. All prices shown are inclusive of all taxes and service charges, continental breakfast. We also offer complimentary use of snorkeling equipment and beach towels as well as free secure wi-fi, parking and the gift of a Sweet Retreat beach bag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sweet Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sweet Retreat Bequia/Lower Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing